We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, Affordable Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on Mackinac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
1 review
“Excellent, Affordable Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

We recently stayed one night, June 9, at this lovely Victorian house/hotel, during the Lilac Festival. Usually I spend hours online carefully reading all the reviews I can find on a product, but we decided just the night before that we would do this. We never thought we could afford spending a night on Mackinac Island, but The Inn made it very possible for us.
We arrived 3 hours before check-in, but we were immediately given the keys to our room. We were surprised to find we could even see some of the harbor from our "budget" room. The room was spotless, beds and pillows very comfortable. The entire staff was very hospitable and always put their customers first. We loved the new spa pool - a perfect thing to do after biking all day. The "continental" breakfast was a feast, not continental at all! The extra touches like a porter meeting you at the ferry, then evening cookies, and then muffins when we checked out make the customer feel special.
The only problem we had was with the 1-866 reservationist: When we arrived it was found that we had been given reservations for the Murray Hotel (owned by the same management), not the Inn. But the manager quickly put us at ease, made the corrections, and we soon had our room key. We will definitely go back here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelers85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    83
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
107
177
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We spent 2 nights here. Compared to other hotels on the island, The Inn is pretty resonably priced. The staff were fantastic; very friendly and accomodating. Our room was very clean when we arrived, and very well-cleaned during our stay. The breakfast that was included was not fancy but very tasty. It was unseasonably cool during our stay, so it was nice to have the coffee and tea available all the time. Location was perfect. The outdoor spa was wonderful. We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsville, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

4 weeks have gone by since cancelling our reservation due to an emergency beyond our control. I was supposed to get a $20.00 charge. OK, I dont like the idea of a $20 fee but I let that go. But I was supposed to get a check back for the rest. What do we have to do? I have called twice and talked with people who are less than helpful but I was told its being taken care of. Well, where is the check?

I was a concierge at Mission Point Resort a few years back for a summer job. I can tell you they would never have treated anyone like this. We will always just go back to Mission Point. In our case, trying a new place has not worked out so well.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WAHCampbellsville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

We had an emergency come up and we contacted them within two business weeks to cancel our reservation and get a refund. Because we did not call within 14 calendar days (counting Saturdays and Sundays. . .when their office is closed during the early season), they refused to give us a full refund. Even worse, after refusing to completely refund our money, they kept insisting that they were the best value on the island and asking when we plan to come back (the answer is never!). Total jerks.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EMHMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

We really enjoyed our two night stay at the Inn of Mackinac. We had a corner turret room (mostly round, but plenty of room with a queen bed). Room was clean and nice. Had a full closet and a nice bathroom. Our room was right off of the parlor on the 2nd floor, which we used as our living room. We would sit and read or play table games on the table. But we spent lots of our time out on the 2nd floor balcony/porch. We enjoyed reading and watching people immensely. There were always people walking, biking or riding carriages by. It's amazing that even though the hotel is not exactly "downtown", there are still plenty of people coming by.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were going to stay in the Grand and they let us stay longer at the Inn. Very accommodating. The breakfast was good... variety of breakfast pizzas, good oatmeal, bread, eggs, etc. The cheese and crackers everyday in the afternoon were great (with lemonade, coffee or tea). And the cookies were good every night.

We also enjoyed the large spa/whirlpool out back off the third floor.

We would definitely stay at the Inn again... reasonable, compared to the Grand.

  • Liked — Location and porch
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Mi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

We've stayed at the Inn on Mackinac many times. We like the location--close enough to town to walk but a little off the main drag. This stay was our least satisfying. It began when I attempted to book the stay through their website. I received no answer after 2 attempts and a direct email. Finally when I called and asked, I was told they didn't check their email every day. Not good business practice--don't offer it if you're not going to check it. Our room was large with a king bed and nice linens--but MINIMAL storage space--no night stand, the clock was on the only small round table across the room; a few hangers on a rod but no closet; and the bed was so close to the wall that I had to crawl out the other side. Two of the horizontal blind slats were missing, so we put a piece of tissue up for privacy. The bathroom had not been updated and only had a very small shower. Yes the evening cookies were great, but the breakfast pizza????? I've never heard of such a thing! Nor did it look at all appetizing. I must admit I didn't try it. The bagels were stale and were left over from at least the day before if not longer than that. Only oat bread was offered as an alternative to the bagels. No microwave--an antiquated "toaster" which just heated up the bagel somewhat. There were some hard boiled eggs, but I was afraid to try them knowing the bagels had been carried over from previous days. To top it off, as we were waiting to check out, we heard the person ahead of us say he'd received a cheaper "walk-in" rate. We may try this hotel again but we'll go for the "walk-in" rate and just not count on breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

Some issues were unclear when I called for reservations. I asked to have a manager call. I received a phone call the next day and all issues were resolved in an efficient and professional manner.
The staff was friendly and considerate. Our room was cleaned as soon as we left in the morning. On the first day our maid noticed we had an additional person in the room and left additional towels. We had homemade cookies in our room every evening. Yum.

Breakfast pizza was good and filling. One of the managers came around to the tables each morning to offer coffee refills.

Highly reccommend booking a turret room. It was much more spacious than a regular room and the view of the harbor was fantastic. I enjoyed rolling over in the morning and looking out over the water.
I would stay there again.

  • Liked — It was quiet and relaxing. Geared more toward adults.
  • Disliked — The first room we had was very small.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsjones1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mackinac

Property: Inn on Mackinac
Address: 6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The year was 1867, an era of horse-drawn carriages and ladies in bustles. Blacksmiths were crafting horse shoes in glowing forges. During this height of Victorian culture, the Inn on Mackinac was built. Known then as Chateau Beaumont in memory of the famous Army surgeon at Fort Mackinac, the Inn on Mackinac has retained its quaint, old fashioned charm. The Inn’s facilities have been updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while preserving its colorful history. Today, completely remodeled and redecorated, this beautiful Victorian Inn opens its doors, where the very special charm of our family-run Inn awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mackinac Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel On Mackinac Island
Mackinac Bed Breakfast Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing