We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tours”

Mackinac Island Carriage Tours
Ranked #1 of 12 Tours in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Narrated tours of this island that doesn't allow cars.
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Tours”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very enjoyable way of getting around the island. There are various tours available throughout the island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    254
    83
    44
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great way to see the town”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

No Cars allowed on the Island so the only way to get around is bike or these horse driven taxi's which are quite plentiful
The Carriage tours is probably the best way to go takes you to all the attractions and with a very professional commentary as well
There are a couple of opportunities to get off and tour on your own at the fort and then again at the Grand Hotel we chose to just take a few pics from the outside and take the carriage back to main part of town which was right by our hotel
great trip would highly recommend it

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank paperguyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great way to see the island”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a great tour guides whom I could actually hear (sometimes the sound systems on tours are poor). Guides were fun and knew their details. It was fun being pulled by the draft horses. Beautiful animals. We added the Wings of Mackinac to our trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very informative and relaxing”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend it highly for at least a (one time around). After that you could walk to favorite spots that you want to spend more time at. Riding a bike(either renting or bring your own over on the ferry) is also so much fun. It is flat and goes around the perimeter of the island on a scenic road by the water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizkurincak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Touring on Mackinac Island Carriage Tours”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a charming way to get around the island but taking a Carriage Tour should be one of the first things "to do" on the island. We ended ours at the top of Fort Mackinac, which I would highly advise. Then that tour begins at the top and only needing to go down easily to get back to Main St.
Some of the tour guides were hard to hear, understand, but otherwise it was wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Longboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackinac Island Carriage Tours also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Mackinac Island Carriage Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing