We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn on Mackinac
Nearby Hotels
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$323
$313
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$229
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Stonecliffe(Mackinac Island)
$218
$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Grand Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$849
$658
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Iroquois(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
268
94
25
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
268
94
25
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheese and crackersspa poolcookiesoatmealfront porchespresso barwrap around porchhot tubhot cocoapeople watchingcold cerealfudgean older buildingthe hustle and bustlewould definitely stay here againshort walkold victorian
Filter
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 402 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My husband and I have stayed here twice, most recently in June 2007. It's a great choice for Mackinac--a historic property close to Main Street (but not in the middle of the tourist hordes), with reasonable prices and a beautiful communal front porch. The free breakfast is nothing to write home about, but the service is friendly and helpful. I recommend it!

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank strass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

The Inn on Mackinac proved to be a great selection for our 2-night stay. The price was reasonable. It was somewhat historic with clean rooms and a very nice private new- looking bathroom area. The continental breakfast offered a good variety, so you shouldn't have to leave hungry. The staff was very friendly and it also had a nice porch/sitting area to relax at. Our favorite part was the heated large hot tub (or what you might call a nice mini heated pool with benches)! Overall we were very happy with all accomodations and had a good trip because of it. It also had bike racks lined up along the building to use if you bring a bike. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mindyzena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

We enjoyed the Inn on Mackinac. The service from the Arnold Cruise lines to the hotel was great. We stayed in the "historic" rooms, with (small) shower only . The room was small but charmingly decorated. We had a view of the harbor from our bay window. Someone was always at the desk to provide information and service. The location, a couple blocks down from the "main drag", was perfect. The Inn has a nice common area with a second level veranda and parlor.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allyn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

From the moment we got off the ferry, we were treated with courtesy by the young man who carried our luggage (by bicycle!) to the hotel. Jessica, at the front desk, made us feel right at home. We spent a lot of time just looking at the decor, especially old photographs gracing the walls. The breakfast is served through 10:30 am, which late-risers like us appreciate. The beds were very comfortable and the towels nice and thick. The hotel is built on a hill, so you have to go to the third floor to reach the spa pool and a beautiful view. Quite a unique experience! We have been to the island before, but this is the first time we stayed overnight. I would recommend it, because one day isn't enough and the nightlife is quite enjoyable. The hotel provided a place to store our luggage after we checked out but before we were ready to leave, and we felt comfortable going back to use the restroom and sit on the porch.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank LucyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

Just returned from a 2-night stay at the Inn on Mackinac. The inn itself is quite charming and has character to it. It's not quite downtown which was great - away from all the crowds.

We stayed in a "Deluxe Queen Standard" room on the 5th floor - it was small but quite cozy. (I suppose it would be small if you planned on having guests over, but it was fine for the two of us.)

We enjoyed sitting on the porch and watching the people and horses go by - especially in the evening when all the daytrippers went home. However, don't expect to see a nice view of the water or the port... the giant, private mansion across the street hogs the view. (Although it's an architectural beauty - wish we could peek inside!)

The breakfast is decent - nothing to write home about, but hey, it's free. Just your standard continental with oatmeal, pastries, toast, etc. There's also cookies in the evening and tea/coffee available all day.

The spa/pool looked new and clean but we didn't use it.

Overall, if you don't want to pay the exorbitant prices of other hotels but don't want to stay at a smaller B&B, then the Inn on Mackinac will be just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thejoyciecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews