We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I were here for our honeymoon October 8th through the 10th as part of our northern Michigan tour. This was definitely the perfect place for our romantic getaway. With scenic views of Mackinac Bridge, as well as the beautifully manicured grounds complete with multiple walking trails, Stonecliffe far exceeded our expectations. The staff we encountered were all very accomodating, from Gerald who made sure our luggage was brought up in a timely manner, to Caleb who kindly tagged our bags for our return trip and also helped us in choosing the best bikes for our tour around the island. I would also like to say a special thanks to Karen, who was very informative, and kindly upgraded us to an even nicer room. Also, to Stefanie, the GM of Stonecliffe, who chatted with my husband and I on one of our taxi rides back, even though it was her evening off. She took the time to fill us in on some of the best areas on the island to visit, including the most scenic sunset viewing area.
All-in-all, Stonecliffe was defnitely an excellent option for our stay. The only advice I would give to guests trying to decide where to stay is to
1. Be mindful of the distance to the mansion. While easily accessible on nicely paved roads, just be mindful that a little extra cash will need to be shelled out to pay for taxis, or bikes should be rented. However, the walk up to the mansion is absolutely beautiful.
2. Keep in mind that there are two options for Stonecliffe; the mansion and the summerhouse. Our original room (before we were upgraded) was in the mansion. While the view was INCREDIBLE, the room is a bit more dated and does not have central AC, which is not really an issue in October, but may be in July. The summerhouse, which may not have the same views as the mansion, does offer large, comfortable, rooms, some of which contain whirlpools, as well as AC. Both options are wonderful, it just depends on what you're looking for in a room.

We are looking forward to spending many future anniversaries enjoying Stonecliffe!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    110
    32
    26
    11
See reviews for
139
244
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munising, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I go to Mackinac each year in October and we try out a different inn or b& b each time. Stoneciffe has been our absolute favorite! If we could have given them 6 stars we would have! It was a very scenic 2 mile ride up to Stonecliffe, you are far away from the hustle and bustle of town, its very quiet and tranquil.

We were worried about having to haul our luggage 2 miles but some one from Stonecliffe met us at the dock and arranged to have it carried up, and delivered to our room. When we checked in the staff was very knowledgeable and told us some excellent places to ride our bikes, and they were beautiful routes! The best part was our room. We were assigned to the "Straights" room at the top of the stairs in the manor. It was huge with high vaulted ceilings, very roomy and a gorgeous view of the Mackinac Bridge (which at night/sunset was epic, we would definitely recommend a bridge view room). It was spotless and very clean. We were impressed.

I was worried about some of the reviews saying it was loud and noisy. They do hold weddings there on the weekend, and i'm sure thats part of the problem, we stayed mid week, and it was very quiet perfect for some down time and relaxation. We brought our bikes so it wasn't much of a hassle as far as getting to and from down town, it was about a 10 min. ride from the main street. We were worried about how it would be riding back at night, we had dinner and drinks and went back later after dark, but there are street lamps all the way up and we didn't have a problem. We were told by the staff that if you don't have bikes it is a $6.50 ride to and from downtown in a carriage. Which isn't terrible considering you would pay just as much for a taxi in the city. And a carriage taxi ride under the stars is much more quaint than a real cab. We will be staying there next year for sure. We had an amazing stay!

Room Tip: Straights Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatalieMalinowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Couldn't have been treated better. The General Mgr Stefanie Congdon was very proud of her Inn. She showed us around the historical mansion, the newer hotel area, pool, gardens and stone cliff. So relaxing to walk the grounds. Impressed that she often stopped ask other guests how they enjoying their stay. The views at Stonecliffe are out of this world. Regarding island accommodations; the beach views and of the bridge are better (than when we visited other Inns) than any other vantage point anywhere on the island. Looking forward to going back and taking advantage of the restaurant (heard about the fabulous chef & staff from other Innkeepers) - which we didn't do this time. Stefanie advised us to visit wonderful places on our bicycles. If it weren't for her enthusiasm, we would not have gone to Ft. Holmes and stopped at some other beautiful points on the paths, or biked nearly as far (whew). Looking forward to next summer and seeing their new renovations - although I like things as old as can be...while my husband enjoys the newest.

Room Tip: If you like the feel of history - choose the mansion. If you like a summer, vacation, newish feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMcD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have treated ourselves every year for the past 10 years to a 2 night-3 day stay at Stonecliff. We have wonderful memories from each trip and have frequently brought friends and family with us. We do not enjoy "tourist traps" which is what most people think about the main street of Mackinac Island. My husband was very hesitant to go at first. However, after finding Stonecliff, we both are hooked! It's secluded and cozy, elegant and homey. The staff have always been wonderful as we've gotten acquainted with many of them. We stay in the same room every time, enjoying the beautiful wooded view while sitting on a 12 foot cushioned window seat! We take our own bikes and love to ride around the top areas of the island and see sites the normal visitors to Mackinac Island never see. We go after Labor Day when it is naturally slower, and when the last ferry leaves the island...ahhh...blissful!

Room Tip: Several to choose from, depending on what you prefer to see out your window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the best kept secret in the island! Beautiful mansion nestled in the heart of the island. Our suite was clean, and quaint, and the staff and management were extremely accommodating and personable. I would definitely stay at the Inn at Stonecliffe when visiting the island again!

Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was the second time I've stayed on Mackinac Island, and this property by far was the best experience. The Inn at Stonecliffe has a great cozy atmosphere, with a beautiful view of the Mackinac Bridge and Lake Michigan. If you're looking for the real Mackinac Island experience, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnastasiaB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We love Mackinac Island and all that it has to offer, including eight Mel's of pristine coastline. The Inn at Stonecliff is a lovely venue if all you want or need is to be isolated. You are a two mile walk/bike/cab ride from town. Don't be fooled by taxis here. You can wait as long as two hours for one to arrive. Rooms ar large and reasonably well appointed, but walls and ceiling are paper thin. You can hear your neighbors and employees all hours of the day or night. Food was as good as you might get at the better restaurants on the island and servers were excellent. Front desk staff often looked and acted harried. The grounds are lovely and the restaurant next door, The Woods, exceelent save for all the trophy animal heads mounted on the wall. If you are looking for isolation, this is the place for you, but bring your ear plugs..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravellerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
893 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
720 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,022 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Property: The Inn at Stonecliffe
Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing