We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Historic”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on Mackinac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Alma, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Charming and Historic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

I stayed at the Inn with a dear friend 2 years ago and found it very charming and historic. There were no frills, but that's not what you go to a place like this for. My only complaint was the large spider in a web on the ceiling above the bed (too hight to reach). Otherwise, it was definitely a perfect island stay.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    83
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
107
177
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

My wife and I took a summer trip for our first visit to Mackinac Island. We chose the Inn on Mackinac because of reasonable pricing and the photos on their website. We were not dissapointed. Great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and comfy. The complementary breakfast bar was very good and a nice start to the day. One of the things mentioned in the reviews I read before we made reservations was sitting of the porch and people watching. We were suprised how funn it was to sit there in the late afternoon with a cup of hot chocolate. Very enjoyable place to stay on the island. We'll be back again......

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GNinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

Our room was very clean. The staff was very helpful. The view off the porch (available to all guests) was Mackinac Island in a nutshell. Very nice that it was a few minutes away from the busiest part of the island (ferry docks and shops). Yes, it's an older building, but the new spa pool was wonderful even in chilly September. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovinMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

Our room was clean, roomy and very nicely decorated. The staff was pleasant and always helpful. The location was just close enough to downtown but yet just far enough away. Breakfast was simple yet tasteful and filling. The nightly delivery of delicious cookies was a very welcome touch. We literally did not have to handle our luggage from the time we arrived by Ferry until we departed via Ferry other than to take it to and from our room via the convient elevator. Coffee, apples and oranges were availabe all day and night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimareeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

The Inn of Mackinac iis impeccably clean. The Manager and staff go out of their way to make sure that your stay is a memorable one. It's like visiting a relatives home and not having to do the work. There is cheese and crackers, lemonade, tea, hot chocolate, and coffee at your disposal. We love the front veranda, their are tables so if you want to play cards or a scrabble game you have the room, or just people watch. Every day they go around to the rooms and leave you a couple of fresh cookies on the night table when you return to your room. Their breakfast is in my opinion exceptional. I am a health person and they have FRESH cooked pot of oatmeal with a jar of raisins and peacans to sprinkle on top. Yoburt, bagels, hash browns, eggs, sausage, cold cereal, different fresh juices, fresh fruit and breakfast runs from eight to ten every morning.. We have been coming here for over twenty years and it's in my opinion, the best place to stay on the Island.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

We have been coming to Mackinac in September for 18 years. We've stayed at a few other places and always come back to the Inn on Mackinac. For a dozen years, we've taken three other couples with us and staying four nights -- and all of us love the Inn. --------- We always request Rm 409, which has its own balcony on the side of the building, and we almost always get it. We love the ambience, the service, and the view of the street and marina from the big front porch. Breakfast was good--scrambled eggs, sausage, fried potatoes, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, English muffins, juices, and coffee--and much improved this year after the hotel's unfortunate experiment with "breakfast pizza" last year. The staff has always been friendly and helpful with reservations, taxis, shuttles, and the like. The fresh chocolate cookies in the room are very tasty. Rooms and furnishings are not new but they are clean and tidy. We spend most of our time at the hotel on the front porch watching the horse, bicycle, and foot traffic (no motor vehicles allowed on the island). The second-floor parlor/library overlooks the front porch and offers a refuge on cooler or wetter days. ------------ We have stayed downtown a few times and found it noisy--the Inn is a 5 minute walk from the business district and much quieter. ------- This is not a 4-star hotel, but if you're looking for 19th-Century charm, friendly staff, clean rooms, a great location, and excellent value, the Inn on Mackinac is a wonderful place to stay. And it's hard to beat waking up next to your sweetie to the sound of horses clip-clopping by on the street.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

We loved the Inn. The rooms were clean, the bathroom was spacious and spotless. All in all we were pleasantly surprised and the price was fantastic. We will definitely plan a return trip and stay at the Inn. It was fun to just sit on huge porch on the second floor with our morning coffee and watch the island wake up. Our friends loved the third floor spa pool which we will have to try on our next visit. The breakfast was delicious too and the muffins they gave us when we checked out was an added surprise.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mackinac

Property: Inn on Mackinac
Address: 6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The year was 1867, an era of horse-drawn carriages and ladies in bustles. Blacksmiths were crafting horse shoes in glowing forges. During this height of Victorian culture, the Inn on Mackinac was built. Known then as Chateau Beaumont in memory of the famous Army surgeon at Fort Mackinac, the Inn on Mackinac has retained its quaint, old fashioned charm. The Inn’s facilities have been updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while preserving its colorful history. Today, completely remodeled and redecorated, this beautiful Victorian Inn opens its doors, where the very special charm of our family-run Inn awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mackinac Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel On Mackinac Island
Mackinac Bed Breakfast Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing