We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere. We'll be back.”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Blissfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. We'll be back.”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The Lake View is in a great location--right downtown in the middle of all of the action with the lake across the street. The staff at the Lake View were so accomodating. The rooms were quaint with all of the updated ammenities. The food was delicious. The front porch looks out onto the lake as well as the action happening downtown. A great place to stay. We'll definately return.
Cindy blissfield@lenaweeseniors.org

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlissCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    248
    76
    34
    17
See reviews for
377
282
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Packages are good value, food was excellent. Great downtown location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickytraveler011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Lake View Hotel did not honor our prepaid reservation for a 3 night stay in a ‘Deluxe Room’ and instead gave us a ‘Standard Room’. Even though the hotel has different published rates for the room types and we prepaid a full price rate ($922 for 3 nights) months in advance, the hotel refused to adjust the price or give us the proper room… they told us to take it up with Expedia and tried to convince us that the rooms are similar.

The front desk staff was dry, rude and uninterested in addressing our issue. They did not care about what our confirmation statement stated and insisted that the reservation is for a standard room. It was clear to us that they were not happy that we reserved through Expedia; we suspect that the front desk reservations are commissionable.

The room itself was tiny (approximately 11x11 with a small bathroom) and was situated directly above the restaurant balcony. Our room faced the lake but had no view of it and the room location was so close to the main road that we heard loud profanities late into the night. The A/C unit is portable and sits on the floor taking a significant amount of space; it is also loud and requires to be emptied of water periodically. The beds and linens were clean and comfortable.

Overall our island experience was ruined by the Lake View Hotel and the fact that we were cheated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shinalai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake_View_James, Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
While the guest is correct that they stayed in a Standard room, this was not our decision but Expedia's.

Expedia was notified before the guest booked the reservation that we did not have any more reservations available for the dates this guest stayed. Expedia chose to book their room and have them placed into a Standard room.

I would like to apologize for the "dry, rude and uninterested" actions of our front desk staff. We will be working on training them to better handle situations of this nature in the future. Our goal is 100% satisfaction and I'm sorry that we were unable to provide this guest with a good experience.

In defense of our staff, prior to this year the room that this guest was in was a Deluxe Room, when we air conditioned the entire hotel, we changed a few room descriptions and placed a few smaller rooms in the the Standard category.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Tiny room, noisy room, no coffee pot in room. Continental breakfast worse than a Super 8.
Staff uncaring. Appears this hotel caters to the older folks with tour groups. Very poor value.
For the money, there are much better choices available.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbeam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake_View_James, Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We are sincerely sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay.
And hope that your return visit we have arranged will be much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We were there on Memorial Day and amazed that we were able to get in at a reasonable price. The people at the front desk were very accommodating. The room was lovely and very comfortable. Loved the location as it was right across the street when we came in on the ferry. We loved the big old building but it had all the luxury of a new one. The long row of white rocking chairs on the front porch made a great photo shot. The restaurant was also a big asset. Lake View Hotel was a great value and we would definitely stay there again if we get to the island.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisburg, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at the Lake View 5/20-5/21. I was so impressed with this beautiful hotel. Customer service was very Friendly. Our room was very nice and super clean. The Indoor pool was exceptional! Goodfellow's restaurant was wonderful and had an exceptional wait staff. This Hotel is in a great location, right across the street from the Star Line Ferry Dock.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daraymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Mackinac Island for a three day, two night trip for our first anniversary! We booked the Lake View after several of our "first" choices were already full 3 weeks prior to our trip. Needless to say, I think it was meant to be because we were quite impressed with the hotel! We got a great deal with a "no cancellations/upfront payment" price -- about $164 per night, staying Sunday and Monday nights. The location is very easy--right across the street from the Star Line ferry docks. We got off the ferry and were immediately at the hotel. The bag service was seamless and check in was quick!

The room was Victorian style, with two queen beds. Our room overlooked the atrium where the pool and hot tub are. It was really nice to have a swim and sit in the hot tub after a whirlwind day of biking and hiking. The bathroom was very clean and everything worked great. Since it was September, we didn't need to use the A/C at all and chose to crack the window to hear the sound of the horses clip clopping along outside. We thought it added to the charm! Beds were comfy and we slept great.

The continental breakfast at Goodfellow's wasn't the best I have ever eaten but it filled us up, was free and was convenient so can't complain! They had an assortment of muffins, bread, cereal, etc. They offered $5 omelettes but we didn't have those.

All in all, we were quite pleased with the hotel. We loved Mackinac Island and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cworld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager24, Director of Sales at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your first anniversary. I hope that we exceeded your expectations. It gives us great joy when customers let us be apart of there special days. A lot of the time if we know in advance we will have something special for you ann your loved one waiting at the hotel for your arrival. Cant wait to see you agian and thank you agian for choosing the Lake View Hotel while on Mackinac!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Property: Lake View Hotel
Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing