We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and poor condition”

The Jewel at the Grand Hotel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jewel is one of the most unique courses in the United States. Enjoy unparalleled scenic beauty, lush landscaping and meticulously manicured tees, fairways and greens. The Grand nine is located across the street from the hotel, with views of Lake Huron and Round Island. The Woods nine is set in the interior of Mackinac Island, with views of the Mackinac Bridge and the Upper Peninsula.After completing the Grand nine, you and your clubs will be transported via horse-drawn carriage a mile and a half to the Woods nine. The leisurely 15-minute ride includes parts of the island unseen by many visitors.The Grand nine was built in 1901 and redesigned in 1987 by golf course architect Jerry Matthews. He also designed the Woods nine, added in 1994. Jason Horricks, a PGA Certified Instructor, is available for private lessons. The Jewel is open to the public. Rental clubs, golf carts and pull carts are available.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor condition”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I played this course in mid-June. It is basically an executive style course with 3 par 3's and 6 very short par 4's. The course was in pretty rough condition with several fairway areas burned out and one green unplayable due to weather damage. The course is tight with small, tricky greens. With the exception of one, the greens were in good condition. This course is way overpriced for the quality of the course. I like to play new courses so I'm glad to have played it once but would not go back again at the prices charged. The views are excellent but you can get those same views at other places on the island without having to pay too much for golf.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
594 reviews
308 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A fabulous and famous hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

A lovely old place which lives up to its name. High end, over-the-top décor, nice linens, best housekeeper in the world, TRACY, great food in a well-run dining room. Two reasons I am not giving five stars: Unfriendly and unhelpful concierge staff (they work to avoid eye contact with guests) AND people are stationed outside to ask you if you are actually staying there. This is because they don't want to be bombarded by non-guests, which I understand, but I was asked three times in seven minutes if I were a guest or not. I suggested that they issue bracelets for this purpose. Wonderful front desk manager and guest services manager. We had one of the Astor suites on the 4th floor and it was fabulous.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank heyjudithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Phila., OHio
Level Contributor
213 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Moment Back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

The luncheon buffet in this beautiful hotel was a wonderful moment back in time. The hotel is so beautifully maintained and the buffet was abundant and delicious. Even though there were "100s" of Girl Scouts there that day eating lunch with us, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A self guided tour of the hotel was also enjoyable. The grounds were lovely and walking them gave you a chance to fully appreciate the façade of the hotel.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank luvtogogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

It was an absolutely beautiful course. The first 9 holes are completely different from the second 9, but that added to our enjoyment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim-Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun golf, with a horse cart ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is a very scenic and well-maintained course and not overly challenging, which suited us. A leisurely, enjoyable horse cart takes you from the front to the back nine--unique!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jewel at the Grand Hotel also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Jewel at the Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing