We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Mackinac Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Mackinac Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This Inn has everything: an excellent helpful staff, beautiful property, stunning sunsets, and amazing food! We stayed in the summer house with a wonderful view of the water.The staff at the Stonecliffe went out of their way to make sure our stay was fantastic! For me, this is the perfect place to stay on the island. You can take a quick ride downtown when you are in the mood for shopping or a night out, or you can get away from it all and roam through the expansive gardens which surround the property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RVilleneuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    99
    30
    20
    10
See reviews for
115
214
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Stonecliff on the 24th and 25th of August and our experience was very good. The rooms in the manor house were old-fashioned but clean and everything worked properly. Our room looked right out at the Mackinaw Bridge. The staff was helpful and attentive. The pool was very small but adequate. We rented bikes from the hotel for a very reasonable $5/hr but they were "fixies" so it made going up hills incredibly hard. For dinner we skipped the in house restaurant and walked across the front lawn to the Woods restaurant which was very good as well. The free breakfast the next morning was also definitely good enough to get us going. The only real downside is the hotel is quite far from downtown and the carriage rides take anywhere from 25 to 40 minutes (we took four trips, one took 25, one took 35, two took 40). For people with no need for the downtown area this place is a gem.

Room Tip: Stay in the manor house unless it's during a heat wave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJRobNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Everything was really comfortable and nice. Beautiful view of the Mackinac Bridge. We stayed in a suite in the summer home, which was a slight walk from the main mansion. Beautiful night with shooting stars. Found a half eaten candy bar in the room, that was the only drawback.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duecenewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Inn the week of August 19th. The taxi ride to the Inn from downtown is not 40 minutes but 27 minutes. The horses do rest for about a minute at intervals. The ride is enjoyable as it takes in a part of the island that is more residential and wooded.
We found the Inn charming and were surprised to learn it's historical background. It is part of the estate of Michael Cudahy, of the Patrick Cudahy family.
We had good service with our bags brought to our room after they were off loaded and the food is very good with the service gracious, helpful and friendly.
We would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've been to Mackinac Island many times, but I had never heard of the Inn at Stonecliffe. I bought a package that included a 5-course meal at the Cuhady Chop House. The meal was perhaps the best meal I have ever eaten! Everyone on staff was genuine, friendly, and dedicated to creating an awesome experience. Our room in the summer house was huge, clean, tastefully decorated, and had a large balcony with a great view of the Mackinac Bridge. The Inn is located a short trip from downtown, but we enjoyed the quiet that this setting allowed for. We will definitely return next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethrayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Inn in August, 2013 on our first trip to Mackinac Island. First, the good. The view from the back of the Inn is beautiful with a great view of the Mackinaw Bridge. Our room was large and spacious with a comfortable bed.. Now, the bad. The Inn is not close to town and the ride on the horse drawn carriage takes 40 minutes. Even though you go to the Inn on the Inn's wagon, you still have to pay every time you go to or from town. Since it took so long to get to the Inn, we decided to forego the 40 minute ride back to town for our dinner reservations (and a 40 minute return) and instead eat at the hotel. When we walked into the hotel restaurant around 8 pm, we were told the restaurant was closed. A hotel restaurant that closes at 8 PM? We were sent across the lawn to the Woods Restaurant which is owned by the Grand Hotel. (A separate review)

A hot breakfast is included in the price of the room. The breakfast was perfectly fine although nothing special.
The final bad is that upon arrival, we asked that a bellman bring our bags to the room. We went to our room and waited for some time. Finally, i walked back to the front desk and our bags were still sitting there. We collected them and took them to our room ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard City, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to the Inn for our Anniversary. We stayed in the summer house off to the side of the main Inn. We love the room, included a seating area and 2 outside seating areas on decks. The room and Inn was spotless. All the staff were helpfull and very professional. We definitely would stay here again or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BakerBill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Property: The Inn at Stonecliffe
Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing