We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Stonecliffe where we received excellent service from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Everyone was very helpful and seemed to genuinely care that our needs were being met. We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor of the manor house which had a pleasantly old-fashioned feel to it, including the claw foot bathtub in the bathroom. (There was also a separate shower.) Our room overlooked the expansive front lawn and it was wonderful to hear the clip-clop of horses' hooves as the horse-drawn taxi arrived at various times during the day. The view from the portico is breathtaking and we enjoyed appetizers and drinks there while relaxing and taking in the view. The breakfast was delicious and since we had perfect weather, we were able to enjoy it on the patio with a great view of the water. The manor house is old and charming and off the beaten path, so if you are looking for something brand new or in the heart of town, this is not the place for you. If, on the other hand, you enjoy getting away from the crowds downtown, this is a wonderful place to stay. We have stayed in many locations on Mackinac Island but now plan to stay exclusively at Stonecliffe.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Stonecliffe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 493 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

if you are looking for a beautiful room to live in with an exquisite view.the inn at stone cliff is the place to be.. our room the wood castle was very large and beautiful with a luxurious bathroom :)
the closet was large too...the only drawback is no airconditioning :( ...but that is what will give you the real old world charm... the buffet breakfast has really good breakfast options and the baked goods are amazing..loved the breakfast..the views from the hotel are to die for..no wonder so many people want to get married there...there was a marriage party there when we went..but it wasn't noisy at all...the walk from the inn to the market street is pretty good...you get to see a lots of flora and fauna on the way and if lucky you might catch glimpses of little bunny rabbits hoping along across the road... the hotel provides pretty good luggage service too..we checked out at 11 am and went over to the market but our luggage was sent over straight to the ferry services and we were able to pick up our luggage at the ferry docks in mackinaw city :)) ..the beauty os this place is ..each room is different from the other..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed over Memorial Day weekend this year. I chose this hotel because it was out of town and because the reviews were great. Perhaps becuase I travel often for work and see many different hotel rooms, I was not overly impressed by our room in the Summer House. I made sure to pay extra for the Lakeview room with a balcony. You can kind of see the lake from the room. Not a big deal, though. The bathroom setup was a little weird, in that the sink was the sink for the kitchenette. Not a big deal, either, but the lighting could be improved. My makeup was rather heavy since I couldn't see how much I was applying until I got outside. The tv was small, but we didn't come to the island to watch tv, so that was fine, too. The mattress was just ok. Don't expect a Hilton mattress when you come here. The shower was just ok, too. I didn't like the shower head, but I am a little picky about things like that.

The grounds were beautiful and I would imagine that the pool is a good lounging place when the weather is warmer. Breakfast in the mansion was good, especially since it was included in the cost of the room. The staff was very helpful, especially the dining staff and the baggage handlers.

Overall, I think it's a fine place to stay. I haven't stayed at other places on the island, so maybe my expectations are too high. You can't beat the view, though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raeleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Travel to Mackinac has been a wish for many years. So for the full experiencen, we decided to stay and dine at the Inn at Stonecliff on 6/11/12. The folks were friendly, especially the manager. The grounds and buildings were cool, especially if your imatingtion could take you back to its hayday.
We stayed in the Islander Room, third floor, large room, 90 degrees when we walked in, to find a small box fan! We noticed that we were the only people staying on the 3rd floor, maybe because the second floor was significantly cooler. On one assencion I overheard an employee say "those are the people staying on the top floor", with a tone indicating concern. We worked out the heat, as we fitted the box fan into a window, where the cob webs filtered out the misquitos and gnats.

Room Tip: If you are from the south, stay somewhere else, or go in the Fall!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for your comments. With Mackinac Island being located in northern Michigan, weather temperatures are very unpredictable. The week of June 11 was unseasonably hot on the island and without air conditioning in the Mansion, the rooms can get warm. Stonecliffe does offer a second type of guestroom in the Summer House (a more modern hotel room with air conditioning) and we hope if you find yourselves traveling back to the area, you might try a Summer House room next time. Thank you for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Inn is beautifully located on the bluffs. Rooms are spacious and complimentary hot and cold breakfast is good. Thje views are spectacular and staff polite and cheery.Some things customers should know are: You will be 2 miles from town and in the woods. The horse shuttle is not free. Breakfast starts @ 8 am (late for some) Their were many young families there when we stayed so its not just a couples place. The Summer House behind the mansion is more modern. Their is a restaurant on premises bit it is pricey. The mansion is really like a B&B. Alert for seniors: the tubs are the old high claw foot with the older shower curtain wall on them. We stayed on the 3rd floor and thir was a spiral staircase to navigate .These were not issues for us but others may find them problematic.Breakfast porter was very charming and helpful. This was our first stay in Mackinac Island. We biked the mansion to town several times a day. Their are rental bikes on premises but some steep hills to navigate-wear a helmet! Yes the rooms are spotless but our bathroom could use a baseboard painting and tub refinish.

Room Tip: be aware thar rooms in the mansion have no a/c only ceiling fams and a portable box fan if needed. w...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for selecting the Inn at Stonecliffe as your first Mackinac Island experience. Yes, we are 1 1/2 miles from the downtown area, but our guests seem to enjoy the relaxing horse drawn carriage ride or biking themselves up to the Inn. Mackinac Island Carriage Tours owns and operates all of the horse drawn carriages on the island and they do charge a fee for their service. We are family friendly and you will find couples and families enjoying the Inn especially during the summer months. With two different guestroom products to offer, guests do get to pick between a traditional bed & breakfast type room without air conditioning (the mansion was built in 1904) or a more modern hotel room in the Summer House (a suite with air conditioning) at time of reservation based upon availability. We hope you enjoyed your first visit to the island and we hope to have you stay at Stonecliffe again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Wow! What an experience!! The Inn is absolutely lovely and the staff beyond compare. We were treated like royalty and always greeted with a friendly "hello" and offers of assistance (if needed) from the housekeeping to the managment staff. We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and returned to our beautiful room to find a heart made out of towels and fresh flower petals placed on our bed. It was such a thoughtful gesture....over and above.
Oh, and the breakfast every morning was fantastic. This is one of the most beautiful, friendly and spotless places we have ever stayed. We will be back! Thank you all for a most memorable anniversary.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for selecting Stonecliffe to celebrate your anniversary and it was our pleasure to have you as our guest. I will share your kind words with our housekeeping staff, culinary staff and management. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Scenery around the Inn is fabulous, as well as the patio, and breakfast food. Rooms were extremely clean, much to delight of a clean freak like myself. We wished we could have gotten a better deal on a different room for our third night, so we left the Inn to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Got2beGlued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for visiting the Inn at Stonecliffe. June was a very popular month this year and I'm sorry we could not accommodate an additional night's stay during this visit. We look forward to having you as our guest again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
970 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
726 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
252 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $221 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing