We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Retreat, 45 Minutes by Horse to Town, 15 by Bike” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Stonecliffe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Retreat, 45 Minutes by Horse to Town, 15 by Bike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

This is a beautiful lodge with great everything, but make sure you are visiting for a secluded and possibly romatic getaway verses a familly visit to site see at Mackinac Island. The home is up on the top of the island and a long distance from town. It was a 50 minute horse drawn taxi ride for us because the taxis stop and pick up other people and the horses take breaks along the path because it is all up hill. Also, the bar and downstairs area closes at 10 p.m. so there isn't much "nightlife" to speak of. But, the staff was wonderful and very accomidating and the breakfast was delightful. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anelu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    99
    30
    20
    10
See reviews for
115
214
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

A large group of friends and family stayed at the Inn 7/10 for a wedding Sat. morning. Upon arriving on the Island, we had to wait about 20-30 minutes for our shuttle. I believe they only come on the hour. The ride up to the Inn from downtown takes about 30-40 min but is very relaxing. It cost 6.75/pp one way. The grounds and hotel are amazing! It feels like you are in a whole undiscovered part of Mackinac. Our room was in the Inn on the second floor overlooking the bridge. It was huge! Perfect room for getting ready for the wedding the next day. The staff was very helpful with any concerns the bride had. The Summer Houses were very nice as well. They were more modern then the rooms at the Inn and were decorated in bright colors. We ended up staying on the pull out couch in a friends room in the Summer house as their was a huge storm when we went to head back to the Inn. Lighting hit a tree out in the front yard and the next morning it was a sight to see! Breakfast was great, pancakes, sausage, fresh fruit, danish. The wedding was beautiful and the staff was great about taking care of all of those details. Only problem is checking out someone cancelled our scheduled taxi so we had to wait another hr and a half for a new taxi. This resulted in part of the wedding party and bride and groom to be about 20 minutes late for the reception in another part of MI but we weren't too upset!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinckney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

The down side of staying at Stone cliff is that it is sooo far from town. If you stay bring your bike. The shuttles are $15 dollars a couple one way. You can view the bridge from the back porch. We went on the 4th of july, but you have to go to town to see fireworks. There were two weddings the weekend we were there. That meant that the dining room was closed. The homes around the Inn were amazing. It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fc2barney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

We checked in on Friday 7/3/09 stayed in the Summer House 2 adults 2 kids 10 and 14. We had 2 queen beds with a pull out sofa. The room had a refrigerator and a microwave, coffee pot, glasses plates etc...We had an awesome view of beautiful scenery and the water. We chose a family package rate deal that includes bikes for the day and other ammenities such as boxed lunch, transfers etc..Well worth it. This property is beautiful and quiet. It is set up at the far end of the Island on a bluff. If you plan on walking up from town it is a good 2 1/2 mile hike of you can take a horse and carriage for $6.75 p/adult and $3.75 p/child. We loved the walk. The restaurant was delicious. Make reservations and plan on a wait. Each morning a breakfast was included with fresh fruit, home made pasteries, yogurt it was great. The pool is a bit small but it meets your needs, it is a bit cold but the eather can get quite cool in July at night in the 40's at times. Bring a jacket, we would suggest layering. This is a great property for families, couples, hooneymoons, there were 2 beautiful weddings, anniversaries. Just a beautiful property.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grosseile2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

The Inn is tucked away from busy downtown Mackinac Island, and the setting is so peaceful and calming. The room we had was huge, and the bathroom was actually 2 rooms with a clawfoot bathtub. The closet was a little room, big enough for our daughter to sleep in (in her pack n play crib). It was very charming, almost like a bed and breakfast. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with a great view of the Mackinaw Bridge, especially at night. If you want to get off the beaten path, this is the place to stay. Also, the staff was wonderful and very helpful with our large stroller and all the bags you have when traveling with a toddler. The free continental breakfast was incredible! There are hiking trails around, too. You have to take a horse/carriage to and from the inn unless you want to walk or ride bikes, and that takes some time, so plan ahead. But that makes the place all the more charming!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

We hosted our wedding at Stonecliffe in August 2008. Many of the reviews complain about the distance and remoteness of the Stonecliffe, but this is what makes the place extremely special and wonderful. It is quiet and serene(except for the 4 hours our band was rocking the party). It is a long distance from the ferry docks, but the reason to come up here is to relax and enjoy the escape from the real world. I suggest booking a lakeside room, as they overlook the Straits of Mackinac and the Mackinac Bridge and the decks off of those rooms are amazing.

Our guests still comment about the awesome time they had staying at the Inn. All of us were able to chill out at the pool during the days prior to the wedding and grab a casual lunch and cocktails at the poolside grill. Also, the Inn is adjacent to the Grand Hotel's Woods Restaurant--one of the coolest, casual and chicest restaurants on the face of the Earth. Even further, the back nine holes of the Grand Hotel's golf course is within stumbling distance from the Stonecliffe, and this was really an asset for all of the guys that were looking to play a round or two.

I cannot emphasize enough how wonderful the special events staff was at the Stonecliffe. I work in food and beverage in Chicago, and definitely feel that Alan and his staff are a buttoned-up, professional, and emphatic bunch that catered to every single need our group had. Let me emphasize that they were AMAZING. We had 120 guests from all over the country and everything was perfect...we even had compliments on the quality of food and the service. This never happens at a wedding.

Now, let me say that the rooms are by no means five-star. However, they are comfortable and decorated like one would expect for a casual, island getaway. The place is cozy and beautiful, and we cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ngurnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

The property is awesome and the staff are great also. Great place to stay if you want to be away from the noise in town. If you walk or bike to the property, it's all uphill . You have to be in fairly good shape. We had a great stay, but next time, We're staying somewhere in town. One more thing, there is a restaurant in the mansion part of the property. We payed 60.00 dollars for food that was soo gross tasting, we both left half on our plates and wished we had a Big Mac.

  • Liked — Beautiful Property
  • Disliked — Too far from town.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BABYGIRLMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Property: The Inn at Stonecliffe
Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing