We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much I can add...But....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Main Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
432 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Not much I can add...But....”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Main Street Inn for two nights in early August. It was everything everyone has said. We booked a deluxe standard room which was small but very well appointed and comfortable. However, the window view was of the back of a garage. The Deluxe Suites in the front of the hotel have great views of Main Street. Realistically we did not do much but sleep in the room, so it did not make a great deal of difference. But given the price and the overall quality of the hotel, the view was a disappointment.

The Main Street also does NOT have any eating facilities, so you need to find a place for breakfast. There are a couple of places very close to the hotel, but unlike some other properties, breakfast is not included.

Room Tip: If you can afford the higher price, book a suite in the front of the hotel to get the view. The vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    44
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
140
254
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My mom and I have stayed at this hotel on our last two trips to Michigan and really like it. In fact, we are booked again for our stay this fall. The staff is very pleasant. The rooms are beautiful, clean and quiet. The pictures on the hotel's website are an accurate reflection of the room and hotel quality. It's kitty corner to the ferry landings so it's incredibly convenient. Porters take your luggage from the ferry to the hotel and the hotel will hold your bags if you arrive prior to check-in. There is not an on-site restaurant, but you're only a short walk away from the surrounding restaurants. The hotel books up quickly so plan your trip well in advance if you're traveling during peak season.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites are very nice and have balconies that face Main Street and the water. We'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muvli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

On our first visit to Mackinac Island, we decided to stay at the Main Street Inn and Suites based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed by our choice. Having stayed there during the week of Aug. 6th for two nights in the Honeymoon Suite (Room 308), we enjoyed the hotel and its staff. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very attentive to detail. We looked forward to the nightly fudge "gift" in our room. This room has a balcony that overlooked main street and a view of Lake Huron. Make sure to ride a bike around the island (8 miles)--it is incredibly beautiful! Even though the hotel is a bit expensive, it is well worth the money. You must book early since this hotel is booked throughout the summer. Thanks for a great two nights Main Street Inn and Suites!!

Evansville, IN

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ and get a room facing main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexusman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Main Street Inn on Mackinaw Island In July. Though a bit expensive, the one bedroom suite with a view and balcony is absolutely worth the price. The inn is clean and well kept, and the staff is courteous and very accommodating. We loved being on Main Street and right in the middle of the shops and restaurants. This property gets a hearty endorsement.

Room Tip: No pool (TA site would not allow me to unclick an accidental rating chice on this) or restaurant on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlgs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Main Sreet Inn for 3 nights. On our last stay on Mackinac Island we had stayed at the Iroquois. I loved the hotel and the views, but there was no air conditioning and it was very warm during the day. So on this trip I opted to look for a hotel that had air conditioning and I am glad that I did. I based our stay this time on the reviews from Tripadvisor and I feel we made an excellent choice.

We have three children (9,7,4) and sometimes we have a bit of difficulty finding accommodations for our family of five. The room we had here was great. We had room 207. There were 2 queen beds and then a separate room with a king bed and sitting room with a small refrigerator and microwave.

The view from the room was beautiful and we had a nice balcony that overlooked Main Street as well as a view of the lake. The hotel is located directly across from Sheppler's, which makes it easy to access from the dock.

On the second floor directly next to our room was a nice sitting area with a pool table and a table to play games or cards, which they have available for use. Our family played games and sat in this area each night. Our children loved the nightly fudge sample at turndown service and the citrus infused water that was always available near our room.

The staff was friendly and helpful, but I felt could provide a bit more of an overview of things to do while on the island. And I agree with another reviewer who mentioned that the woman from housekeeping was really sweet and friendly.

I had initially wanted to stay at The Grand but the price, the up hill location and the dress code make it a little less attractive when traveling with children and I know that we would not have gotten a room nearly as large as the one here. I also do not like how they have people who stand out on the street and stop people who want to walk by and request $10 per person for the opportunity to do so.

My only negative would be that we could hear a bit of noise from the room above us. It was not excessively loud, but I could hear shuffling around and the running of water. With that said we would certainly stay here again. The location is great and the rooms are clean as many other reviewers have noted.

Tip: for nominal fee you can use The Grand Hotel's pool, which we did do on our previous stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with the views of Main Street and the water that have balconies would certainly be the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank we5travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

You know when your entire family enters a room and goes "Wow" that it's a nice place. The hotel is very attractive, inside and out. The room we had (a suite with 2 queen beds) was incredibly spacious, bright, clean and offered a breathtaking view of the lake. We used our balcony a lot, watching the boats and the people. The people who work there are incredibly professional. Not overly friendly, not cold, but very professional (which you will see if you make a reservation, they get back to you asap). The beds were super comfy, the towels were wonderful, there was a fridge and a mini bar and two gigantic tvs. The only "cons" I can think of, and this is being picky, is that 1) the light from the hallway streams through the cracks in the dooryway and can be pretty bright in the room, we had to cover ours up and 2) it would be only more perfect if they had some sort of bagel and coffee bar in the lobby in the morning. Just something to grab without having to leave the hotel. Otherwise there is really nothing to say, it's just a beautiful place and we hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Les68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We only stayed one night at one of the suites but wanted to stay so much longer! Rooms were spacious, super clean and nicely appointed. Huge jetted tubs, nice wet bar and refrigerator and did I mention the VIEW?? Directly across street from sheplers and close to everything including bike rental and fudge!. I was particularly impressed with the friendliness of the cleaning lady on our floor. She was very attentive and always said hi, when we were nearby. Little box of fudge at night was a special treat. Overall, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyan711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
704 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn and Suites

Property: Main Street Inn and Suites
Address: 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0178
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest accommodations on Mackinac Island offer the feeling of an intimate inn with the conveniences of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel Main Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing