We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“20th anniversary trip”
Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“20th anniversary trip”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Booked our rooms on line at the Murray and other than the size of the room being a tad small, really liked this hotel. The rooms were very clean friendly and helpful staff, in house breakfast buffet and mexican restaurant in house for lunch if you wanted. Beautiful patio and small spa pool heated for chilly nights. Would recommend if you are looking for something right in the middle of everything. Location was perfect. On the waterfront, fudge is sold in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspbonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    98
    44
    6
    5
See reviews for
68
120
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fine. The location is great! Though the rooms are small and not the most spectacular on the island, the location, service, quietness and excellent fudge make up for the slight weaknesses.

Regarding the breakfast buffet, it's ok. Nothing great. But, to feed two adults and a child, it was only $20. Cheaper than paying for breakfast at a restaurant on the island. The buffet included scrambled eggs, French toast, bacon, greasy sausage, cereal, yogurt in a big bowl, mixed fruit in a bowl, juice, and milk. Typical of a hotel breakfast.

Price of hotel? It was $250 for a two bed room. Yes, expensive. However, what hotel on the island isn't? You can always stay on the mainland. But, I recommend you stay on the island.

Would I stay at the Murray again? Simple, yes. However, next time my family and I stay on the island, I might have us stay at another hotel to expand the experience and compare.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatBkEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the Murray Hotel Sept. 6-7. Had a great time on the Island, I hadn't been there in 40 years. The location of the Murray Hotel is fantastic! Right in the middle of the downtown area. The nightlife is close and the people watching is great. You are right across the street from the Arnold's boat docks and the largest bike rental on the island. Good breakfast buffett, not great!! Rooms are what you should expect in a Hotel of this age. The rooftop, huge hot tub was great fun. All in all a very good time!!

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor rooms on the front of the building to get view of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at Murray Hotel Aug. 30-31 (Friday and Saturday nights). Took advantage of upgrade to waterfront view, added on the boat/fudge/breakfast package. Room was clean, bed was very comfortable but pillows too hard. We used the Arnold Line for transportation and its dock was directly across from the hotel. Hot breakfast included eggs, sausage, bacon, french toast, oatmeal — adquate but nothing fancy. Used pool/hot tub located on second floor after a day of bike riding! The staff was friendly, accommodating to our needs. We made plans less than a week ahead and found only a couple places available, but were satisfied with the Murray.

Room Tip: Chose room 314 on end of floor facing the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElsieMae1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Accross the street from Bike rental & Harley Davidson store.

+ Small but quant rooms. Clean rooms. Drapes over bed were nice touch. Friendly staff. And you fresh bakes cookies are left in your room after the maid tidy’s up for you. Love hearing the horses trot down main street, much nicer sounding than a car. And there is cable TV with local history channel.

- No phone in the room. Thin walls, can almost clearly hear neighbors talk. One elevator.

I liked the old, historic feel. I felt regal staying here :)

Room Tip: The rooms on main street side are farthest from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HNS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the creaky stairs to the bygone era pictures on the walls this is the place to stay if you want to go back in time. It does have an elevator and a "pool//spa" for more modern touch. We stayed in a "deluxe" water-front view room that measured no more than 10' x 20' with nothing "deluxe" about it. The best I can say is that it was right "downtown" , not far from all the shops, restaurants, bicycle rental places and horse-drawn carriage rides.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterrabit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Arrived at Murray Hotel on Aug. 13, 2013. When made reservation over phone specifically asked about sink in the room, as opposed to a full bathroom (sink in bathroom). Was told if paid the extra charge for Deluxe room the sink would be in the bathroom. Needless to say it wasn't. The worst part is that when I complained and explained that I had been given misinformation over the phone when making reservation, all the manager kept saying is "I'm sorry." Didn't offer to reduce price of room to lower rate, or even to comp a buffet breakfast Nothing! It's not like this is a inexpensive hotel, it is very pricey, as most hotels on mackinac island are. I expected better service from such a high-priced establishment. Customer satisfaction is key these days as people are much more information savvy. Management shouldn't allow a paying customer to walk away disgruntled. Only nice thing was the porter at the dock was very attentive and helpful.
I won't be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the pool and on an upper floor. Hotel guest using the pool can look right i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Property: Murray Hotel
Address: 7260 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Mackinac Island
Murray Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing