We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time staying at Stonecliffe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Mackinac Island is a BEAUTIFUL island. Both times we have stayed on the island, we have stayed at Stonecliffe. A friend recommended it, because they also had a larger family, and it is very family friendly. Both times, we brought our bikes, which I highly recommend.

The Inn is quite a ways from town, and this is really the only negative. But if you have your bike, it isn't so bad. I do regret that we never took the carriage ride into town. We were deterred by the cost (for a family of 5, it was up there) -- but it would have been such a different experience.

We were with our 3 kids, ages 7, 9 and 12. They all did a great job pedaling themselves around the island, seeing the sights. It was a great family experience. The Inn at Stonecliffe has a pool, which is not very deep. It also has an incredible view of the Mackinac Bridge. And at night, if you walk a little ways, to the neighboring rental place, there's a big balcony (looks public), you can get an awesome view of the sunset.

The rooms are very nicely decorated. The beds and pillows were excellent. The place was very clean, and felt new -- no signs of wear. We had 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. The family room had a pull out sofa bed that our 12 year old slept on. The rooms have balconies. We could see pool and Mackinac bridge from ours. Some of the smaller rooms, and huge balconies.

The first night, we ate at the restaurant at Stonecliffe. The food was good, but expensive. We ate outside on the patio, and the view of their grounds, with the bridge in the background was really beautiful. The 2nd night we ate at the Woods restaurant. Food was as good as night before, and just as expensive. Great atmosphere (indoors, Bavarian, nice fire and ambience). We wanted to walk to town, eat more casual (less expensive) and take carriage back, but it was raining.

The breakfast is a big breakfast, with lots of hot options (eggs, sausage, etc.). It is a big plus for staying at the resort -- especially if you are doing a lot of biking -- get your energy early. We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite, and it has a mini-kitchen. So we brought over a cooler with food. We made lunches, so we didn't have to eat out, except for our dinners.

We stayed 2 nights, but I recommend 3 nights. I also HIGHLY recommend going to the Fort -- no matter what age you are. They do a fabulous job there -- educational, interesting (fun and interactive for the kids) and the view up there is great. The gift shop is great too :)

My 12 year olds favorite part of the island to bike on, is through the middle of the island (going from town towards British Landing). It is a long downhill ride, and he loved going fast down it. Do NOT go the opposite way (we saw many people going UP -- not fun).

When you get to British Landing, there's a stand that sells soft serve ice cream as well as fried pickles (my husband really liked these).

One of our favorite bike rides on the island, is Leslie Avenue. It is heavily wooded with lots of up and down hills. You can take it to Arch Rock, and then cut over to Garrison which turns into British Landing, which is the long downhill our preteen likes.

I recommend Stonecliffe. Just be aware of the fact you are not in town. But is is really nice and quiet. There are bats out at night. Also -- for the last 2 years, they have had a special, where if you book by December 31st, for the upcoming summer, you can get certain dates 1/2 price. We did this both years (but had to travel at the end of Augsut to do so) -- and saved a lot of money. It is a good deal though.

Stonecliffe is a wonderful place to visit if you are going to Mackinac. I highly recommend staying ON the island vs. in St. Ignace (have done this before) or Macinack City.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 539 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2009

I've stayed many times at Stonecliffe, and will continue to do so.

It is the former summer home of the wealthy Cuddihy (meat packing) family of Chicago. It's been several things after that, including the temporary home of a religious cult. For the last 25 years its been a wonderful B and B / hotel.

I've read some of the negative responses (very few....and some from folks who (it turns out) did not even stay there. They all are from folks expecting big-city, big-ticket, modern high end hotels with all the bells and whistles. You will not find that anywhere on Mackinac Island.

Some things to understand:

1. It's off the beaten track. Mackinac Island is not large, but Stonecliffe is about 3 miles down a quiet road from 'town'. This makes it VERY attractive to some (few tourists buying fudge and wandering around, typically no screaming kids, and a generally more dignified clientele), but difficult for the resort type shopper/ traveler. It's a short ride to town on a horse carriage, but that costs $30 round trip. Bicycles can be rented.

2. It is a former mansion; it's not a hotel. They just added room phones a while ago, for instance. Every room is different, and the original character was COMPLETELY maintained. Don't expect a Four Seasons suite. Accommodations are WONDERFUL and OPULENT if you are expecting to stay in a late 1800's mansion with modern conveniences added. No elevator.....no air conditioning (you will almost never need it)

3. For the experience, book a room IN THE MANSION. The 'garden' rooms, outside the mansion but still on the grounds, are simply hotel rooms/condos, and have little character or uniqueness. You would still have the grounds to wander, the quiet to enjoy, and the good food in the restaurant, but you are missing most of the adventure.

4. It's expensive, but worth it if you like quiet, dignified opulence, and an experience that a traveler in the late 1800's / early 1900's might have. For instance, I once viewed the Aurora Borealis ("Northern Lights") on a clear night from the old apple orchard on the grounds....it was so dark you couldn't see your hand in front of your face, and I will always remember the experience. There is an observation area ("Sunset Rock") on the property that overlooks the Mackinac Bridge and the Straits....and you can sit there for hours and probably not have another person join you.

However, if you want a fancy, modern, expensive hotel you are probably best advised to skip Mackinac Island completely.....but if you do visit and want that sort of accommodation, stick to the town and with the people thereabouts clamoring for fudge.

5. Get a bike; explore the island.....ride a horse......walk the trails......enjoy what it was like way back when.

It's perfect for lovers....it's perfect for people who like peace, quiet, and dignified, historic opulence.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank antennaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This is a beautiful lodge with great everything, but make sure you are visiting for a secluded and possibly romatic getaway verses a familly visit to site see at Mackinac Island. The home is up on the top of the island and a long distance from town. It was a 50 minute horse drawn taxi ride for us because the taxis stop and pick up other people and the horses take breaks along the path because it is all up hill. Also, the bar and downstairs area closes at 10 p.m. so there isn't much "nightlife" to speak of. But, the staff was wonderful and very accomidating and the breakfast was delightful. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anelu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

A large group of friends and family stayed at the Inn 7/10 for a wedding Sat. morning. Upon arriving on the Island, we had to wait about 20-30 minutes for our shuttle. I believe they only come on the hour. The ride up to the Inn from downtown takes about 30-40 min but is very relaxing. It cost 6.75/pp one way. The grounds and hotel are amazing! It feels like you are in a whole undiscovered part of Mackinac. Our room was in the Inn on the second floor overlooking the bridge. It was huge! Perfect room for getting ready for the wedding the next day. The staff was very helpful with any concerns the bride had. The Summer Houses were very nice as well. They were more modern then the rooms at the Inn and were decorated in bright colors. We ended up staying on the pull out couch in a friends room in the Summer house as their was a huge storm when we went to head back to the Inn. Lighting hit a tree out in the front yard and the next morning it was a sight to see! Breakfast was great, pancakes, sausage, fresh fruit, danish. The wedding was beautiful and the staff was great about taking care of all of those details. Only problem is checking out someone cancelled our scheduled taxi so we had to wait another hr and a half for a new taxi. This resulted in part of the wedding party and bride and groom to be about 20 minutes late for the reception in another part of MI but we weren't too upset!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

The down side of staying at Stone cliff is that it is sooo far from town. If you stay bring your bike. The shuttles are $15 dollars a couple one way. You can view the bridge from the back porch. We went on the 4th of july, but you have to go to town to see fireworks. There were two weddings the weekend we were there. That meant that the dining room was closed. The homes around the Inn were amazing. It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fc2barney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We checked in on Friday 7/3/09 stayed in the Summer House 2 adults 2 kids 10 and 14. We had 2 queen beds with a pull out sofa. The room had a refrigerator and a microwave, coffee pot, glasses plates etc...We had an awesome view of beautiful scenery and the water. We chose a family package rate deal that includes bikes for the day and other ammenities such as boxed lunch, transfers etc..Well worth it. This property is beautiful and quiet. It is set up at the far end of the Island on a bluff. If you plan on walking up from town it is a good 2 1/2 mile hike of you can take a horse and carriage for $6.75 p/adult and $3.75 p/child. We loved the walk. The restaurant was delicious. Make reservations and plan on a wait. Each morning a breakfast was included with fresh fruit, home made pasteries, yogurt it was great. The pool is a bit small but it meets your needs, it is a bit cold but the eather can get quite cool in July at night in the 40's at times. Bring a jacket, we would suggest layering. This is a great property for families, couples, hooneymoons, there were 2 beautiful weddings, anniversaries. Just a beautiful property.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grosseile2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

The Inn is tucked away from busy downtown Mackinac Island, and the setting is so peaceful and calming. The room we had was huge, and the bathroom was actually 2 rooms with a clawfoot bathtub. The closet was a little room, big enough for our daughter to sleep in (in her pack n play crib). It was very charming, almost like a bed and breakfast. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with a great view of the Mackinaw Bridge, especially at night. If you want to get off the beaten path, this is the place to stay. Also, the staff was wonderful and very helpful with our large stroller and all the bags you have when traveling with a toddler. The free continental breakfast was incredible! There are hiking trails around, too. You have to take a horse/carriage to and from the inn unless you want to walk or ride bikes, and that takes some time, so plan ahead. But that makes the place all the more charming!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susie0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,090 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
671 reviews
1.5 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $189 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing