We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very limited collection of butterflies.”

Wings of Mackinac Butterfly Conservatory
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience free-flying exotic butterflies in a lush garden environment.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very limited collection of butterflies.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have toured other butterfly houses and this one had few butterflies and a very limited number of varieties. I did not feel it was worth the admission fee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    57
    33
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surround yourself in beauty!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A must see attraction! Take your time (and watch your step) and discover many varieties of butterflies as they surround you, land on you and delight you with their beauty. I got many wonderful pictures and thoroughly enjoyed watching them flutter all over. No food or drink inside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“beauty in flight”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

So unbelievable. You HAVE to take this in while you are on Mackinac Island. It is a walk, but the view is spectacular. While there the butterflies come and land on your clothes or skin. One thing to keep in mind......DO NOT touch the butterflies because they are so fragile. A stop that you HAVE to take in, well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to rest your feet!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've been to several butterfly houses and this one takes the cake!!! It's absolutely beautiful! It is small but that is what makes it so special, you see more butterflies and come closer to them! I love photography, so this was a special treat for me! Even if you don't love to take pictures, you can just take a seat on the bench by the water fountain and rest your feet! Enjoy the beautiful scenery and watch the butterflies flutter about! There were tons! And so many different species too. My husband even enjoyed this, the butterflies seemed to like the red shirt he was wearing, they kept landing on him!

Be careful where you step/sit the butterflies are everywhere! They also ask you to check yourself in the full length mirror before you leave for "hitchiking" butterflies!

Truly relaxing! Would go back in a heart beat!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank boilerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“kinda lame”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

the room with the butterflies was smaller than our hotel room. for the price I expected something more, especially since the souvinear stand was about five times the size of the exhibit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wings of Mackinac Butterfly Conservatory also viewed

 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Wings of Mackinac Butterfly Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing