We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed with Family of 5 package special. Cont. Break was fine and saves $. Had the omlets and were great $ 5.00 can't get that anywhere. Restraunt for Lunch and Dinner was vey nice and with the Rest $ with package was nice. Pool and overall service was great nice location.
will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
There are newer reviews for Lake View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Lake View is in the ideal location - close to Main Street and close to the Boardwalk - so whether you want to shop, eat, walk or enjoy the view, it's just around the corner. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were fairly spacious and comfortable relative to other Island hotels. The pool and spa were nice to have after long days of walking/biking. The upper floors also have a balcony that all guests can sit and enjoy. I do have a couple of complaints. Something is seriously wrong with their electrical system. Our lights were flickering constantly and our power went out at least 3 times during our stay... that was a bit worrisome. Second, the continental breakfast is a joke. No protein available unless you want to pay for their omelets. Despite these issues, however, it was an overall good value and I would probably consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a mini honeymoon. It is a great location and very quiet. We enjoyed the stay. There wasn't much to the room but we spent most of our time outside of the hotel so that wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Customer623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

we've stayed at a lot of places on Mackinac - sure some are nicer but you're pay a premium for that, but the Lake View is what always ends up being perfect for a family with kids - why? INDOOR POOL - they love it and what better way to wind down after blitzing around the island all day on your bikes but sitting by the pool which the kids wear themselves out swimming? Seriously, any better way to relax? It's right in the main part of town - not in the center so it's quieter, but not far enough away to be a long walk, the location really is perfect. If you pay a little more for a corner room on the lake side the view is pretty descent as well and the kids love just watching the action down below from the room. The modest breakfast buffet in the morning will save you a fortune as well. Really, it's the best value for the money on the island though because of that pool!!

Room Tip: ask for one on the lake side and as high up as you can be. The corner suites are especially great
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tbobpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

When we got off the ferry I was a little nervous because the hotel was right there in the heart of all the activity. I was worried about the noise. We had a room right on the front of the hotel overlooking the bay. It was VERY quiet. It was small and compact, but we had no intentions of spending much time besides sleeping time there. It did have the little floor model AC unit, but it was very compact and did it's job. I spent a lot of time on the porch on our floor, enjoying the view and watching the streams of people coming off of the ferries. The front desk people were friendly and very helpful. We did have an issue with a taxi not arriving until 1 hour after it's promised time. The woman at the desk did everything she could to find out what the issue was, but it is the island so there is not much you can do but wait. The one complaint i had was the promise of wifi. It never worked and was cumberson to sign on to. My husband did say the bed was one of the best he had on our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lmallo722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was a nice older hotel with an awesome porch equipped with rocking chairs. I was pleased with our choice of hotel until we opened the door to our room. My closet has more space. No room refrigerator or even a desk. The WIFI didn't work, couldn't get connected. The room A/C was a portable unit setting on the floor in one corner of the already tiny room. For the price we paid, we were expecting a lot more. We will come back to the island in the future but we won't be staying at the Lake View.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 202.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RickL4570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in room 310 this past week at the Lakeview hotel. Guests staying in historic old properties need to appreciate the original old buildings make for challenges compared to a new hotel. Our room was decorated in a victorian style ( I wouldn't call that up-to-date) but it isn't supposed to. It was neat that there was a door on both ends of the room. One from the traditional old hallway and another onto a shared walkway that goes all around the newer indoor pool with adjacent whirlpool. The TV choices for late night when you are settling in for the night were robust. Internet access works in the room but it was frustrating that the internet access required a cumbersome access code and password that you could not remember and it changed daily. That is very inconvenient and outdated. The beds were comfortable and pillows abundant. Coffee in rooms was nice but was not as good as the coffee in the dining room with the complimentary continental breakfast. It was good! Rent bikes from their partner bicycle company and get a discount! The front porch is very nice but the balcony porches on 2nd and 3rd floor hallways out over the street are the BEST! Great photo spot whether you are overnighting or not!

Room Tip: Get specific about the rooms as they are not uniform to each other in size and comfort. Ask them to...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_Engel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $178 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing