We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Golf course”

The Jewel at the Grand Hotel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jewel is one of the most unique courses in the United States. Enjoy unparalleled scenic beauty, lush landscaping and meticulously manicured tees, fairways and greens. The Grand nine is located across the street from the hotel, with views of Lake Huron and Round Island. The Woods nine is set in the interior of Mackinac Island, with views of the Mackinac Bridge and the Upper Peninsula.After completing the Grand nine, you and your clubs will be transported via horse-drawn carriage a mile and a half to the Woods nine. The leisurely 15-minute ride includes parts of the island unseen by many visitors.The Grand nine was built in 1901 and redesigned in 1987 by golf course architect Jerry Matthews. He also designed the Woods nine, added in 1994. Jason Horricks, a PGA Certified Instructor, is available for private lessons. The Jewel is open to the public. Rental clubs, golf carts and pull carts are available.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Golf course”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well kept, and nice views of Island. Would come back to Mackinaw just for the golf course. When you golf the back nine, you'll take a horse drawn carriage which was unique. Last tee time for 18 holes is around 1:30 so plan accordingly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
497 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“One of a Kind”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Delightful short course, a must for golfers! We love the Jewel for it's layout and of course the scenery is fantastic. The restaurant/bar at the beginning to the course is a must!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First time ever on the golf course”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a lesson by the pro at the Jewel and got great tips and then played our first ever round of golf. We enjoyed it and found the course not too difficult and very well cared for.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank flufferton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bucket List Thing”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nostalgic course and beautiful views from both the front and back nines. The front nine is very tight. Keep your driver in your bag. The back nine opens up somewhat. Very nice conditions. I'm sure they get heavy play, so my compliments to the course maintenance staff. Due to it's location it is expensive. Bring your camera and take some photos. The 25 minute carriage ride to the back was enjoyable. At the back nine you can purchase a boxed lunch, but I don't recommend it. Better to put some munchies in your bag. On the way back, ask the driver to go by the homes on the west bluff. It was a very nice detour that does not take any longer. One complaint, the pace of play on the front nine was very slow. I was told the staff let 2 groups of six play together. They must have only played nine holes as the back opened up and pace of play was better.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“the jewel - woods”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We only played the back nine, the woods. We didn't want to golf for 4 hours, so playing only nine was a nice compromise. The carriage ride out to the starter was pleasant, and allowed for some sightseeing along the way. The return ride was not organized and we ended up paying for a return taxi back to the grand hotel.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jewel at the Grand Hotel also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Jewel at the Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing