We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Place to Stay on Mackinac Island”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Main Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Stay on Mackinac Island”
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We just returned home from a wonderful three day stay at the Main Street Inn and Suites on Mackinac Island. We had booked two rooms for our family and they were kind enough to give us adjoining rooms. The rooms were beautifully decorated such as you would experience in a bed and breakfast. The location was perfect, right in the middle of town, so we didn't have to walk far to have a meal or to go rest if anyonegot tired. If we ever return to Mackinac Island, we will definitely return to the Main Street Inn.

  • Liked — The accommodations, all non-smoking, and the location
  • Disliked — The internet service--very slow and unreliable at times
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryGinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    44
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
139
249
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Susanville, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I don't know where to begin.... The Main St Inn is that great!
The room was clean, had ample towels, was beautifully furnished, and everything in working order. The staff was incredibly friendly. We hated to leave!! It's conveniently located downtown and everynight you get a nice piece of fudge.
I would not stay at another hotel on the island!

  • Liked — Convenience & staff
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

After researching various accomodations on Mackinac Island, I contacted the Main Street Inn upon reading all the wonderful Tripadvisor reviews and I was not disappointed. The place was wonderful and even better than I had anticipated. I was fortunate enough to book a 2 bedroom suite for 2 nights with very short notice and the room was unbelievable. It was huge in size, beautifully decorated, extremely clean and had everything one would need for a wonderful trip. I think it was one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in my 20 + years of travel. The best part about the room was its large balconey that faced Main Street and the wonderful views of Mackinac Island Harbor. The location was right in the midst of everything, but it still was very quiet in the room.

I am originally from Michigan and had been to Mackinac Island a number of times in the past, however, this was my first time actually staying on the Island overnight and the Main Street Inn made my stay a delightful memory. It is definitely at the top of my list for future stays.

  • Liked — The Location and the quality of the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Suite number 210 was breathtaking and exceeded our expectations, by a long way. Everything at this Inn is first class from the porter pickup at the ferry to the front desk staff. This Inn is located near the ferry dock and right in the mix on the mainstreet. We can't wait to return and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Suite 210
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KipperKain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

This Inn is located on Mackinack Island. The location is great, allowing us the opportunity to walk everywhere we wanted to, or, take a carriage ride as there are no cars allowed on the island. We opened the door to our suite and felt at home right away. Furnishings are wonderful, and we had a sitting room with a balcony where we could see all the goings on and listen to the horses clip-cloping by. All of the staff and shopkeepers were very friendly and knowlegeable about the area. We took a tour of the beautiful, old Grand Hotel, and had a marvelous buffet there for lunch.We were there during the Lilac Festival but did suffer inclement weather. No one seemed to mind as they just went about their daily doings anyway, so as did we. All in all we had a wonderful experience there, and staying at the Inn was a major part ot it.

  • Liked — beautiful accomadations
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank connpixie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We booked a room here on rather short notice based solely on their #1 rating on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed.

We found ourselves in a huge, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated suite overlooking Main Street and the harbor with a very tiny ( one person) but private porch, fridge, whirlpool tub, microwave, 2 TV's, and the world's most comfortable bedding. Need more than that? OK, add in secure storage in the basement for overnight bike parking (the island won't let you just leave them on the street overnight), a competent front desk and an even more accommodating housekeeping staff and you have the makings for an excellent vacation on Makinac Island.

We also stayed at the Lilac Tree, which though rated 2nd, is surely a far, far, far distant 2nd (certainly not in the same league as the Main St. Inn), and The Grand (old, overpriced, odorous).

I'd love to come back to the island, but quite seriously, only if I can stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FredDedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

We stayed the first week in June. I had booked it months ago and got a good deal on our room. We did the deluxe with the window view. While there we did tour the sky light deluxe room with out a window which cost less. It was just as lovely. I think I could have stayed in that room at the lower cost.
They have a wonderful sitting area where we did our own breakfast. I had taken a cooler with all kinds of food so we could save on the food bill while there. Each room has a refrigerator which came in helpful.
The staff was always smiling when ever we came in contact with them. That is one of the number one things I look for. Because Main Street is smaller then most I feel you get that mom and pop owned business attitude even though the workers were young. They must have hand picked these young people who did a wonderful job. I would stay there again. It is also located right across the street from a ferry so we did not have to go far. The nice thing is you are on Main Street where the action is. They should have a motto Stay at the Main Street Hotel Where the action is.

  • Liked — How quaint the rooms were decorated
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jzeiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn and Suites

Property: Main Street Inn and Suites
Address: 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0178
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest accommodations on Mackinac Island offer the feeling of an intimate inn with the conveniences of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel Main Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing