We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Loogootee, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was very disappointed with this hotel. I have never stayed in a hotel room this small before. There is a bed of course, but other than that there was one chair (simiiar to one in a doctor's office) and that is it. We tried to cancel the rest of our reservation but couldn't, due to the fact we have reserved our room thru a third party (expedia). Our room also was about 80 degrees overnight and we couldn't sleep because of it. Apparently the little air conditioner that sits on the floor wasn't hooked properly. I had read the reviews beforehand, but just didn't see what others had positively commented on. I would go back to Mackinac Island, but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake_View_James, Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I would like to extend my apologies that we were unable to resolve this guest issue during their stay.

The guest in question was upgraded to a lake view room at their request, and I agree that some of our lake view rooms are smaller as they are in the original (150 year old) portion of the hotel. We did move them on the third night to a larger room.

The airconditioner was incorrectly installed for this guests first evening but as soon as they informed us we corrected it immediately and it has been functioning correctly ever since.

There are many fine hotels on Mackinac Island, and I hope this reviewer has the opportunity to come back and finds a property that is more inline with what they are looking for.

They are welcome to contact me at anytime to discuss their stay and if there is anything I can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    247
    74
    33
    17
See reviews for
374
278
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Salem, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Being just at the end of the busy strip of shops and dining makes the Lake View a perfect hotel to enjoy the island. The staff is friendly. The lobby is great for hanging out to visit, play cards and use the free wifi (there is a charge from your room). The porch is fabulous for relaxing. The is a very nice indoor pool. It's very busy in the evening but not so during the day. Rooms are small but quaint. Highly recommend the Lake View.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindaatlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The good: clean room, comfortable bed, quiet, nice pool & hot tub area, located at the edge of town on main street. The staff was friendly & helpful & it's located across the street from ferrydocks. They have a nice front porch and decks on all floors with plenty of rocking chairs.

The bad: very small room. We had a king room & there was literally just 3 feet around the bed. Add a portable air conditioner on the floor that we found ourselves stumbling over. We also had to navigate the hospitality carts, 3 of them, that had permanent parking just outside our door.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHAM2550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here two years prior and enjoyed it, we tried it again.

The indoor pool was the big draw, no where else on the island has one.

Rooms are older but have been modernized. I think it is one of the oldest on the island.

It's clean and staff is friendly.

Given another season opener sale, we'd go back again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MolonLabe1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hotel is situatied in a beautiful building, right on main street walking distance from the ferry. Was able to relax after a long bike race in the pool/hottub/sauna located in the center of the hotel. The atrium and lobby is meticulously maintained. Rooms are decent size and for $60 extra you can get a larger room. Beds are nice and room was very clean. Friendly people and the Goodfellas restaurant we had a fantastic steak dinner. Breakfast was included, but not very special.

Room Tip: Add $60 to get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walter_sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have been coming to Mackinac Island for over 15 years and have stayed at many of the inns and hotels on the island and this is our new favorite. First of all if you have children you can't beat the fact that the place has an indoor pool and hot tub for relaxing and playing after all the walking and fun on the island or if you run into nasty weather. Secondly, I have to say that from the staff at the front desk to the housekeepers, we received superior customer service and attention. The beds are amazingly comfortable ! Shockingly our early bird children who normally wake up at 6 every morning had to be pulled out of bed each morning at 9. The beds are plush and not too soft nor too firm. The housekeepers kept our rooms (we had two) spotless as well as they kept the common areas pristine as well. I do recommend getting a lake view room. It is most certainly well worth the additional charge. The only real eye soar in the rooms might be the box heater/Ac unit ( time for new ones... they are ugly and a bit loud) Other than that this hotel is wonderful. Perfect location on main street located across from the Star line and Shepler's ferry, and one block or so from Arnold Ferry. The continental breakfast included in the restaurant adjacent to the hotel is average but sufficient to get your day started on the island( frozen waffles, toast, cereal, English muffins, bananas, apples, oranges, and juice. ( But do save your appetite for the absolute best burger located at the Chuckwagon ) Great porch to relax on at the hotel as well. You won't go wrong staying here !

Room Tip: Don't choose any room located above the Goodfellows b... as on the weekends it gets loud and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AABTK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had to have maintenance to our room 4 times in a 2 night stay!
The people next door where up all night and very loud - hotel staff told us there was nothing they could do.

The free "breakfast" is toast, cereal and juice. You can "buy" an omlete made to order for $5 and they won't even make it until you give them the money.

The shower is small and the sink area is in the room and very small as well.

Room Tip: Get the top room they offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Property: Lake View Hotel
Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing