We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing bad to say about this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Haslett, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing bad to say about this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I love this hotel, the staff, the restaurant (Goodfellows Chop House). Location is perfect. Close to everything and all the shopping, taxis. Awesome pool and hot tub in the middle of the hotel. I stayed with a large group and they accommodated us so well. Will be staying here again. Great price. Also, we had to use the conference room for some group activities and it was perfect! Thanks for making our weekend so great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    247
    74
    33
    17
See reviews for
373
277
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Location: fantastic, right in the main street close to shopping, restaurant and entretaiment

Staff: really nice, good people, they gave us early check in and the bell guy, Byron was super taking care of our bags to and from the ferry

Room: noisy, air conditioning is old. My room was 236 and althought in a corner if you open the window you will get the cigarette smoke from the staff that takes their break. Also you could hear the bathroom from upstairs

The best: location, staff and the value discount card they give you, you can save some good money

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Armando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Lake view Hotel for 3 nights. We stayed in a turret room that was beautifully appointed and spacious enough for a family of two adults and two children. The hotel is very old and some of the furniture is showing it's age like the chairs. Two of the Turret windows in our room were permanently fogged over so it impeded our view of the street and the lake. The beds are very comfortable!

Some of the things that we liked best about it was the indoor pool, and the central location. There were restaurants and shops all around the hotel. Also, It's difficult to find a hotel on the Island with an indoor pool.

The best attribute Lake View has to offer is friendly and accomodating staff from the front desk to housekeeping. We liked the fact that they had a large safe in the room to store our electronics and valuables. There was no refrigerator which we felt it should have had because it was a premium room.

A continental breakfast was included that has cereal, toast, waffles, english muffins, regular muffins, yogurt, fruit, donuts, coffee and milk.
You could have omelets or eggs made anyway for an additional $5. The omelets we had each day were delicious.

We liked that there was a game room across the street and also a laundromat. The hotel was quiet and the beds were comfortable.

The pool was a little on the cool side and was filled with kids at night.

It was a larger room with a separate sitting area with only one TV. Each evening, the kids wanted to watch Disney and my husband insisted on Sports. There should have been 2 tv's.

Internet is important to me because I own a business and need to have reliable internet. The internet wifi was horrible and we kept losing connection. Normally you get charged $3 per device per day but we didn't get charged anything for it in the end.

We visit Mackinac Island every year. I would say that this is my second favorite hotel next to the Harborview Inn mainly because of the high expense. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miabia03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great place to hang your hat that is centrally placed in the heart of Mackinaw island. just a few blocks from the ferry. the rooms were decent. we had the jacuzzi room because its was the last one available but i wouldn't pay for it if there was a room without one. the reason being is the jacuzzi is just a big over sized bathtub in the bathroom. all in all it as a great location and a good place to stay. i would recommend staying there especially for the value.

Room Tip: I wouldnt recommend the jacuzzi room its just an over sized bathtub. We stayed on the side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Lake View Hotel (August 10-11, 2012). First off, the location was great. It's located right on the main strip of shops in the downtown area on what would be the southwest end.

All the staff was nice and friendly and the valets were great as well. All were prompt with handling luggage from the ferry dock to the hotel and then back from the hotel to the ferry dock. Don't be cheap, be sure to tip them.

The rooms were relatively up to date with a flat screen TV mounted on the wall. Our room did have a floor-standing A/C unit, which did not bother us at all.

The only issue I had is that I was traveling with my family and children; one of which was a 7 month old baby and our window was located street side along Hoban Street; which is a side street, and Goodfellow's Wings & Things Bar had an outside patio two floors below us. When the bar closed at 2am we got to hear everyone wander into the streets for the next 30 minutes. My advice is that if you're traveling with kids, ask for a non-streetside room.

And it was a bit pricey, even if it did include a food voucher. But that's to be expected when staying on the island.

Room Tip: My advice is that if you're traveling with kids, ask for a non-streetside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I spent a couple of nights at the Lake View Hotel on Mackinac Island in August. Although not our first choice (waited to long to make the reservation) we were happy with our choice.

We arrived by Shepler's ferry in the afternoon. The hotel is very close to the ferry pier and at the end of Main street. Our bags were brought to the hotel and to our room about the same time that we arrived. Check in was quick-our room was ready early and we were able to go right up. The front desk staff explained the package we had booked and gave a brief introduction of the layout of the hotel.

Lake View is an older hotel that has been renovated. We stayed in a King Turret room on the 4th floor. The room was a nice size with a little extra room to spread out. The view wasn't of the lake (which we knew up front) but of the back yards of neighboring houses and the alley beside the hotel. We weren't in the room enough for the room to really matter. There was a small seating area in the turret area and a desk and chair to the side of the king bed. There was a wall air conditioner unit beside the bed that worked well. There is no closet in the room, but there is a spot beside the bed to hang clothes on a rail. A safe is provided for valuables. The bathroom is a little small with the toilet and tub in one room/the sink is outside next to the TV (large, flat screen.)

We booked one of the packages through the hotel website-the Mackinac Memories package, which included ferry tickets, carriage tour tickets, tickets to Fort Mackinac (and 4 or 5 other historic houses) and a discount card that can be used at a few places on the island. I would recommend checking out the package prices-the difference in the cost of the regular rate and the package rate was less than the cost of the round trip ferry tickets.

Noise could be a problem at the Lake View. The walls, as in a lot of the older hotels we've stayed in, are paper thin, allowing a lot of noise. The pool/atrium area of the hotel can be noisy with kids during the afternoon and you can hear all of it in the room. However, the hotel has a 10 PM "quiet time" where the pool closes (and is enforced) eliminating much of the noise. We also had a fan in the room that we used at night to help block out some of the noise.

We used the Internet while there. There is a one time $3 fee. Connection was fine and speed was good.

We had the continental breakfast both mornings, both of us ordering the omelets for the additional $5. The continental breakfast consisted of toast, toastable waffles, cereal, yogurt, apples/oranges/bananas and juice. The omelets had several options to add. Cost was $5 each regardless. The gentleman making the omelets could be a bit surly at times, but was quick and made great omelets.

Checking out was no problem. We called for our luggage to be picked up and within minutes, he was at our door to take the luggage downstairs and to the ferry. We were told what ferry it would be placed on. We checked our bill, signed and were on our way.

Overall, a good stay. Staff was professional and friendly. Front desk was great about answering questions and knowledgeable about the area. Location was great-on Main street but not amid all the congestion further down the street. I'd stay here again, but would want a turret room with an actual view of the lake!

Room Tip: Turret rooms give you more physical space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALJARN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first time and thought it was a great place to stay while on the island. The customer service was wonderful. Our room was rather quiet. It is a great location on Main Street. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlbdld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Property: Lake View Hotel
Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing