We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chianti

Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lcated inside Mission Point Resort
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

My husband and I went to dinner with 3 other couples to celebrate our long-standing friendships. The wait staff was very attentive without being overbearing. They enjoyed our celebration so much, they almost joined in with us and did all they could to make it a special evening. We were even given small glasses of champagne at no charge to toast our friendships. Some at our table had steak, some had pasta, some had fish, I had chicken. All meals were excellent, and pricing was very reasonable. It was a wonderful evening and we will return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SHV49090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    36
    15
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The service is fantastic, I just wish the food was. ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is so elegant I thought that we were in for some incredible food. Sadly we weren't. The spaghetti and meatballs we ordered for my daughter looked disgusting. My husband described the meatballs as the consistency of cat food. He also didn't enjoy his chicken parmesan. My veggies and pasta in a light garlic olive oil sauce was edible but nothing worth remembering.

The service is great!! Everyone was extremely friendly. There was an incredible piano player that made up for the food.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jaclyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, overpriced, and weird atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

It's a high-end expensive restaurant peopled mostly by families in shorts and flip flops. The spaghetti and alfredo were very tasty and reasonably priced, but many other items seemed off the charts (at least for a place that is peopled mostly by families in shorts and flip flops, though they try valiantly to pretend to be age and dress restricted they are neither). Also there appeared to be no waiters, just an overworked maitre'd and a number of people randomly, and inconsistently, filling water glasses. The dinner wine was good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CedarPointFanMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at Chianti's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had a delicious meal there this past week. The steak dish and the chicken were done very well. Thanks to them for a great dining experience. The early special was a great deal. Loved visiting the tower on Mission point while there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The difference between night and day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We had two meals at Chianti: dinner on the night we arrived and breakfast the next morning.

Dinner was lovely. We sat outside on a beautiful evening. The waiter was attentive and informative. Both our meals were nicely presented and were prepared to our liking. The price was a bit high but we enjoyed the meal. Piano music in the background set a nice tone for a memorable dinner.

We did not buy breakfast as part of our package but thought the idea of a buffet prepared by the chefs who feed us the previous night was a winning proposition. What a mistake.

At night Chianti was a quiet classy place to eat. Somehow in the morning it transformed into a junior high school mess hall. It took a long time to get seated, even more time to get a waiter's attention. The multiple waiters who eventually came our way to clear plates couldn't get an order for two teas right within a 15 minute span. The omelets were adequate, but the rest of the buffet was downright lame. Bleached fruit, badly cooked mounds of bacon, potatoes, Yada Yada. I've had better breakfast at a Best Western on a freeway to nowhere.

So, consider Chianti for dinner but run away, far away, for breakfast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DutchCanuck_DX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chianti also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing