We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it's off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2010

but that has pluses and minutes. It's a lovely inn, half the price of the Grand Hotel, but the rooms are far better and bigger than the Grand and you are also next door to a Grand Hotel restaurant if you want to experience that. The Inn's food itself is very good and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigCJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 539 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

Pros
• Grounds are well kept and pleasant with a great view of Lake Huron.
• House cleaning service people were friendly and helpful.
• The Summer House rooms are clean, pleasant, with amenities like a microwave and refrigerator.
• Great free breakfast! However they don’t tell you about it.
• The Woods restaurant next door is upscale dining with very good food $$$$.

Cons
• While most of the front desk staff was friendly there was one young man who was surly to the point of being impolite. This was noted by several other guests that we talked to over the weekend.
• We had no help unloading or handling our luggage on arrival.
• The resort provided no information regarding the free breakfast, no information regarding the need to reserve a horse taxi to return to the ferry.
• They don’t provide transportation to the resort. You have to pay for the horse taxi ride to the hotel ($6.75 per person), and the trip takes from 30 to 45 minutes depending on how many times they rest the horses. The distance from the ferry and town to the resort is about 1.5 miles and can be walked faster than the taxi. However, there are no sidewalks, and half of the distance is without street lights, with horse dropping on road, so walking at night is a challenge.

Misc
• Lunch is available only at the pool and dinner at their upscale restaurant.
• The Manor has no air conditioning, no elevator, and no TV.
• The paths are mostly crushed gravel.

Would I recommend StoneCliffe, only if a pool was important and you were going to bring your own bikes?

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We recently spent 3 nights at the Summer House at the Inn. Very nice accomodations (although beds were a little soft), nice pool and grounds and wonderful breakfast in the Cudahy Chophouse in the Inn. But don't waste your money eating dinner there! Lobster bisque was the WORST soup I have ever had - so oversalted it was like eating cheesedip! We had a group of 10 and waited almost an hour for our food. We ordered mostly salads and sandwiches as we were eating late, so no idea why it took so long. Our server was nice enough, but there were hardly more than 6 tables with people in the restaurant and he never said sorry for the wait. There are so many other fabulous places to eat on the Island including The Woods right on property that don't come to the Cudahy Chophouse except for the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Patience and time management is required when staying at the Inn at Stonecliffe. Prepare for about an hour long ride from the ferry up to the hotel, but it provides a nice tour past the Grand Hotel, the Little Stone Church, and the island interior. We were here for a family wedding and the hotel location is truly a beautiful with a fabulous view of the bridge. We stayed in the summer hour and the rooms are very nice and come with a small kitchen with fridge, etc.

However, if planning dinner or bar hopping on main street, be prepared to wait up to an hour for a cab (they are horse-drawn carriages) or an hour long walk without street lights and with "Mackinac Island apples" dotting the road.

You can rent bikes at the hotel, but they do not have enough to accommodate a full house, so we had to wait a short time before we could go with our group of 8 to downtown.

There is a fun restaurant/bar with an antique bowling alley on site, which was great for the after wedding party. Drinks were expensive though.

If you're looking for a quiet getaway, stay here. If you want to be close to the activity on Main Street, would recommend the Lilac Tree or other bed and breakfasts near town. The Grand Hotel is overpriced and needs updating.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmac81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We had only heard about Mackinac Island from friends and coming from Florida we wanted a beautiful fall wedding - and this was definately the right place! The Inn was gorgeous and the grounds were breathtaking! They catered our entire wedding and did an outstanding job from presentation to fantastic food! The only drawback was that the bathrooms did not have a sink and you had to use the same sink in the small kitchen area to brush your teeth etc. Other than that - and the long horse and buggy ride from downtown (which we believe actually added to our trip so we could see the beautiful countryside! ), it was perfect and I would recommend it to anyone!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank RonJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

I enjoyed staying here. The inn is beautifully decorated, has a wonderful pool and the grounds are fabulous. It is a bit off the beaten path... but, that makes it nice to break away from the hustle and bustle of the town atmosphere. Patience is a virtue... the horse carriage rides too and from are anything but fast. :) A great place to relax and enjoy the island.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

The bike ride there, I thought I would never get there. Riding through the stone pillar was a great site to see. We arrived before the luggage go there which was great because it gave us some time to visit with family and see what was happening. We received all of our luggage a short time after. It was about a 15 minute bike ride( Make sure you bring your bikes) or it could of been a 45 minute walk. We booked a lakeside suite with two queen beds( it was perfect for our family). The Summer House has an elevator which was a great help. We are use to a pillow top bed. The bed wasn't that. Being over 6 foot tall the shower head was too small but perfect for the rest of family. It was nice to have breakfast onsite but was OK. The staff was great but only lost 1 of the families bag which was recovered 6 hours before the Wedding. The pool was great , especially in the early morning when no one was there. The trails around in the Inn were great. The staff was very helpful with all of our very demanding schedule and questions.

WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK but next time I want a south corner suite with two balconies( one facing the pool to watch family at the pool and the other facing the lake ROOM 2312).

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xrblessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,090 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
671 reviews
1.5 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $189 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing