We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Street Inn and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Main Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
SW Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have stayed here three or four times and have been very happy with our stay each time.It is a great value for the price.
Pros:
1)Very convenient to restaurants, walks etc.
2) Rooms have a cozy bed and breakfast feel but are very modern. Very nice.Very Clean! Marble
baths with high end fixtures
3) Suites are fantastic but regular rooms are great too for a much lower rate.
4) Great staff. Housekeeping is very friendly and remind me of type service you get on a cruise
ship. They turn down beds and bring fudge every night.
Con:
1) If you don't have a suite ,your view will be the back end of a horse stable on Market St. or no
view at all.You will probably not be in the room much anyway but get a suite if the view is
important
2) Ability to book online would be helpful.
3) Although most will love it, some people may find the evening bed turn down intrusive at
times.You can decline the turn down and take the fudge if you wish.
OVERALL:Great Hotel especially for the price!

Room Tip: Great view and roominess with suites- great value with all rooms.Very clean and nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Cav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    44
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
135
245
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent a Monday night here this week. Had tried to book two nights but the hotel was full on Tues night. From check-in to check-out we were pampered and treated like royalty. Starting at the ferry dock with the friendly valet service to the front desk attendant to every housekeeper we met everyone went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Cannot say enough about our beautiful 1 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor. Large bathroom and kitchenette area - comfortable mattresses and soft linens with such a lightweight yet warm blanket on the beds!! Spacious, clean, quiet, relaxing - simply wonderful for our little retreat away from home. The balcony on Main Street was such a treat - we spent time out there watching the harbor, the horse carriages and people on the street. The clip-clop of the horses was an almost soothing sound. Turndown service and bites of fudge was a nice touch and our free 1/2 lb of fudge on check-out an unexpected treat!! The hotel secured our luggage before check-in and after check-out until we were ready to board the ferry - again willing and accomodating. Will return here if we stay on the island - highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: rooms on Main Street include the balcony view of the harbor and Main St!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Main Street on Labor day. Beautiful interior room with a sky light. At first I was worried that the room would be too dark and such, but it was lovely with nice amenities, lovely furnishings, turn down service and the staff was great. My husband needed an item of clothing dried from being caught in the rain. The house staff went to work and returned the DRIED item within 10 minutes. Upon deparutre, we received a coupon for a 1/2 lb of fudge,at the shop next door. The ferry is across the street and the valet service is friendly and prompt!
The hotel offers indoor - secure parking for your bicycle. The valet service starts right at the ferry dock when you arrange for your ferry trip over, the hotel was waiting for our luggage and it was such a smooth trip going and coming. Will stay again.

Room Tip: We used Shelpers ferry service out of St. Ignace. They took care of everything. Secure parking for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay here & will do it again. The most money we've spent on a hotel, and every aspect of our stay made it worth it. Super comfy furniture, we could have sat in the living room area & enjoyed the breeze & view from the balcony for hours. Soft yet supportive bed with thick snuggly bedding, & a big flat screen tv on the wall. The large, well-maintained jacuzzi tub had plenty of power & hot water. The shower & toilet were in separate rooms from the dressing area. Everything about this place was quality. They took care of the little details too, like making sure there was a corkscrew in the room. :-) Oh, and they will hold your bags before & after check in/out so you can explore the Island more.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onery13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The suites are beautiful with plenty of space and everything you need. The views, from the balcony, are just fantastic - the very best on the Island. Main Street, and all the wonderful action, is right there as is the great harbor view. Couldn't get our favorite room but were still in a 3rd floor balcony suite. The place is spotlessly clean, thanks to the fine housekeeping crew. The Front Desk folks are fantastic (led by the wonderful Julie) and will meet your every need. If you stay anywhere else, including the Grand, you are doing yourself a disservice. Trust me, Main Street Inn is simply The BEST.
Great bike rental just across the street - Mackinac Wheels.

Room Tip: Get a 3rd Balcony Suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicF70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have been following all the trip advisors reviews on Mackinac Island and Main St Inns and Suites. We just got back from our honeymoon the week of Sept 2 thru Sept 7. It has been on my bucket list to go to Mackinac Island, and when we arrived, I was thrilled. It was everything I hoped it would be, so peaceful, beautiful and simpily amazing!!....we checked into the Main St Inn, no problems, and because it was a busy week, we had to book 3 different style rooms. (we booked it months in advance).

So, for the first 2 nights we stayed in an interior room with a skylight (a beautiful, bright clean room!), our next night we stayed in the king suite with a bacolny (awesome views, and it's nice at night to sit and relax and people and horse watch!). Then our last 2 nights we stayed in a deuxe standard room (nothing standard about this room, it too was beautiful and so clean!)--the hotel and staff made transfering to each different room a breeze--it was fun staying in all the different style rooms they offer. And every night they turned down our bed and gave us a box of fudge.

Since it was our honeymoon--they had a welcome sign and a congratulations sign for us displayed in the elevator the whole week were there. (They gave it us when we checked out for a keepsake) Also when we first checked in on our first day, the had a heart shaped towel with rose petals and ribbons on it with a beautiful note for us, and a large box of truffles filled with fudge, waiting for us in the room!

We talked to the housekeepers, and they even let us look into the rooms with the jacuzzi's in them (We did not have a jacuzzi room)--we applaued them for their hard work in keeping everything so clean and new.

We did so much the week we were on Mackinac Island. I miss the island already. It was a dream come true for me and my new husband. We will never forget it. We hope to make this our Anniversary place. Great job to Main St Inn and Suites and to everyone on Mackinac Island...thank you for our wonderful honeymoon memories! ~ The Ritzman's from PA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina2012Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley Michigan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I will add my kudos to pretty much every poster, this place is outstanding! It is better than some condos I have stayed in. The balcony suite has two bedrooms and a living room, and it was spotless. The balcony itself is small, but we spent a lot of time watching people, horses and ore carriers traveling. Centrally located, great staff, I can find no negatives with this place, except trying to get a reservation. Plan WAY ahead for a specific date. I gave them a choice of 20 days in September, only got two days of options.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a suite with a balcony. Listening to the horses clopping by brings a smile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Largesarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn and Suites

Property: Main Street Inn and Suites
Address: 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0178
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest accommodations on Mackinac Island offer the feeling of an intimate inn with the conveniences of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel Main Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing