We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One bedroom suite, did not want to leave.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Street Inn and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Main Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One bedroom suite, did not want to leave.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed only 1 night and loved this room. The suite is large, clean and elegant. Beautiful bay window with lovely water view. Balcony fit only one chair, wish it fit two but did allow us to step outside and view mainstreet. My second stay at this hotel and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dantecamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    44
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
135
245
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
216 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We spent our 39th anniversary in the honeymoon suite at the Main Street Inn and couldn't have had a better time. The King bed is incredibly comfortable!! Most of all, the entire staff is 10-star kind and accommodating. We were greeted with hand-written notes and extra treats in celebration of our anniversary. When we needed directions, or recommendations for dining, they were able to provide much information about any inquiries. They were very knowledgeable about the island and all it had to offer.

Reading the guest book in the room it became clear that many people booked this room for anniversary celebrations. There was not one negative comment in the book.

The view of the lake and of Main Street is spectacular, and the clickity-clack of the hooves on the street disappear when the balcony door is closed. The streets are washed very close to dawn and still glistening when you have your morning coffee on the balcony.

We took the Shepler Ferry over to the island and it was nice not to ever have to haul a piece of luggage. Between Shepler's and the Main Street Inn, it was all take care of for us.

I highly recommend The Main Street Inn and Suites. You will not be disappointed. And we will definitely return. Thanks Main Street Inn and Suites for making our 39th anniversary very, very memorable!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Voice1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at the Main Street Inn this passed weekend. We were attending a friends wedding. First I would like to say that the service on all ends was great from Megan who took our reservation to all the other staff members who helped us out along the way. They never made it seem like we were a bother with all of our questions about the how and where to about the island. We loved the fact that our property was close to everything but still had the small town inn charm. The rooms were nice size and the central air was a major plus. We loved all the unexpected extras that were included like the daily variety of pieces of fudge at the front desk to the amenities in the room less not the turn down service with a nightly treat of fudge for sweet dreams. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I've been staying at the Main Street Inn on and off now since they opened. As a yearly visitor to Mackinac Island I can say without a doubt this is one of the best properties on the island. The staff is always very pleasant. Also you couldn't ask for a cleaner room. The beds are so comfortable! Plus the hotel is located right on Market Street within easy walking distance to everything. Another awesome stay!

Room Tip: Any room here is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We arrived at Main Street Inn and Suites early in the morning from the ferry. They held our luggage while we toured the town. Checked in too a very spacious room with a balcony overlooking the street. Wonderful extras: turn down service, fudge squares from Joann's, lemon water in the hall, billards, mini library, DVD player. Wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Don't plan on a nap during the afternoon its loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommyschmidt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

What a magical place! We came here to celebrate our 10 yr wedding anniversary and couldn't have found a better place to stay.

We stayed in the honeymoon suite (room 308) and loved every intricate detail. This hotel room has granite tile floors and countertops and is gorgeous with an English-style decor. It's a VERY spacious room, and the views from the balcony are fantastic. There are large flat screen TVs in the bedroom and living room, and there's a microwave and refrigerator too. The hotel looks brand new, even though it is 10 yrs old. It's very clear that the owner and her staff take great pride in this hotel.

The service here is the best we've ever had. All 3 of the front desk staff were amazing. They were very friendly and helpful. They helped us modify our dining reservation and arranged for a carriage taxi to pick us up outside the hotel. I wouldn't have even thought to ask them to do this, but they genuinely wanted us to have a good time and we are so appreciative of their thoughtfulness. The staff had great suggestions of things to do on Mackinac Island, as they live on the island (some of them live there year round). We also loved that the housekeeping staff are from Jamaica - it really reinforced that we were staying on an island and exudes the "vacation" mindset. A special thank you to housekeeper Ava for taking good care of us.

You will get your fill of fudge staying at this hotel! It's offered every evening at turn-down service AND at the front desk. For a chocolate lover, this was a very big perk!

This was our first time at Mackinac Island, and we truly loved every moment. Next time we will return to Main Street Inn and Suites with our children! Thank you, Main Street Inn and Suites. It was a magical, memorable experience. We will return again soon!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite (room 308) is fantastic for couples with a great balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed at the Main Street Inn and Suites on my first trip to the island. I chose this hotel for its value and rating on Trip Advisor. The hotel is located right in the hub of the shops on the island, so you don't have far to walk if you like to shop. Staff were so friendly and helpful, room was clean and decor very nice. Staff nightly turned beds down, coupons for local restaurant and fudge shop given out to me. I definitely recommend this hotel; you get four-star accommodations for much less than other hotels and inns on the island. I hope to come back to Mackinac Island again and would stay again at the Main Street Inn. It is a beautiful place!

Room Tip: I had an interior room with skylight. I didn't have a window, but I didn't miss it because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn and Suites

Property: Main Street Inn and Suites
Address: 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0178
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest accommodations on Mackinac Island offer the feeling of an intimate inn with the conveniences of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel Main Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing