We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Tradition on the Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Family Tradition on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My family and I make a trip Mackinac Island almost every summer. Staying at the Murray hotel is a staple. The staff is incredibly helpful. The rooms can be small however on the Island there is so much to do outside it doesn't bother us. There are food options within the hotel and nearby. We love this place and have many great summer vacation memories here. Fun fact: There is a picture of Hilary Clinton photoshopped into one of the photos in the lobby area...we always look for it, and get a chuckle out of it every time :-)

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Spartan621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    96
    44
    6
    5
See reviews for
68
117
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel makes you feel like you're back in time. I do find the rooms a bit clashed in their fabric choices and their wallpaper, but it adds to its old character. The staff was friendly. We were upgraded just because we were the first ones of the season to come (I think that's why). The room was basic. It was a nice stay. It's right by the Arnold Ferry, so it's right on main street and easy to get to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desifoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our family of four stayed at the Murray Hotel last July for two nights. We had a corner room, which was a nice size, facing their courtyard area. We never heard any of the street noise. The beds were comfortable and the room clean. We did the breakfast buffet, which was nice because my boys are big eaters! But, what makes this hotel stand out is the staff! Everyone was nice, courteous and helpful!! Whenever we had a question, they took the time to answer. And we all loved the warm cookies at bedtime! If we ever make it back to Mackinac Island from Louisiana, we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have not yet stayed in this hotel, but I did have the opportunity this year to enjoy the restaurant inside Amigo Burrito. The portion was huge, and really very good. I love Mexican food, and this was the real deal. Think I spent no more than $7, and probably had the best meal I'd had in days. The hotel is very pretty and offers a laid back atmosphere for dinning. One thing I did to entertain myself, other than devouring my burrito was reading the stenciled quotes on the walls. Murray Hotel also has the best fudge on the island as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbortner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Murray Hotel was right smack in the middle of town where everything was going on day and night. The employees were outstanding and are well trained in taking care of their guest on the spot. We did love the freshly baked cookies and the smell of fudge. What a place to stay especially on Mackinac Island in the summer. I would recommend this hotel because of location, service, and prices which were acceptable comparing other rates on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kalafffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcat26
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed on the island multiple times, but this was my first stay at the Murray. We made this reservation at the last minute. Therefore, the choice of hotels was limited. That being said, we were happy with our stay. The staff was very friendly, and chocolate chip cookies are delivered to the rooms every night. The room was dated and small, but nice and appeared fairly clean aside from the carpets . Also the bed was quite comfortable. When I say “small” I mean that there is barely room to walk around the bed, and the bathroom was the exact width of our shower stall. The sink was actually in the bedroom. So, if you like lounging around your room, be sure to upgrade to something with more space. My biggest issue with this hotel was the noise. BRING EARPLUGS! The walls are paper thin and there is a gap running around the door so light pours in from the hallway. You will hear everything. The first night there were some noisy people down the hall and I barely slept. I cannot comment on breakfast other than to say there is an additional charge, which is why we went elsewhere. We did not use the hot tub, but it looked very nice. All in all this would not be my first choice on the island. However, I would be willing to stay here again. It is a nice budget friendly hotel on Mackinac Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We gave stayed on the island several times but this was our first at the Murray Hotel and it won't be our last. We loved the charm of the 100 plus building. Our room was very clean as was the whole hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Truly feels like home away from home. Each night they come around with freshly made cookies to your door. In the lobby coffee/tea/hot chocolate served all day with donuts. Their fudge is the best and lots of different kinds. I loved the snickers and coconut the best. Looking forward to our next visit. Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank other154974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Property: Murray Hotel
Address: 7260 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Mackinac Island
Murray Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing