We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip To Mackinac”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from the island and our 3 night stay at the Lakeview Hotel. Our experience was "wow"! Nice size room, very clean, the front desk persons were excellent representatives for the hotel. The had all the answers, tips and were just great!
We found the free breakfast to be very adequate. For an additional $5 you can get a custom made omelet that was really, really good, and big enough my wife and I split it.

Great location to get to most everything with a reasonable walk. We WILL stay here again on our next trip to the island!

Room Tip: Rooms 224 and 226 are right above the bar/lounge and can hear the noise from boisterous customers.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
There are newer reviews for Lake View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned from a 2 day stay at this hotel for business trip. The conference was being held at the Grand Hotel (which is WAY too expensive). Short walk up the hill is palatable with the reasonable rates of this hotel. If you are looking for a cookie-cutter chain-type hotel, this is not it. The place has character! Older structure with interesting room shapes. On-site bar/restaurant, indoor pool was nice. Great location. Comfortable bed. The provided breakfast was a little disappointing. However, staff were friendly. I read the reviews prior to staying at this hotel. Do the same, check out the photos. They are a pretty accurate depiction of what you're getting. This hotel is a bit less 'frilly' than some of the others (but so is the price). I would stay there again. Good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nemichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed one night. Our first time at this hotel on the island. Our room was actually bigger than we expected. Comfortable mattress, nice flat screen tv on the wall. Breakfast was ok....nothing fancy. Very friendly helpful staff. Would stay again for sure is the price was right. Convenient downtown location also plus discounts at some area shops etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lakeview Hotel on Mackinac Island on Oct 1st. On the accommodation side of things, the Lakeview did everything right. The front desk staff and porters were all excellent. The young lady at the front desk was pleasant and personable, and answered all of our questions. The rooms were nice, and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is located in a great location across from Shepler’s Ferry. A porter was waiting at the dock waiting to take our baggage to the hotel. The other nice feature about this hotel is that they have a strict quiet hours between the hours of 10:00 p.m.-7:00 a.m. Our experience at the hotel restaurant, Goodfellows was just adequate. Our waiter was not personable nor polished which took away from our overall dinner experience at this hotel. Thus, we cannot recommend this restaurant. We did stop by the hotel candy shop, Sanders on our way home, and the woman working there made for a nice experience on our way back to the main land. For overall service, price, and location to shops and attractions, we would definitely book at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The staff are excellent, especially Byron and Erica. They make you feel as if you're visiting family. We have always received excellent customer service. If you want to feel valued, stay at Lakeview.

Collectively, this will be our eighteenth year for visiting Mackinac Island and we have stayed at another hotel and it pales in comparison to Lakeview. We will always return to Lakeview and highly recommend them to everyone.

We are very satisfied guests of Lakeview Hotel.

Doug & Janet Drake

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here with my wife for a surprise wedding anniversary. When we got to the front desk the girl at the desk was saying that I owed a balance. I prepaid and set this up several weeks ahead of our stay. After proving my purchase, she began throwing my prices and charges out right in front of my wife who had no idea of what I had setup. This was embarrassing as it held up the line. There were several people coming in off the Ferry and she is arguing with me about the bill which I proved I prepaid. I also arranged that there were special chocolates and champagne in the room. They forgot these thugs until I again brought up. They again argued with me saying how they don't do this kinda thing. Well how would I know about it I explained. Where then again they admitted they were once again wrong. I witnessed a cuss out fight among a chef and a manager and even had a problem with my omelette charge cause their computer didn't work. Somehow my fault. All said and done the last guy I talked with named John I believ took care of it all by crediting my overage balance and reassuring me that this isn't normal. All is good. Room was great and everything else was good. Would stay here again. Price, cleanliness, food and location were great! Service could use a little work. Byron. The luggage guy was great. Charming place. I feel the staff was slightly overwhelmed and maybe tired/overworked. Maybe next time a better service treatment.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Second time staying here, this time with 2 other couples. Everyone said they'd go back. Ask to stay far from the pool. It's loud if you want an afternoon siesta. I think the only complaint was the awful smell in the elevator both days. Like potpourri spilled or something? But location is perfect, rooms are cute and clean, staff friendly and helpful. Love Goodfellows and Sanders right downstairs too! Value would be better but we paid a lot on a busy weekend. We paid much less for our previous stay, but that's just a timing thing.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
975 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,070 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $179 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing