We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on Mackinac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Gaylord, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Inn on Mackinac is one of the best places I have stayed at in a vary long time.The Inn was vary clean and the staff was vary nice. The Inn was full when we were there and u could not tell because the building was so quite our whole 4 day stay. They were had all the information that we asked for and more. They have a great breakfast in the morning plus the coffee and tea was available 24 hours a day and cookies on the nightstand every night. The hot-tub is the best that I have ever been in. I have and will recommend The Inn on Mackinac too anybody I talk to about staying on the Island. Inn on Mackinac you get 2 thumbs UP from my wife and I both. Keep up the great work. thank you again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    83
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
107
177
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable & clean. The breakfast was yummy. We enjoyed the little snacks they set out, the hot drinks available & our cookies. I enjoyed the decor & coziness of the Inn. It was nice & quiet, too. Just out of the busy section of the little town, but not too far to walk. We want to visit Mackinac Island again & would not hesitate to stay at the Inn on Mackinac.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMrsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We enjoyed a Thursday evening at the Inn on Mackinac. We took advantage of a promo offer the last week of September and were very glad we spent the night as opposed to just visiting Mackinac Island for the day. After biking Mackinac Island, we enjoyed relaxing by the lake, eating at a pub and listening to live music, and then sitting on the porch at the Inn on Mackinac sipping hot chocolate and watching horses & carriages and bikers go by late into the evening. A hot tub would have been nice, but the spa pool was not heated so we did not use that. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was exceptional, served with real dishes in a beautiful breakfast room. Overall, we were very glad to have discovered the Inn on Mackinac and we are hoping they continue to offer promotions in the future! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304. The room was small, cozy, and very close to the room next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDBFAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was asked to do a review by the hotel.
This facility is more of a bed and breakfast but laid out like a hotel.
The Inn on Mackinac gave our group a great discount for which we are grateful!
We have stayed many years at the Inn on Mackinac going back the 1980's. I was surprised that the same carpet is in the lobby which needs replacing since its quite faded but that is a minor cosmetic detail.
The rooms were clean. Nice Bath and Body Works products in the bathroom. The room we stayed in #412 had a king bed which was against a wall and for us older folks, climbing in from the end of the bed can be awkward. The bed was comfortable. I am critical of hotel pillows especially if there are stains on them and no liner. The pillows had an odor and needed to be replaced in my opinion.
This facility has a slogan of "The Quiet Inn" but our first night was anything but quiet with people partying on the front porch past 1:00AM. I did speak to the front desk the next morning about the matter and the second night was better but there were people laughing loudly from the porch of the B&B across the alley, can't win sometimes. Years ago no one was allowed on the porch in the late evening just for this reason.
The room doors slam due to the mechanism to make sure they close and guests tend to let them slam late at night.
The breakfast was wonderful, good variety and plentiful. There is coffee, tea, hot cocoa available 24 hours a day and baked cookies delivered to your room at night.
I really hate to post a negative review since we had stayed so many years here but hopefully it will be used to help make improvements.

Room Tip: This is a tough question, if you want a room with a view the west side of the building is best howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unionmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our third stay...and each time I'm more pleased! The hospitality was kind, helpful and so appreciated. We were given an upgrade without asking- our room was lovely. The cookies bedside were a nice touch....as was the happy hour cheese and crackers. !!! Thank You!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

As one of the few reasonable places on the island that allows kids under 3, we loved our stay. This was our second time. Great staff, great people to get your luggage to/from the dock, great housekeepers, great breakfast!! We love it here and will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babyruth828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Inn on Mackinac came highly recommended, and it didn't disappoint during our 4-night stay! It is small enough to have special personal touches, but large enough that it didn't feel like a tiny B&B. The Staff was quite friendly & helpful - willing to help with local recommendations and enjoyable to chat with. Our room was #203, a Colonial with 2 Queen Beds. Both the room and bathroom were spacious, and it looks as if the bathroom had been updated in the past several years. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic! It was a nice variety of hot and cold items, with plenty of healthy choices. There were other nice food touches such as the afternoon cheese, cracker, and lemonade.....and the evening fresh-baked cookies (left on your nightstand). The Inn's flowers are stunning! There is a lot of heart put into the planning and upkeep of them. The wraparound porch is enjoyable to lounge on, whether day or night. They have their own espresso bar and homemade fudge. We thought their fudge was better than a highly touted local fudge! On a map, it looks like it's far from town, but it is not -- just a few minute's walk away. It is nice to be away from the heart of downtown. Overall, two big thumbs-up for The Inn on Mackinac. We would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringFaith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mackinac

Property: Inn on Mackinac
Address: 6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The year was 1867, an era of horse-drawn carriages and ladies in bustles. Blacksmiths were crafting horse shoes in glowing forges. During this height of Victorian culture, the Inn on Mackinac was built. Known then as Chateau Beaumont in memory of the famous Army surgeon at Fort Mackinac, the Inn on Mackinac has retained its quaint, old fashioned charm. The Inn’s facilities have been updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while preserving its colorful history. Today, completely remodeled and redecorated, this beautiful Victorian Inn opens its doors, where the very special charm of our family-run Inn awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mackinac Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel On Mackinac Island
Mackinac Bed Breakfast Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing