We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Nearby Hotels
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$184
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront(Mackinac Island)(Great Value!)
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$394
$365
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Inn at Stonecliffe(Mackinac Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveler rating
678
41
10
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
678
41
10
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaramel cornmarket streetb bgarden balconyfudgelilac roomfather marquettegreat hostsegg casseroleafternoon snackbreakfast was deliciousmain streetfresh fruitquiet streeteach morningbagelsfront porch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 734 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Mackinac Island is a step back in time. Traffic is four legged and the work sounds is a delightful clip clop. It is a clean place and the food is very good. It is an historic place and those who live on the island understandably consider it paradise. The Cottage Inn did its very best to include us in the friendliness and charm of the place. The beds were comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. Coffee is available all the time. In the afternoon there are irresistible snacks and we made a point of being there in time for them. Fudge is a specialty of the island and there was always delectable fudge included in the snack. Rich and Marge were friendly, gracious and professional and helped us choose our activities and places to eat. Thank you folks for a great time.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and it was "just right" for us.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beWellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Upon reviewing Tripadvisor we chose the Cottage Inn as our first stay at a B&B. We were not disappointed. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and upon arrival there was some fudge and a card congratulating us. It was a nice touch and the fudge was yummy! The Inn keepers were helpful in providing suggestions regarding restaurants and activities on the Island. We stayed in the Lilac Parlour which was very clean and cozy. Breakfast is served between 8-10. We enjoyed the variety...yogurt, fresh fruit, hardboiled eggs, a warm egg and cheese dish, cereal, juices/coffee/tea, english muffins/bagels and a lovely lemon poppy seed cake.(Hope I didn't miss something!) We were only able to enjoy breakfast the 1st day as we had to catch the ferry prior to breakfast being served on the 2nd day. We loved the Island but our most favourite part of the Island experience was our stay! Each afternoon after some sightseeing we returned to the B&B and enjoyed wine, conversation and some yummy snacks that are served at 3p.m. The location is terrific. Only a block up from the Main street. We were able to watch the wagons and people go by but it wasn't as busy as the Main street which was nice. We will definitely recommend this experience to friends and hope to visit again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neatfrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I have stayed on the Island several times. It is no surprise that the Cottage Inn is rated number one. Rich and Marge are excellent hosts. Add to that location, atmosphere, great food and total comfort and you will have plenty of reasons to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Rich and Marge were wonderful hosts, we felt welcome and were impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of the room. Slept well, ate well, had a lot of fun. We felt like we were getting personal attention and if we needed anything Rich or Marge went out of their way to help out. Will be back.

Room Tip: The balcony was great to sit on and watch the street activities.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank K_DSaugatuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Celebrated 30 year wedding anniversary at our favorite location, in our favorite B & B with our favorite inn keepers. Great atmosphere, super breakfast and yummy snacks. Thanks for everything Marge & Rich. See you again soon. You guys are the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews