We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay at the Lakeview!”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Industry, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Stay at the Lakeview!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Lakeview Hotel for our first wedding anniversary at the beginning of Oct. 2012. The hotel was right across the street from the ferry service and a porter greeted us and took our bags to the hotel for us. We stayed in room 337 which overlooked the indoor pool and hot tub. There was alot of noise from the pool however since the pool closed at 10 pm we didn't have a problem getting sleep. The beds were more comfortable than any other hotel beds that I have slept on. The staff was courteous and very accommodating. Goodfellow's Restaurant had great food and service at decent prices. Overall we had a great experience at The Lakeview Hotel and would stay again if we were visiting in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    247
    76
    34
    17
See reviews for
377
281
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Mackinac Island is a wonderful place. The hotels can be pricey, however. That being said, the Lake View was very competitive, and I feel was a good value when compared to the other hotels available. They have a terrific in-door pool and hot tub, which is nice because it can be cool on the island, plus it was great for the kids. I appreciated the friendly staff. Let's face it, things go wrong sometimes, and having a great staff offers piece mind should anything arise. The Lake View is located right downtown and in good proximity to most of the shops and restaurants. There are some fancier hotels, but you will pay double the price. That's why I feel that the Lake View is a good value compares to other places. PS...the bellman, Byron is fantastic, so tip him good!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtgasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed the last weekend in September. Loved the view out our window, we could see all the ferry boats come in and leave and part of main street. The free breakfast was nice and had great choices. Loved the porch, great to have a big porch and lobby while waiting for room or spending the day after check out. It was nice to go sit on the porch and take a break while waiting for our ferry, lobby was great for guys to check their football gaime. Grandkids loved the pool. We are booked for next year!!!

Room Tip: Book early!! The 4th floor has great views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oogeybootsMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Wilmington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from the island and our 3 night stay at the Lakeview Hotel. Our experience was "wow"! Nice size room, very clean, the front desk persons were excellent representatives for the hotel. The had all the answers, tips and were just great!
We found the free breakfast to be very adequate. For an additional $5 you can get a custom made omelet that was really, really good, and big enough my wife and I split it.

Great location to get to most everything with a reasonable walk. We WILL stay here again on our next trip to the island!

Room Tip: Rooms 224 and 226 are right above the bar/lounge and can hear the noise from boisterous customers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned from a 2 day stay at this hotel for business trip. The conference was being held at the Grand Hotel (which is WAY too expensive). Short walk up the hill is palatable with the reasonable rates of this hotel. If you are looking for a cookie-cutter chain-type hotel, this is not it. The place has character! Older structure with interesting room shapes. On-site bar/restaurant, indoor pool was nice. Great location. Comfortable bed. The provided breakfast was a little disappointing. However, staff were friendly. I read the reviews prior to staying at this hotel. Do the same, check out the photos. They are a pretty accurate depiction of what you're getting. This hotel is a bit less 'frilly' than some of the others (but so is the price). I would stay there again. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed one night. Our first time at this hotel on the island. Our room was actually bigger than we expected. Comfortable mattress, nice flat screen tv on the wall. Breakfast was ok....nothing fancy. Very friendly helpful staff. Would stay again for sure is the price was right. Convenient downtown location also plus discounts at some area shops etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lakeview Hotel on Mackinac Island on Oct 1st. On the accommodation side of things, the Lakeview did everything right. The front desk staff and porters were all excellent. The young lady at the front desk was pleasant and personable, and answered all of our questions. The rooms were nice, and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is located in a great location across from Shepler’s Ferry. A porter was waiting at the dock waiting to take our baggage to the hotel. The other nice feature about this hotel is that they have a strict quiet hours between the hours of 10:00 p.m.-7:00 a.m. Our experience at the hotel restaurant, Goodfellows was just adequate. Our waiter was not personable nor polished which took away from our overall dinner experience at this hotel. Thus, we cannot recommend this restaurant. We did stop by the hotel candy shop, Sanders on our way home, and the woman working there made for a nice experience on our way back to the main land. For overall service, price, and location to shops and attractions, we would definitely book at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Property: Lake View Hotel
Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing