We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Iroquois(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveler rating
678
41
10
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
678
41
10
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaramel cornmarket streetb bgarden balconyfudgelilac roomfather marquettegreat hostsegg casseroleafternoon snackbreakfast was deliciousmain streetfresh fruitquiet streeteach morningbagelsfront porch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 734 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at Cottage Inn for the New Years week. The stay was absolutely fantastic. Rich and Marge are so caring for their beautiful inn. The breakfast is simple but delicious. The rooms may be on the small size, but they don't need to be any bigger to be comfortable. The rooms are also very clean and the beds are so comfortable. This was our second stay at the inn and we plan on staying here again this coming summer.

For New Years on Mackinac, very little is open. There are only a few places to stay and only one restaurant serves breakfast, so I really wanted to stay at a inn that had breakfast. Also, when staying in the winter, it is hard to get around as a tourist, so staying at Cottage inn, you are in prime location.

We hope to come back for New Years next year, and we will hopefully be staying here again!

Room Tip: It gets a little loud on the first floor at about 8 am due to breakfast.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taylor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This charming bed and breakfast lured us back for the third winter visit and, once again, was simply delightful. Marge and Rich are warm, very well organized, and offer a delicious breakfast each morning, as well as 'tea time' snacks. The ferry had stopped for the year, the 'airline' was a hoot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JhawkerMattawan_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our anniversary trip started in Charleviox with a chartered yacht and a gorgeous day on Lake Michigan and Lake Charlevoix. It was sunny, in the mid 70's and very windy, so our sail was awesome. We spent the night in Petoskey and traveled up to Mackinac Island the next day, arriving at the Cottage Inn at about 1:00 pm. Rich was at the desk to greet us, warmly, and showed us where we could leave our luggage while our room was being made ready for us later that afternoon.
We had a picnic lunch on the lawn below Fort Mackinac on a beautilful sunny warm fall day for the 29th of September, our anniversary date.
After returning to the Cottage Inn, we found our suite was ready for us more than an hour before our check-in time. Rich had carried our luggage up the 4 flights of stairs already before he brought us to our suite.
Our first impressions of the Mackinac Suite were very favorable. Every corner of the suite was spotless (as was the whole inn). I thought that the open living space with one of the queen beds and the sitting room in the turret of the inn was bright and airy. The other bedroom was a separate room with the sink in the room and the shower and toilet in another room. We found the bed in this room to be very comfortable. My wife loved the shower, deciding that we should remodel our shower at home like it. There were two TV's, one in the sitting area, one in the separated bed room. The inn stocks a nice selection of DVD's to watch in your room and microwave popcorn to enjoy. Rich and Marge surprised us with a nice gift of Murdock’s fudge for our anniversary on the bedroom dresser.
Rich was very helpful in suggesting the best restaurant for our anniversary dinner, the Carriage House, and we had our best meal by far that night on the island (much better than the dinner at the Grand Hotel the following night).
Speaking of eating, Marge does a great job with the hearty breakfasts and her baked egg dishes and coffee cakes. There is lighter fare like fruit, cereal and yogurt too, all delicious!
All in all, we can't recommend the Cottage Inn highly enough. Rich and Marge are engaging and friendly hosts. In our conversations, we found we hail from the same area outside Grand Rapids and Rich and Marge have a winter place a few miles from our Ada home. We will definitely make this our place to stay whenever we return to the island.

Room Tip: The Mackinac Suite on the 3rd Floor was extremely quiet, if you don't mind the stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

First time on the island. Made a great choice. Cottage Inn is 1 block in from Main street, right where you want to stay. With ALL of the horses on Main street, so is a certain "scent" that go with that. Can't imagine what is would be like on a summer night.
The Cottage Inn is a very clean, well run B&B. Richard and Marge could not have been any nicer or helpful. It is 1 block straight in from the Arnold dock, which is nice in not-so-nice weather. The room was large and comfortable, the breakfast egg dishes were perfect as were the baked goods. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean and large.
Marge told us about the tunnel of trees, rt. 119, for our trip up. They told us about the falls that were about an hour northwest of St. Ignace.
It was a great stay. Thanks.

Room Tip: we stayed in the 2nd floor turret room. very nice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keithrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Extremely nice place with very accommodating hosts. Easy walk to center of town, good restaurants, shopping, fudge and grocery store.

Three minute walk from the Arnold dock.

The Cottage Inn is clean, quiet and comfortable.

Would I stay there on my next Mackinac Island trip? ABSOLUTELY!

Room Tip: For those who don't like stairs, choose one of three ground floor rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobartfenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews