We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ditto to last three reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ditto to last three reviews”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed during the last week of the season and one might expect some slippage as the Inn was preparing for closing down for the winter and staff excited to return home. The only evidence of that was not all items on the menu were available but other than that service was outstanding. The Lakeview rooms with their private desks provided a very comfortable stay and we loved being away from the hustle of the town. The bikes were functional and fun as we used them to tour the Island two of the three days at the Inn.
We found the staff very engaging and enjoyed learning of their life style in terms of working 6 months on the Island and then needing to find another job for the winter, typically in the south.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robsy5111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    107
    32
    26
    11
See reviews for
136
241
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed on the island many times and this was by far the best experience! Since it does not sit directly on Main Street you really get the charm of the island. This hotel is spacious and very clean with outstanding food. The staff is eager to help with anything you might need. The views are amazing and the short walk into town gives you just enough time to relax and be able to take in all the beauty before the crowds. I was just there last weekend and still can't quiet put the whole experience into words. Already looking forward to my next Stonecliffe trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I came here with a group of girlfriends and could not have asked for a more perfect weekend! The grounds are beautiful, staff is amazing and the views were breath taking! It is about a 30 minute walk from the main strip of shops but that is what is so great about Stonecliffe. Its quiet, the mansion is beautiful, and if we would not have stayed on this side of the island, I believe we would have missed so many beautiful trails, parks and sites. The staff gave us recommendations on where to go on the island that a lot of people miss out on seeing. We will definitely be back!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KLC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Inn at Stonecliffe is about a 30 minute carriage ride from the docks. It is secluded, quiet, private and very romantic. The staff are top notch. The food is excellent at the restaurant. The grounds are spectacular! Beautifully manicured. Several walking paths. Make sure to go to the look out. You will not be disappointed. An absolutely stunning view of the Mackinac Bridge. The back 9 holes of the Golf course is right next door. We will definitely be returning! Thank you, Daniel, for making sure we were well taken care of!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I were here for our honeymoon October 8th through the 10th as part of our northern Michigan tour. This was definitely the perfect place for our romantic getaway. With scenic views of Mackinac Bridge, as well as the beautifully manicured grounds complete with multiple walking trails, Stonecliffe far exceeded our expectations. The staff we encountered were all very accomodating, from Gerald who made sure our luggage was brought up in a timely manner, to Caleb who kindly tagged our bags for our return trip and also helped us in choosing the best bikes for our tour around the island. I would also like to say a special thanks to Karen, who was very informative, and kindly upgraded us to an even nicer room. Also, to Stefanie, the GM of Stonecliffe, who chatted with my husband and I on one of our taxi rides back, even though it was her evening off. She took the time to fill us in on some of the best areas on the island to visit, including the most scenic sunset viewing area.
All-in-all, Stonecliffe was defnitely an excellent option for our stay. The only advice I would give to guests trying to decide where to stay is to
1. Be mindful of the distance to the mansion. While easily accessible on nicely paved roads, just be mindful that a little extra cash will need to be shelled out to pay for taxis, or bikes should be rented. However, the walk up to the mansion is absolutely beautiful.
2. Keep in mind that there are two options for Stonecliffe; the mansion and the summerhouse. Our original room (before we were upgraded) was in the mansion. While the view was INCREDIBLE, the room is a bit more dated and does not have central AC, which is not really an issue in October, but may be in July. The summerhouse, which may not have the same views as the mansion, does offer large, comfortable, rooms, some of which contain whirlpools, as well as AC. Both options are wonderful, it just depends on what you're looking for in a room.

We are looking forward to spending many future anniversaries enjoying Stonecliffe!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munising, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I go to Mackinac each year in October and we try out a different inn or b& b each time. Stoneciffe has been our absolute favorite! If we could have given them 6 stars we would have! It was a very scenic 2 mile ride up to Stonecliffe, you are far away from the hustle and bustle of town, its very quiet and tranquil.

We were worried about having to haul our luggage 2 miles but some one from Stonecliffe met us at the dock and arranged to have it carried up, and delivered to our room. When we checked in the staff was very knowledgeable and told us some excellent places to ride our bikes, and they were beautiful routes! The best part was our room. We were assigned to the "Straights" room at the top of the stairs in the manor. It was huge with high vaulted ceilings, very roomy and a gorgeous view of the Mackinac Bridge (which at night/sunset was epic, we would definitely recommend a bridge view room). It was spotless and very clean. We were impressed.

I was worried about some of the reviews saying it was loud and noisy. They do hold weddings there on the weekend, and i'm sure thats part of the problem, we stayed mid week, and it was very quiet perfect for some down time and relaxation. We brought our bikes so it wasn't much of a hassle as far as getting to and from down town, it was about a 10 min. ride from the main street. We were worried about how it would be riding back at night, we had dinner and drinks and went back later after dark, but there are street lamps all the way up and we didn't have a problem. We were told by the staff that if you don't have bikes it is a $6.50 ride to and from downtown in a carriage. Which isn't terrible considering you would pay just as much for a taxi in the city. And a carriage taxi ride under the stars is much more quaint than a real cab. We will be staying there next year for sure. We had an amazing stay!

Room Tip: Straights Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatalieMalinowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Couldn't have been treated better. The General Mgr Stefanie Congdon was very proud of her Inn. She showed us around the historical mansion, the newer hotel area, pool, gardens and stone cliff. So relaxing to walk the grounds. Impressed that she often stopped ask other guests how they enjoying their stay. The views at Stonecliffe are out of this world. Regarding island accommodations; the beach views and of the bridge are better (than when we visited other Inns) than any other vantage point anywhere on the island. Looking forward to going back and taking advantage of the restaurant (heard about the fabulous chef & staff from other Innkeepers) - which we didn't do this time. Stefanie advised us to visit wonderful places on our bicycles. If it weren't for her enthusiasm, we would not have gone to Ft. Holmes and stopped at some other beautiful points on the paths, or biked nearly as far (whew). Looking forward to next summer and seeing their new renovations - although I like things as old as can be...while my husband enjoys the newest.

Room Tip: If you like the feel of history - choose the mansion. If you like a summer, vacation, newish feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMcD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
805 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Property: The Inn at Stonecliffe
Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing