We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend Cottage Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2008

My husband and I recently went to Mackinac Island for a long weekend. This was our second time to visit the island but our first time to stay at the Cottage Inn. We were pleased way beyond our expectations. The Innkeepers were wonderful. The rooms were cozy with private baths and very clean. Virginia went above and beyond with the breakfasts. We've stayed at many B&B's and I'd have to say Cottage Inn has been the most pleasurable. I would certainly recommend the Cottage Inn to anyone looking for a welcoming B&B in Mackinac.
We will definately go back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Luv2Travel4125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 704 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2008

This was our 2nd trip to Mackinac Island, our first stay at the Cottage Inn and we could not have been happier with the accommodations. From the warm greeting when we arrived, the clean room, the comfy bed, the delicious breakfast and warm cookies; to the help with setting up dinner reservations and navigating our way around the island... we were delighted!!! Don and Virginia were not only pleasant but very helpful in directing us to the best of the best on the island.

We were so pleased with all that the Cottage Inn had to offer that we've already booked our room for next Fall. THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wkndtraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

I made my reservation to the Cottage Inn before I read the reviews on this website. After reading the reviews, we were looking forward to our stay on the Island. We were not disappointed! From the warm welcome, to the huge shower, to the fluffy soft towels, we felt right at home. The property is beatifully decorated, with gardens in the front as well as the back, secure bike parking, a clean sitting/dining area, and a great location. The Cottage Inn is by far the nicest place I have ever stayed, and strongly reccomend it to anyone traveling to the Island. Oh, and the best part, fresh-baked cookies every day. You won't get that at the big chain back on the mainland!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sheilaupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Our visit started with a ferry ride from Mackinac City via Arnold Ferry which was a quick 15 min ride. Their dock is the closest to the inn so it was very convenient.

Our first impression on Cottage Inn was immediately good. After parking our bikes at their secured parking, we took a moment to admire the pretty Inn then went in where Don and Virginia were there to check us in. Because we booked late we had to stay one night in the Sail Away Room then moved to the Garden Balcony Room for the last 2 nights. Both rooms were very nice but of course the Garden Balcony room was much nicer because it is larger and has a balcony.
Housekeeping was spotless and bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was great consisting of several varieties of cold cereal, fresh fruits, bagel, English muffin,coffee cakes and egg casserole. Along with the usual breakfats beverages.
There is even cookies, fudge, iced tea and lemonade every 3pm.

The inkeepers, Don and Virginia make this property special. They are very attentive, friendly and were always happy to help us in any way. We had nice conversations with them throughout our stay.
Would definitely stay @ Cottage Inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alwaystraveling99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Cottage Inn is right in town, but on lightly travelled Market Street, not the main drag. I prefer to stay in town to be near restaurants, so am willing to put up with a little town noise in exchange for the convenience.

The owners, Don and Virginia, were always helpful and curteous, but are (thankfully) not real chatty. After all, I imagine I'm like most B&B guests that value time with their significant other, not yacking with the owners.

The Cottage Inn is actually newer construction so there are many amenities you may not find at other B&Bs - e.g. flat screens/dvd, phone, private bath, ceiling fans, and a/c in the room. Also, random bugaboos that often haunt older accomodations like stuck windows, funky bathrooms, etc are non existent.

The Inn is on a pretty small lot, but they've done a very nice job with the landscaping and lending the whole exterior a nice inviting feel.

There was a tasty continental breakfast with scratch made baked goods, fresh fruit and the like to get us going in the morning. There's some afternoon cookies also, but we were out and about and missed that.

There's a common area with the front desk, a couch, comfy chair and a few bistro tables/chairs, as well as some more small tables on their porch. If several couples or friends are travelling together, they might find this common area a little small and too open for a gathering place.

I have visited MI several times and have found the very best time is post labor day during the week. Rates drop significantly ($120 Sunday night at the Cottage Inn), weather is ideal for hiking/biking, everything is still open, and the big crowds are gone.

I generally like to try different places to stay, and there's a big selection on the island. However, I feel we've found one of the gems - We will definitely be in touch with the folks at Cottage inn the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AATrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Cottage Inn for 2 nights. We appreciated its central location (Arnold dock is closest), and liked that it was on Market Street instead of Main. We brought our own bikes to the island and used the bike storage area the Inn offers. Breakfast was pretty hardy and was available from 8-10. There's also a light afternoon snack to help recharge you! We loved the private sitting area behind the Cottage Inn, complete with tables for 2 and adirondack chairs. When we return to the island, we will definitely stay at Cottage Inn again--no question!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ExlploreLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I stayed at the Cottage Inn at the end of May for 3 days with two of my best friends. It was my first time on the Island. The Cottage Inn was absolutely perfect for the three of us! We were on the 3rd floor in the room with the Turret. The room was beautiful and had just enough space for all of us. The location was perfect as well.

The innkeepers were very kind and answered lots of our questions. The 3:00 snacks were a great treat and the morning breakfast was wonderful!

I highly recommend the Cottage Inn! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GA Family 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,000 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island

Address: 7267 Market St, P.O. Box 458, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5171
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $95 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island is a beautiful inn built with Victorian style and charm. The Cottage Inn was built in 2001 and we are proud to be the most modern B&B on Mackinac Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn Of Mackinac Island Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing