We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Original”
Review of May's Candy Shop

May's Candy Shop
Ranked #8 of 10 Dessert in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The oldest, family operated fudge shop in the USA, with 6 Generations of candy makers! The only place that has the Famous Mackinac Fudge® on Mackinac Island, Michigan! Stop by and try a free sample!
Florissant, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
187 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“The Original”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This place looks the part and lives up to its billing. I felt like I was going back in time walking into the shop. This is in a building (with several other shops) that is visited on the carriage tour (which I also recommend). The lady that helped us was very accommodating and friendly. She gave us a good deal on the fudge. We bought several boxes. Tasty stuff. I nursed mine for weeks afterwards. Hey, you can't come to Mackinac Island and not get some of that famous fudge!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorsalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best fudge on the island”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I first had fudge at May's 52 years ago and the quality has been top notch ever since. These people still make their fudge with the same quality ingredients. And the "Monsters" - you can't get them anywhere else and they will make you want to return to the island just to get them. I am not a peanut brittle lover but my friends say it is great and try to convince me that I am really missing something. If you need anything special just talk to Lee and he will do his best to accommodate you. This family has been making fudge for more years than I have been alive (and that is quite a while) and it shows in the pride they take in turning out a quality product. Decadent and delicious.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just another fudge shop”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

They all look the same. Too bad they couldn't distinguish themselves from the others. We sampled the fudge at several fudge shops on the island....in my opinion they all tasted the same. Average fudge at exorbitant prices (even though they try to make it seem like a deal...buy 4 get 1 free!) And there is a fudge shop about every three doors on Main St.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AimeeT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome fudge!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

lot's of choices for fudge. Go to May's first! Everyone very friendly. They will sample anything you want before you buy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Fudge and Peanut Brittle!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We've been buying fudge and peanut brittle at May's for as long as I can remember - it's always the best!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlabid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May's Candy Shop also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to May's Candy Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing