We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great Spa/Pool, Great Service”
Review of Inn on Mackinac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, Great Spa/Pool, Great Service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent two days at the Inn and enjoyed it very much. It was close enough to "town", but far enough away for the crowds. The porter took are luggage from the ferry to the hotel so we could enjoy the town without having to rush to the hotel. The breakfast was nice (I have food allergies and was still able to find food to eat). The gals at the front desk were very helpful. The spa was perfect temperature (about 95ish) - what a treat. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amtclarkston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    86
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
108
180
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We came to Mackinac on the 4th night of a road trip for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. My only regret was that we did not spend more time there. We were greeted by a porter at the ferry dock who took our bags and took them to the Inn. When we arrived we were surprised by a complimentary upgrade. The room was roomy and well appointed. We could sleep with the windows open and hear the clickety-clack of the horses hoofs as they passed. We spent a lot of time sitting on the wrap-around porch watching the horses, bikes and people. I liked that it was a short walk away from the busy main street-but easy to get there if that's what you wanted to do. This will definitely be the place I will stay next time we come back to the Island. This was the best I have stayed here. Loved this place.

Room Tip: I don't know how any of the other rooms were, but ours was great. 303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great location, Inn has porter meet you at Ferry for your luggage, great covered porch to sit and relax, small spa pool for at night after walking/biking all day. Free breakfast was good. You can hear people walking over your room ( I was on 2nd floor) and horse hoofs outside at night. These were NOT a bother to me-basically you would have same anywhere else on Island. Staff was good. Only thing I would recommend is a bigger garbage can for the room. Its very tiny and we filled ours up quickly.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 210....it was a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
402 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My sister, cousins and I stayed for two nights at the Inn on Mackinac. We had a delightful time! The inn arranges for your luggage to be brought from the ferry and arranges to get it back to the ferry. Very convenient! The property is lovely and away from all the hustle and bustle of the main part of the downtown. It is very convenient though, easy couple of blocks walk to the restaurants and shopping. It has lovely common rooms, parlors and a fabulous porch overlooking the street. There is a hot tub and sunning area, perfect for reading, on the third floor porch. The breakfast was fine. Not fabulous, but good.

We had an issue with turning on the air conditioning in one room and the maintenance staff fixed it promptly. Yes, I said "air conditioning." The Inn on Mackinac has it and we needed it! Some of the properties on the island do not have air conditioning!

The staff was helpful with recommending restaurants which we tried and enjoyed.

The Inn on Mackinac is homey, comfortable and relaxing.

I plan to stay there again whenever I visit Mackinac Island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked online and got the discount. We took the 12:30 ferry from Mackinac City; had lunch at the Seabiscuit Café; and were able to check in to the Inn at 2 p.m. – no problem. The Inn has a great location – about a 5 minute walk from downtown. A nice little bike rental place is a few doors down (it’s a dollar more per bike than downtown) and I strongly recommend JL Beanery for breakfast, coffee, and/or lunch, as it’s just across the street and down a few hundred yards. The Inn staff was courteous and helpful. The rooms were great – elevators are turned off after 10 p.m. to help keep things quiet. We slept great. The buffet in the morning was a little marginal, but it was breakfast nonetheless. We only stayed for one night, but all said if we were to come back we would stay for 2-3 nights – loved the Inn, the Island, and the whole experience.

Room Tip: We asked for a top floor - since the Inn was built in 1867 things might be a bit nosier on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FEN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed on Mackinac Island in late June 2013. We arrived on the island without any hotel reservations on a Tuesday and this was our first stop. I had stayed here once before and knew they had a good walk up rate which includes breakfast. We received a great rate with a room that had a view of the straits of Mackinac. We booked two nights at the walk up rate of $99. It's an older building as are most on the island. Very neat old photos on the walls in the hallways etc. Great covered porch to sit and drink your favorite beverage and watch the people and horses go by. They have a very large hot tub that they call a pool. It's nice as most hotels don't have a pool on the island. The mattresses were comfortable. The breakfast is average, what you would typically expect from a Fairfield Inn breakfast on the mainland. The location is perfect, easy walk to the main street restaurants and bars. I think it's the best value on the island at the walk up rate. Otherwise their standard rates can get pricey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Inn on Mackinac is awesome. First of all, it is bright green, so it's easy to spot from the ferry on your way in. It's close enough to downtown to be able to get where you need quickly, but also not RIGHT THERE so you feel like you're in the thick of everything. They have breakfast in the morning, cheese and crackers in the afternoon, and they leave cookies in your room at bedtime. It is decorated in the traditional Mackinac Island fashion. There's a common area on the 2nd floor with lots of seating, and also a commual porch that is lovely for eating breakfast. We'd love to return to the Inn on our next trip!
Although one day they didn't vacuum our room... but that was the only mishap.

Room Tip: We booked online and got a 10% discount. Also ask to be upgraded - we got upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alli318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
733 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mackinac

Property: Inn on Mackinac
Address: 6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The year was 1867, an era of horse-drawn carriages and ladies in bustles. Blacksmiths were crafting horse shoes in glowing forges. During this height of Victorian culture, the Inn on Mackinac was built. Known then as Chateau Beaumont in memory of the famous Army surgeon at Fort Mackinac, the Inn on Mackinac has retained its quaint, old fashioned charm. The Inn’s facilities have been updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while preserving its colorful history. Today, completely remodeled and redecorated, this beautiful Victorian Inn opens its doors, where the very special charm of our family-run Inn awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mackinac Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel On Mackinac Island
Mackinac Bed Breakfast Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing