We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice stay at Stonecliffe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Stonecliffe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice stay at Stonecliffe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

We've stayed at Stonecliffe before, but always in one of the condos, this was our first time staying in the Inn. The accommodations and service were nice as was the complimentary breakfast...a good variety and everything I had tasted good. Guests should keep in mind that the inn is more of a Bed and Breakfast type setting than a hotel. The Inn is very old and holds a lot of charm, but the walls are extremely thin and noise transfers easily. We stayed on the third floor in a very large room with nice woodwork, period anitques, a tile bathroom with claw foot tub and comfy beds. There's a lot of charm in the old Inn, but if you're looking for creature comforts and modern conveniences, stay in one of the condos.

Keep in mind when consiering this hotel that it's a 40 minute walk, or 15 minute carraige ride into town...not a big deal if you're staying for only a night or two, but should be a consideration in longer stays. We dined in Woods, which was not as good as previous experiences. It's still a fun place, with great decor (and the duck pin bowling's always a hit) but the food was not what I thought was up to par, and the service was lacking. I think the entire staff had a slight case of "end of the year blues". All in all, a good stay...I'll stay at Stonecliffe again, but most likely in the condos.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank deadheadcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    99
    30
    20
    10
See reviews for
115
214
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2006

This was a lovely, quiet and comfortable place to stay while on Mackinac Island. We stayed in the "summer house" building, and the room was spacious, clean, nicely appointed and offered lovely views. We spent time in the manor house playing games and reading in the very comfortable chairs by the fireplace. The grounds are extensive and conducive to relaxing. The staff is helpful, efficient and gracious.
There is only one restaurant located near the hotel so plan accordingly - if your room has a refrigerator then you may want to come with some fruit or other snacks since it is somewhere between 2 - 3 miles to get to town, and all transportation is via foot, horse or bike. In fact, I would strongly suggest either bringing or renting bicycles if you stay here as it makes getting back and forth much easier (and faster.) There is plenty of room to store bikes on the property.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rose1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2006

Mackinac Island is a great vacation - either for a couple or a family. My husband and I married on Mackinac Island 10 years ago and returned for our anniversary. We now live in Houston so it was a fairly long trip. We flew to Detroit, rented a car, drove up to Mackinaw City & took the ferry. Because we didn't get direct flights we took 2 days to travel to and from the Island.

I reviewed Trip Advisor comments and booked a room at the Inn at Stonecliffe. The tudor mansion has beautiful rooms in the manor house which are very large and comfortable (I asked to see them). The view overlooking the woods in front of the house is just as beautiful as the rooms overlooking Lake Michigan and Mackinac Bridge; I would have been delighted with either.

However the Manor rooms are not air conditioned so we opted to stay in the newly built summer house. The room was wonderful, tastefully decorated and quite large. There was a queen bed in one area, bath and kitchenette area (with small fridge, counter, cabinets with glasses & plates/bowls) in the middle, and then a sitting area on the other side with TV and pull out sofa. A family of 4 would have been very comfortable. We chose the Inland view - but I might have paid the additional $20/night if I had seen the wonderfully large patio with furniture that was attached to the rooms for the Harbor View rooms. I'd ask for the 3d floor!

Downside to the Inn was the mediocre food. Breakfast was included but it was the same fare as you would get at a $100/night hotel. Had lunch one day but was not impressed - 4 sandwich/chips choices and one salad choice. Didn't try dinner there - at $22.95 per person I would rather go to the Woods at the bottom of the drive (see below). But for me, the beautiful view of the Lakes and Mackinac Bridge and the vista over the large, sloping well manicured lawn, the spacious rooms, and elegant manor house made this a minor inconvenience.

We enjoyed staying "away from town" and usually walked to town - a lovely 20 minute walk through the woods - a horsedrawn shuttle ($6.50/person) runs back and forth from town to the Inn every hour if you prefer. You can rent a bike from the Inn rather than rent one in town. Bike rentals run $6 hour or $40 a day which I thought was a bit expensive, but similar to rentals downtown.

Restaurants -
Pink Pony: enjoyed the on the large awning covered patio overlooking the harbor for the ambience and comfort. Food was good but not too creative. Only place we went twice - once for lunch, once for just a half and half (iced tea and lemonade) and a dessert just to sit and relax.

Mary's Bistro: Food was better than average - smelled the roasting chickens on display in their roaster near the sidewalk as we walked by. My husband ordered the roasted chicken with smashed potatoes. I ordered the pesto pasta with chicken. Both were delicious and good price for the Island. About $40 for the two of us.

Woods: Delightrul restaurant owned by the Grand Hotel and at the end of the drive of the Inn at Stonecliffe. Wonderful ambience with dark red walls, lots of game displayed, rustic flavor decor. The food was excellent; I had a vegetarian entree and my husband ordered the white fish. Dinner with soft drink and dessert was $65, and we chose entree's that were less expensive than others, but a great treat for a night out.

Horns: Mexican restaurant downtown was fun and affordable. Caters to a younger crowd and families, with sports bar feel. Food was good - an easy place to go without getting dressed up.

Took a 4 hour bike ride (we're in our upper 40s and lower 50s) and it was very nice. Lots of couples older than we are were riding bikes also. We enjoyed staying in the woods where it was cool. The views over the Lakes are spectacular, the inner parts of the woods calming and refreshing. While the Island is steep in some parts, I just get off and walk the bike up the hill. Everyone else does too - nothing too strenous that you can't handle since you have all the time in the world and are just out for fun.

Rented a horse and buggy we drove ourselves from Jack's Stable. Nice ride around the edge of the island, but the horse was quite slow. $48/hour for 2; $60/hour for 4. I would do it again if I were bringing my mother and could tour her around the island since she would have limited ability to view the more remote areas of the Island. For me, I would just rent the bike again rather than the horse and buggy ride which was too slow for my taste.

Great thing about Mackinac is that there is a pretty equal mix of ages - from babies to grandparents. A great place for every age with things for each age to enjoy. While this was an anniversary for my husband and me, I hope to go back with my 20 something children - and if they have babies in strollers or small children by the time we go, everyone will still enjoy the Island.

Helpful?
7 Thank MMCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2006

From the time we first saw the hotel till the time we left we were amazed with everything they had to offer. We stayed in a delux suite that had a great view of the Mackinac straits. The table on the balcony was awesome, as we played cards all night long. The beds were amazing as were the pillows. One of the best I have ever stayed in. The breakfast was outstanding and free! They had eggs with cheese, bagels, yogurts, freshly cut fruits. Potatoes and bacon. One of the best meals of the whole trip. The hotel is magical.!!! STAY HERE!! IT IS WORTH IT

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Walk down the path after the field in the rear of the hotel, and turn right at the first path then take that around and up the hill in the forest to the most unbelievable sunset spot in michigan...
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bwg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2006

My husband and I statyed at the Inn at Stonecliffe on our visit to Mackinac Island the last of June. We had seen a picture of it in the Mackinac Island magazine which was sent to us after emailing the tourism dept. After a long drive, the Inn was a welcome place for rest and relaxation. The Inn is absolutely beautiful! We enjoyed our room with a view overlooking Lake Huron and the Macinac Bridge. The food for dinner was spectacular as was the breakfast the next morning. The lawn was great for relaxing, reading a book or just taking in the view. If you are looking for a great place to stay on Mackinac Island then the Inn at Stonecliffe is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bakers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2006

I have not missed a year at Stonecliffe in over 20 years. This is the place to renew your, romace and enjoy a one of a kind retreat that you can not find anywhere but at Stonecliffe. Do yourself a favor and go for a few days, relax, enjoy a time gone bye. I'll see you there!! Oh by the way the staff and ownership is outstanding you'll feel like YOU own the place.
Kudos to the whole operation!!! I even give gift packages to all my adult family members, and my friends love it also! I'm Moose Zonjic of the Moose and da Sharks oldies show and if you know us, or ever see us just ask about Stonecliffe we love it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Property: The Inn at Stonecliffe
Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing