We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We found this hotel to be a bit worn for $300 a night. But that seems to be the minimum going rate on the main strip. The staff were nice to us, but we were a bit shocked to witness a female front desk employee put a card over her mouth in an obvious, adolescent attempt to hide a remark she was making to her colleague. It may not have been about any of the guests her colleague was dealing with, but it was extremely rude and very obvious! Staff should be trained to politely excuse themselves for a moment and deal with issues more discreetly and professionally. Other than that, the rooms were big but a bit dark and dingy. The bathrooms were very big, very spartan and very beige. Paint, detailing and some better lighting would do wonders here. Also had the same impression of Goodfellows restaurant located next door. Go for a walk to eat, there are lots of choices along the Main Street.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Acornart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the Lake View because it came recommended and had a pool, which is a plus for our kids. The room was nice, and clean when we checked in. The staff was polite and helpful.... But apparently only within their limited scope. Outside the box, they apparently lose their ability. On our first morning, we left our room about 10:15am. We left the "service needed" tag on the door, so the staff would know we had left. We returned to the room at 7:00pm to an unmade room, and the "service needed" tag still visible on the door. On the way to dinner about 7:10, I stopped by the front desk to request that they make up the room. The desk clerk checked his records and indicated that the room was noted to not have been cleaned. He explained that sometimes the door tag shifts on the handle and appears to be reading " privacy please". He indicated that the cleaning staff leaves at 3:00, but he would get someone on it right away. Sorry to say, I believed him. We returned to the room at 9:00, and the room was still unmade. I called the front desk, and received a different clerk. She indicated that he cleaning staff had already left. I told her that this should have been resolved two hours before and that I need clean towels, trash emptied, beds made, and now the toilet needed fixed. In a few minutes, a staff member appeared with clean towels, and no clue that anything else needed done. POOR COMMUNICATION AT THE FRONT DESK!!!! After a few minutes conversation with the staff member, and a $10, he assured me he would do everything, just give him 20 minutes. Kudo's for him. Perhaps he should be given the front desk job.
After leaving him in the room to get things cleaned up, I stopped by the front desk to change a $50... For more tip money? ... They informed me that they didn't have that kind of change! I was dumbfounded. I curtly expressed my dissatisfaction and reminded them of the room cleaning situation and that we had received nothing but POOR SERVICE from the front desk. They had no apologies or comments. I went to the bar to get my change.
I was astounded how these people could not put the customer first and get a simple situation solved quickly or without incident. Perhaps they have too many customers that accept poor service... What a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sswonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We try to go every year to the island and we stay at the Lakeview hotel. We love the historic atmosphere of the place. It is not an updated hotel so don't expect the Ritz. Great location right across the street from the starline ferry. We love the indoor pool and hot tub. The view of the lake and street fun is great!!! We always try to hang out on the 2nd or 3rd floor front porch or on the awesome front porch!! Best nights of sleep in a long time...love the beds!!! We love Byron who takes care of our bags...thanks Byron!!

Room Tip: Choose a front room if you like to people watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank placestogopeopletose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay! It was steps away from Sheplers ferry. The staff was helpful and accommodating. The continental breakfast was very nice with the option to add an omelet made to order for only $5 additional it was delicious and economical!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCVitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

During a recent trip to Mackinac Island we stayed at the Lake View. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We are used to mew modern resorts and this was the first historic hotel we have stayed at.
Check in was a breeze. The hotel is right across from the ferry and the hotel brought the bags from the ferry to our room. Be prepared to tip the bell man otherwise he will pretend to take a phone call and say "I am working really hard here" and try and guilt trip you into a tip.
The room was spacious and had a nice bed. The a/c in the room was poor but you could at least open the windows. The shower was clean and maid service did a good job everyday.
The lobby was beautiful and comfortable to have a couple drinks in at the end of a long day. I would recommend this hotel because of the location, good service and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank racer525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! It is right across the street from the boat landing….and the hotel porters will bring your luggage – right to your room…no need to drag the bags yourself. The rooms are fairly large and clean, and since we needed 3 rooms for our extended family, we got rooms close together and looking down over the pool. We thought…oh dear! It’s going to be loud. But, it was not. People were in the pool, hot tub, and the steam room, but the noise didn’t permeate our rooms. The beds were comfortable, and we were tired from the haunted night tour, so we slept well.
The huge veranda is very inviting, and you can sit and watch the world go by. There is no stuffiness here…just friendly people. There is also a game/gathering room which we made use of for board games while indulging in the Island staple: fudge! The price was quite reasonable for a resort area at peak leaf-peeping time - $116 for a room with 2 queen beds – non-smoking.
When we were leaving - after we checked out, there was lots of time left before the boat departure, so the hotel stored our luggage for us until we got back ready to board.
Within the Inn, there is a restaurant called Goodfellows where we had the most deliciously yummy prime rib! We were sitting at the bar, and the bartender let us order our meal to eat right at the bar. Usually bars do not accommodate diners… but they did for us – all 6 of us! And yes, we all had prime rib.
If you’re going to Mackinac Island… and I would recommend it – spring, summer or fall – any time is good…just not winter – the Island is closed. It is a step back in time, yet every modern amenity is available. Take the haunted historical night tour….the stories are fascinating. And you have to taste the fudge! So many varieties…so many calories…
Would definitely recommend the hotel to any and all comers.

Room Tip: Since we had rooms in the front, and found no problems with noise, I'd say any room would do. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $179 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing