We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great location, just a bit small.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location, just a bit small.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in August for two nights and were happy with the stay. We chose a patio view room which was small and we were told that upon booking. No secrets were kept on the size so we knew what we were getting into. The only problem we had with the room was the darkness due to the window view. We had a corner room with a window looking directly into the corner. Not a big deal as we spent the $ for a cheaper room and didn't expect a view. Room was clean and we did receive cookies each night. They also have the days doughnuts for the taking sitting on the reception counter ( no free fudge though:( ). We did not try any meals there at the dining facilities although it appeared good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregandkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    96
    44
    6
    5
See reviews for
68
117
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was my 2nd stay at the Murray. The hotel is very clean and manager was very friendly and accommodating. The spa pool was great in the evening. The location is great. I wouldn't recommend the breakfast, but it was certainly cheap enough. They are one of the few places that don't require a 2 night stay, and they have air conditioning.

Room Tip: The queen rooms are very small. The main street is noisy on weekend nights, so staying in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We got what we paid for. The Murray seems to have the most reasonable rates on the island. Rooms are very small which is normal for the island. Hotel was clean, most of the staff seemed friendly. I would skip the breakfast, much better options nearby for the same price. Overall, a good value for the money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAmy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheboygan, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

You can book a room for one night, an advantage than some of the other hotels, that now require 2 or more nights. The room is Victorian, and that is the norm on Mackinac Island. The service was terrific, and they have a little front porch that is fun to sit at in the late evening and watch main street.

The downsides of this hotel are the greatly inflated prices, as are most hotel stays on the Island, which is a shame. More tourists leave because the stays are so expensive. Yet enough stay so that these establishments keep their prices extremely inflated. Much more value is to stay in Mackinac City or Cheboygan.

Case in point, even though a room for two was well over $200 for one week night in July, the continental breakfast offered would still cost us $5 each, instead of their normal charge of $9. Whoopee. We pay over $200, and can't get a complimentary breakfast? We decided to eat at the Chuckwagon instead, a great restaurant visited by locals here, and with great service and prices. Unlike the prices of this hotel.

The only reason I gave this hotel a better rating was the employees were great, the reservation person was super, and there were no complaints for the accommodations - the rooms have air conditioning, which I have heard some of the other hotels don't even offer! The spa pool was good too, for those who like a unique spa type pool with a neat waterfall.

We won't be back though, unless the prices are more reasonable, which I doubt will happen with the demand during peak summer months. We cannot justify paying that kind of money for one night, when there is so much else to spend money on in the area.

Room Tip: Swimming pool is actually a spa pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soub7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Iowa
Level Contributor
231 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

A late July visited proved what was expected, the Murray is still one of the best values on the Island. Built less then a 100 yards from the Arnold dock makes it simple to grab your luggage and hoofed it to the Murray thereby circumventing the usual wait for a porter. (save the worry as to how much of a tip to offer too) I've stayed at the Murray off and on for the last twenty-five years and it has never disappointed. A very good price, clean rooms, centrally located and friendly service makes this hotel a great initial spot to first discover Mackinac Island. If you are counting pennies a few tips ; the pizza joint, a few doors to the right of the Murry offers the best price for both couples and large families. Bike rentals are standardized in prices so really no need to shop around. (Peddle clockwise if you intend to bike the island, and DO NOT turn inland at the British Landing) A great place to dodge the masses is the Ice House behind the Island House hotel, just a short walk pass the fort on the main street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augustleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Murray for 3 nights over the 4th of July (2 rooms, family of 5). One of our rooms overlooked the back of the hotel and had a pretty 'village' view; the other overlooked the pool area and wasn't as nice to be honest. Check-in was very easy, and our luggage arrived from the ferry within 10 minutes of us arriving. Rooms and baths were clean, a little dated but then, you are on a historic island, I don't expect it to be uber-modern! Location was great - there was a place to rent bicycles right across the street. After checking out the other options, especially since we needed 2 rooms, the price was quite good. You get a discount on the fudge in the lobby if you are staying here. There is also free coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 24 hours near the lobby and some tables there to hang out at as a family if you want to play cards or whatever. The breakfast buffet was cheap, but, um, you get what you pay for. We only ate there the first morning and then ate elsewhere after that. The outdoor hot tub is pretty big and has a nice deck around it to read or whatever, but no view and that's what you are here for, so we didn't spend much time there. It is adults only after 9 pm until it closes at 10 pm, but that didn't seem to be enforced and kids were all well-behaved so no one seemed to care.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for one that faces the streets and not the pool area, although we saw some of the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a-traveling-I-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at the Murray during the Chicago to Mackinac race 7/22 - 24. The room (312) was musty smelling and needed a deep cleaning. Prior to the trip our son broke his ankle so we needed to cancel 1 day of our stay and dealing with the front desk person was not productive. Finally we asked to speak to the manager and were informed we would only be refunded "IF" our room was rented. The rest of the staff we encountered were friendly. I only received the free cookies 1 of the nights, it was yummy. The pool (big hot tub) area was very nice. I can't say that it is my favorite place to stay on the island but it is reasonable and centrally located.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 312, has a great view of the Harbor, although the first Arnold Ferry arrives and soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diver323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Property: Murray Hotel
Address: 7260 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Mackinac Island
Murray Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing