We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, helpful owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, MI
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, helpful owners”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the Mackinac Suite on the third floor which worked well for our family of four since the couch is a pull-out. It was nice and private, a good spaced suite and the air conditioning in July was awesome (we were there in July 2011 but TA isn't giving me that month as an option to select from). The breakfast served was always good and the daily sweet treats the owners placed out was a welcome taste after exploring the island.

When my eldest bent his bike tire rim after an accident with an elderly island resident (yes, she was okay but we did get to see the only ambulance on the island!) the owners were very helpful in recommending which bike shop to go to for the repair.

Our only problem was the lack of security. A nice touch would be key fobs that would open the door or allow access to the various rooms and floors. There was some drunk guy that made his way into the Inn during the wee hours of the night one night and he climbed the stairs all the way to our room and was banging on our door thinking he was in the right place. In addition, he'd smeared feces on the wall of the stairwell (which we brought to the owner's attention and they took care of). Paying as much as you do to stay a night that kind of problem could be (and should've been) avoided.

But other than that, we really enjoyed our room, the service, the beds, the food and the sounds of the horses clip-clopping past us down on the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nelleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    40
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
110
413
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cottage Inn in a turret room and absolutely loved it! It was a big room with a large bay window. Our room was spotlessly cleaned by Carmen! The location was perfect too since it is right off the busy main street yet so close to all the action.

Rich and Marge are so friendly and helpful and made several recommendations and suggestions that we might not have known. The breakfast was wonderful and delicious! The egg dish was awesome and Marge is willing to share her recipes.

We highly recommend the Cottage Inn and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirlene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A group of 4 couples spent three days at the Cottage Inn. It was fantastic from booking to departure. Both Rich and Marge were attentive to our questions from which ferry to restaurants and to what to do on the island. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of options and with plenty of seating both inside and outside. Our room- the Garden Balcony- was exceptionally clean. We could sit out on the deck and watch the horses go by and just enjoy. We think this is the best room. The location is close to everything but very quiet. The Arnold ferry is only two blocks away as are many restaurants. Four of us rented bicycles to tour the island. Marge directed us to the local bicycle rental shop. We were also lucky enough to be in town on a Wednesday so we got to see the Governor's summer home which was fabulous. We would not have known about this had Marge not told us.

You won't go wrong staying at the Cottage Inn. We already have it on the radar for our next get together.

Pearl64_10

Room Tip: Stay in the Garden balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearl64_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, OH
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights in the Bicycle Room and found the Inn to be a great option on Mackinac Island. It's a very short walk from the Arnold Ferry stop, and the proprietors, Rich & Marge, were friendly and helpful. Our room was modern and spotlessly clean, and we especially enjoyed the egg dishes and homemade coffee cake each morning. An added bonus: sweet treats like fudge and caramel corn at 3:00 P.M. Overall we had a very positive experience and would not hesitate to recommend the inn to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavinwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cato, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed for the 4th year in a row at the Cottage Inn. We always choose the Garden Balcony room because it overlooks Market Street. The sound of the hoof beats on the road is very relaxing. It is amazing that the inn is close to everything, but extremely quiet. Marge and Rich are always great hosts. They offer excellent suggestions for restaurants and local events. We have stayed at several B&B's recently and the breakfast at the Cottage Inn tops them all. This year we got to know the housekeeper, Carmine. She was a pleasure to speak with and she kept our room perfect. The Cottage Inn is a newer building and has all the modern amenities. We already have our reservations for next year. We would not dream of staying anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisl274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a treat to find the Cottage Inn, we are veteran Mackinac visitors but had never stayed here until this summer. Rich shared many new tips as to where to bike etc. & Marge is a superb cook! Breakfast was hearty and a great start to each day. Our room was cleaned promptly & impeccably each day by Carmen. We stayed in the Turrett room with our 12 year old son; roomy, bright and windows so we never an the air. Great location, quiet yet an easy walk everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

On our recent trip to Mackinac Island, my husband and I stayed the weekend at The Cottage Inn.
We were very impressed when we saw how beautiful the flowers and hanging baskets are out front, and the beauty of the inn, itself. Rich and Marge were very helpful in their suggestions for good places to eat, and suggestions for things to do on the Island. They made us feel right at home. Our Somewhere In Time room was so convenient on the first floor, for our luggage and for breakfast in the mornings. The breakfasts were fabulous, and coffee, tea, water is available all day. They have fudge, caramel corn, etc. for afternoon snacks. The Inn is kept exceptionally clean by Carmen, who is so good at her job. Our room was always clean and very pleasant. I would recommend the Cottage Inn on Mackinac Island to anyone planning a trip there. Our experience staying there couldn't have been any better.

Room Tip: The Somewhere in Time room was perfect for us. It's a little smaller in size, but worked well f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcraig123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island

Property: Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Address: 7267 Market St, P.O. Box 458, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5171
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island is a beautiful inn built with Victorian style and charm. The Cottage Inn was built in 2001 and we are proud to be the most modern B&B on Mackinac Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn Of Mackinac Island Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing