We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on Mackinac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our stay was in a room with a single queen bed and our 15 month old was along and was provided with a pack and play to sleep in. The inn is a beautiful Victorian style building and decor, over all it was not fancy place but well kept. The best part is the second story balcony with seating for about 30 people. The location is just outside of the downtown area only a 5 minute walk.

The walls are a bit thin so you can hear other people in their rooms and walking down the hall. It's not enough to keep you awake but is there. The bathroom floor was very slippery when wet and was a danger for our son. I am 6' tall and had to bend down to get under the shower head.

Each morning a full breakfast was set out Buffett style. The food was mediocre and nothing special ( all food service frozen type food ) but worked out since we did not have to find breakfast in town.

Overall it is an average hotel but take into account the location and the front porch takes it up a couple notches. We would stay again just for those extra benefits.

Room Tip: A top floor room away from the stair cases for maximum quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captzeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    83
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
107
177
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We traditionally stayed at the Island House but wanted to try someplace new. We had some family with us so we were looking for a economical but nice establishment with air conditioning. We only stayed one night unfortunately because not only was the room nicer than the other Hotel, the a/c was not just a noisy window unit and the breakfast was included (biscuits and gravy, waffles, sausage, eggs and fruit....all very good for buffet). They also knocked on your door in the eve with a warm chocolate chip cookie or left it on your night stand (the only complaint here was only 1 was left). The Porter "Brandon" was a sweetheart and he busted his buns getting the luggage to your room. You have to take your own bags down though and they don't have secured storage while you continue to play on the Island though we did not have a problem and our valuables and luggage were intact. Definitely coming back here next time too!

Room Tip: We travelled during the week and got upgraded, it was also much less crowded than the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onecrazykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spent our honeymoon on the island and will never forget the Inn on Mackinac as we thought it was the best deal on the island. The staff was very accomodating, friendly and attentive. Our room was billed as a queen, but the bed was actually a king and very comfortable. The free breakfast was varied and delicious with many different choices ranging from oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, cereal, toast and two different kinds of juices. In addition to free breakfast, the hotel had free lemonade during the day, along with cheese and crackers and a fresh baked cookies at night. My wife and I loved the location as the Inn is about a 5-7 minute walk from downtown, so it was quiet and free from the hustle and bustle. We will definitely be returning to the hotel when we come back to the island and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for three nights and felt that it was just the right amount of time. Our room was the colonial with a queen bed which was the only room available at the time I made the reservation. We would have liked to have had a larger room. Everything from the staff to the breakfasts and other amenities were exceptional. I highly recommend this Inn and staying on Mackinac Island, it is beautiful and relaxing.

Room Tip: Book early to get the room that you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmk413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn for the past 3 years. We like the location - out of the busier downtown area, but close enough for a quick walk. The room we were in this time was smaller than we would have liked (cozy colonial) so we'll have to spend the extra money to get the next size up. Don't expect a modern hotel. Part of the charm of the island is the older inns. The staff and personal touches make up for modern conveniences. They are top notch and everyone is so friendly. We never have to worry about getting our luggage to and from the ferry; we know it will be taken care of. We'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimnonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn on Mackinac. When we checked in we were upgraded to the Victorian room with two queen beds and a bigger bathroom which was a nice surprise. we watched the fireworks from the porch and swam in the Jacuzzi pool and it was very nice. the next morning we ate a complimentary breakfast buffet which was very good and they even make their own fudge. we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I booked the room online about a month before our trip and found the best priced room plus they give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

From our Porter at the Dock to the Front Desk staff, just exceptional service all around. We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience. Sitting just on the outskirts of town but busy enough in the street to sit with a complementary coffee and enjoy the open 2nd floor front porch and watch the horse drawn carriages stroll by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mackinac

Property: Inn on Mackinac
Address: 6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The year was 1867, an era of horse-drawn carriages and ladies in bustles. Blacksmiths were crafting horse shoes in glowing forges. During this height of Victorian culture, the Inn on Mackinac was built. Known then as Chateau Beaumont in memory of the famous Army surgeon at Fort Mackinac, the Inn on Mackinac has retained its quaint, old fashioned charm. The Inn’s facilities have been updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while preserving its colorful history. Today, completely remodeled and redecorated, this beautiful Victorian Inn opens its doors, where the very special charm of our family-run Inn awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mackinac Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel On Mackinac Island
Mackinac Bed Breakfast Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing