We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on Mackinac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Island charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I've gone up to Mackinac Island nearly every year since I was born and have stayed in a myriad of places up there, but this place just rocks. The location is excellent because it's close enough to downtown to still be able to walk everywhere (though I always bike), yet far enough at the edge of town to be quiet at night. It's charming and colorful, like most places on the island are and should be, the staff is friendly, it's clean, and has a POOL, which is rare for most of the island hotels. They also have refreshments (tea, coffee, lemonade, cheese & crackers, cookies) in the reception area and it's nice to get a drink and something to nibble on and sit out on their huge, old porch. Wi-fi was free and the breakfast was great (hot stuff, too!). The price was right and we simply enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    83
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
107
177
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family and I thoroughly loved this place!!! The prices are not bad, you get breakfast every morning which was waffles, eggs, sausage, potatoes, french toast, oatmeal, bagels, toast, fruit and more. Juices and coffee or tea and milk. So good! They have the coffee, tea or hot chocolate all day and night. During the day they have cheeses and crackers with lemonade for you to snack on, and at night deliver you freshly baked cookies! Very nice rooms, comfortable beds, and cute decor. The front desk service was so nice and helpful. They have a patio looking onto the the main walking to downtown. It is on the second floor and sooooooo relaxing. You see the carriages go by, and watch the people. We played Mackinac-opoly and enjoyed some snacks and just loved it. Great walking distance to the downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heathernicole28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We had an excellent special of $59 in September, which is almost unheard of on the island. We had a turret room with queen bed off of the parlor and close to the porch. Decent breakfast in the morning and snacks are available throughout the day. This is our favorite hotel besides the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place was comfortable - every summer (just about) we go to Mackinac Island and spend a weekend, we always try to choose a different location to stay. This place was comfortable, the rooms were decorated and furnished in a historic fashion which was great! I loved waking up to the clip clop of horse hooves...and the breakfast was perfect! Very hearty!! - the porch is wonderful to sit and read on...all in all I give it a 10/10!

Room Tip: Wonderful stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

There is something totally relaxing about waking up to the slow and steady "clip-clop" of hooves on the pavement just outside your window. My husband and I stayed at the Inn on Mackinac Thurs-Sun this week and now plan to return each year. The Inn was just far enough out of town to be away from some of the bustle of downtown yet close enough to be in the middle of it. There was a bike rental place just accross the road and next to that the beautiful marina. Behind us were stairs which we climbed and then hiked a path to the Arch Rock. The first day we were there it rained hard so we took refuge on the huge wrap around porch and watched folks and buggies bustle by. All the while sitting high and dry while sipping our wine and snacking on some cheese. Nice! The breakfast made a wonderful start to our day every day. Scrambled eggs, sausage (didn't care for the fake links though), french toast, oatmeal, fresh fruit, toast, bagels, yogurt, cold cereal, juices, milk, coffee, hot cocoa and tea. Cheese, crackers and lemonade available throughout the day and warm cookies delivered to our room each night. Staff members were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. One of our favorite times was in the evening after most of the croud left, we enjoyed walking down main street without so many people present. Peaceful. Then we rocked the night away until 3 a.m. at our favorite pub Horns! Of course we enjoyed the Mustang Lounge and the Pink Pony as well. Matter of fact we ate at the Pink Pony our last night on the island and their whitefish dish with cream sauce and capers is to die for!!!
The only reason I did not give this place 5 stars is due to the fake sausage (lol) and the spa/hot tub/pool could have been hotter. Other than that....5 stars all the way!

Room Tip: When we visit again we are requesting the top floor (5th) as we stayed on the 3rd floor and heard so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhulwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The price was amazing, the breakfast that is served every morning is so good, and the service is over the top. This inn is spacious with five floors and plenty of seating. We will be returning next month. We have stayed on the island many many times and this by far was the best! The next time we stay we will request a room with a balcony though. Overall a favorite!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michmom_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My friends and I stayed 3 nights,and are planning to go back with our familys in the spring, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The Inn is like stepping back in time,and you can just relax sitting on the wonderful porch,enjoying the wonderful breakfast, getting your warm cookies in your room,or having lemonade and cheese and crackers in the afternoon. Evenings we would go get in the spa pool before bed and how wonderful that was. The staff was so nice and helpful. You are close to town,but yet far enough away that its quiet at night,and you can't wait to get back to your room. Thank you Inn on Mackinac for a wonderful 3 days and we will see you soon!

Room Tip: Room 310 was large and close to stairs.Spa was just down the hall.Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mackinac

Property: Inn on Mackinac
Address: 6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The year was 1867, an era of horse-drawn carriages and ladies in bustles. Blacksmiths were crafting horse shoes in glowing forges. During this height of Victorian culture, the Inn on Mackinac was built. Known then as Chateau Beaumont in memory of the famous Army surgeon at Fort Mackinac, the Inn on Mackinac has retained its quaint, old fashioned charm. The Inn’s facilities have been updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while preserving its colorful history. Today, completely remodeled and redecorated, this beautiful Victorian Inn opens its doors, where the very special charm of our family-run Inn awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mackinac Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel On Mackinac Island
Mackinac Bed Breakfast Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing