We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy B & B Secret Winter Getaway on Mackinac Island!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Watched the "Ice Bridge" video last summer and felt inspired to try something unusual, i.e. Mackinac Island in the winter. Spent New Years Eve on the island and it did not dissappoint! Plenty of live music and partying - even a wedding, made for a special and festive way to ring in the new year. What a secret gem the island is in the dead of winter! The Cottage Inn has a lovely warm atmosphere. The rooms are definitley small but adequate for a couple - Rich and Marge have the right balance of being available yet not intrusive as Inn Keepers and offered a plethera of information to make our stay enjoyable. Cross country ski trails are groomed daily and are breathtakingingly beautiful within the island- many folks brought their own skis as well as snowmobiles over on the ferry...what a hoot! Although most of the downtown is closed, the necessities of grocery store, pharmacy and a couple restaraunts were more than adequate for a couple nights stay for us! Looking forward to making another trip in February to really take advantage of the cc skiing and maybe rent a s-mobile if available. DRESS WARM!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 732 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2010

Winter on Mackinac Island is a uniquely fun experience, and the Cottage Inn is a delightful place to call home . Cordial inkeepers,sttractive ambiance, great breakfasts and snacks, friendly guests, and handy location to shops, restaurants and ferries.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodward1Woodward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

My wife and I made the trip with two other couples for a unique New Years getaway. The Cottage Inn was a great place to stay, far nicer than most of the other available winter accommodations. It was warm and cozy with a good breakfast and a very friendly couple managing it; Rich and Marge. We had a great time and enjoyed the island in a completely different light than we had in our numerous summertime visits.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkpopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

It started as a lark when we previewed the Cottage Inn when visiting in October, and the idea struck us that it might be nice to meet friends and family on the island this winter. What a delightful experience. Rich and Marge, the innkeepers, could not have been more accommodating and gracious. Comfortable room, delicious breakfasts, and great advice made for a wonderful winter experience. This inn, and the island in the winter, is an absolute delight. And don't miss the public library (yes, the public library) for the comfy reading area around the crackling fireplace. Good food and beverage available nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JhawkerMattawan_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

The couple who run this inn are really great to talk to and run a good establishment.
Some of the rooms, which are doubles, are too small for two. For instance only one chair and no room for suite cases. The public spaces, like a lounge, are not comfortable, it doubles as breakfast room and is awkward use of space. That having been said this inn may be a good value in its' price range. I might recommend this hotel to a friend.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank blithspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Cottage Inn B&B. We stayed in the Somewhere in Time room the first night and the Bridge room the second night. The entire place was very clean and comfortable. The innkeeper was very nice and gave us some good advise on places to see and eat. We would love to stay here again on our next trip to Mackinac.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank cosho_MadTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

My wife and I spent four nights at the Cottage Inn and found it to be a very charming B & B and recommend it highly. Inn keepers Marge and Rich were very hospitable and went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our time there. Located a stone's throw from Main Street and a short walk from the Arnold Ferry Line, we found it conveniently situated. It lies at the foothill of Fort Mackinac on quiet Market Street, the road less traveled. That being said, the downtown area is just a few blocks long on two parallel streets, so most places are within walking distance. The breakfast was typical for a B & B, yet delightful and quite tasty. An egg dish was the usual star, with fruit, baked goods, juices and yogurt as accoutrements. The afternoon lineup of brittle, fudge and caramel corn was always sampled. Coffee, tea and hot cocoa was perpetual. Take advantage of Rich’s long relationship with, and knowledge of, the island. He offered some excellent recommendations for meals and had some inside info on local attractions. We will definitely stay at the Cottage Inn again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Segercasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island

Address: 7267 Market St, P.O. Box 458, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5171
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $95 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island is a beautiful inn built with Victorian style and charm. The Cottage Inn was built in 2001 and we are proud to be the most modern B&B on Mackinac Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn Of Mackinac Island Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing