We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Would definitely recommend this B & B if you are looking to stay a couple of nights on the island.
Mac Is. was our final destination on our 10 day trip fall trip we take with another couple every year. (We pick a state every year). We took the fairy over in the morning, and two hours later after dropping our luggage off at the Inn, we were off biking around the island in beautiful weather. (On the recommendation of the innkeepers, which was good cause it rained the next day). After biking, we came just in time for treats and got settled down in our top floor suite, where we and the other couple both had beautifully decorated and comfortable bedrooms, and then a relaxing sitting room that was perfect for the four of us to converse and play cards as we choose our dinner plans.

Mornings are nice, as we like the laid back atmosphere, nice large tiled, rain style shower, listening to the clip clop of the horse drawn carriage as we savored those great egg casseroles and fruit.
Since we were sharing the suite, it was good that the sink was located outside of the closed bath and commode part. They have it equipped with large fluffy towels and hair dryer, etc. I really liked that it had lots of windows so you don't have that claustrophobic feel of hotel rooms, nice and light, oh, and it had a fridge for our left overs from the restaurant we had for lunch the next day.
If you go towards the second or third week in Sept., and during the weekday, it is usually good weather, better rates, and less people, and we found that true. So, two days and three nights was adequate for acquainting us with this part of our trip, and we were glad we stayed, so keep up the good work innkeepers. We will be returning the next time we go north.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    39
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
108
409
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is an excellent B&B in a terriffic location, just off the main street, so it is quiet. The inkeepers and breakfasts are great. Very informative and friendly inkeepers. Food is delicious.
There seems to be a good variety of rooms available. We stayed in a smaller room, the Bridge View room. While you can't see much from the window, it was a very comfortable room. Location of the inn is perfect to visit all locations on the Island...from historical sites, to the docks and fudge shops. A great place to stay...during the main season, or the off season. The inn is also open for part of the winter "experience" months. We would love to return!

Room Tip: Check out their online site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very inviting ... Went in late September and weather was awesome. Very clean and accomodating. Bet this is an awesome B and B in the summer with their outside porch and landscaping.
Breakfast was not just carbs ... fresh made items.
They were very helpful with suggestions on where to eat ....
We would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cottage Inn for our first time being on the island for an overnight. It was truly wonderful! The hosts were terrific, the Inn was super clean, the bed was extremely comfy, the shower was awesome (especially after being out in the wind and rain), the breakfast was tasty, and just enjoyable all around!!! I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast and plan on coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Cottage Inn is beautiful, nearly new, Victorian style, 3 level building. Particularly wonderful were the hosts, Rich and Marge who made wonderful complete breakfasts and kept the inn immaculately clean. The inn is located one street over from main street and the Arnold line ferry depot. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob22z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had the best time at my stay at the Cottage Inn on Mackinac Island. Rich and Marge were great. They were so personable with their guests and knowledgable about the Island. They also made me feel right at home. My room was very comfortable and very clean. The breakfast each morning was delicious. I really enjoyed the complimentary Murdick's Fudge, carmel corn, and salt water taffy that was in my room. (I must confess that I did take some home to share with my family.) I will definitely stay at the Cottage Inn when I return to the Island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Cottage Inn is an excellent choice for lodging on the island. "Coming Home" there every day after a full day of exploring was the Picaso of Paintings, the Platinum of Metals, or...simply, PERFECTION!

Booking & check-in/check out were a breeze.

Northern hospitality was at its' best here! Rich and Marge are knowledgeable of the island, professional, efficient, and fully equipped and willing to fullfill the needs of their guests.

The Inn is very well kept and maintained. It's around 11 years old but it could pass as brand new. It has a very solid feel to it. This may be a strange comment to read; but it was extremely WINDY while we were there; and we barely heard anything inside our room!

Housekeeping works every day to refresh the room. It's like being on a cruise ship where you go out for breakfast and come back and it's like new. The Inn, overall, has a very clean feel to it. It feels like the managers really take ownership in their position and treat the Inn as if it is their own.

There are treats each afternoon. Always fudge and caramel corn. Sometimes peanut brittle and cake. Coffee is always full, as is decaf, hot water (tea back on the shelf above), and ice water. They're all on pumps right at the bottom of the stairs. The ceramic cups are always plentiful.

There are over 100 (I didn't count, just by looking) movies that they offer to guests to watch, and popcorn is in a drawer right below the microwave in the common area. A real treat.

Breakfast is always good, varied, and plentiful. A blend of diced watermelon, cantelope, and honeydew melon are there every morning, along with a big dish of strawberry yogurt to go with it. There is also a wide assortment of bread, with peanut butter & jelly, butter, and jam to go with it. The biggest portion of breakfast is a hot egg casserole. Each morning it's different, and always quite tastey and filling. Also, all sorts of juice & banannas.

We stayed in the Mackinac Suite, which is the front two rooms on the top floor, together as one room. It's very spacious and nice for two couples. There is a shared bathroom with shared lavatory in the master bedroom, which has a door. The shared lavatory is actually in the master bedroom. There is a full dresser there. The second sleeping area is right as you walk in the door. There is a closet and a microfridge there as well. If you find you don't have enough hangers, you can get more by asking. The turret serves as a gathering place with three overstuffed chairs (quite comfy), a coffee table, and a new TV with DVD player. Really nice. I noticed when we were there that a fourth chair had been added. Not sure if that was because there were four of us or not. I had not noticed it in any other pictures. I thought it was added in and was a nice thought.

The beds were incredibly comfortable with exquisite bedding. Plenty of pillows! Extra blankets in the closet.

The temperature control in the room was the most impressive setup I've seen in a shared space. There are three spaces (turret, main sleeping area, & master bedroom). EACH SPACE had it's own simply operated controls for heat and A/C! This makes it very nice when travelling with others. There are also screens on all windows if you want fresh aire.

We loved the rainfall shower head. This room has no bathtub. Water temperature and pressure were great, even with four people in our room and the Inn being full!!!

We didn't stay in the Turret Room this time; but my dad and husband did three years ago. It has lots of room as well. One bed plus a pull out couch, and the nice front view turret like the Mackinac Suite. This size of this room would be about like the Mackinac Suite without the master bedroom.

Wi-Fi is good throughout the hotel. In the evening a couple of times we had four different devices going without event.

Some things to keep in mind at this Inn:
-As with all B&B's, access to upper floors is by stairs.
-There is no public bathroom in the common area.
-If you need a taxi, just ask Rich or Marge. They'll call them for you!
-If you want to see a menu from a particular restaurant, they probably have a full size one behind the desk! They'll make recommendations & give you discount cards for many, too!

I didn't have many pictures to post because the innkeepers and other guests have already done a great job! I posted a couple to give a feel of the size of the Inn and also the set-up of the Mackinac Suite and the Turret Room from the outside perspective.

Room Tip: The Mackinac Suite is the largest room in the house, top floor, great view of Market Street. The Tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soundsgood2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island

Property: Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Address: 7267 Market St, P.O. Box 458, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5171
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island is a beautiful inn built with Victorian style and charm. The Cottage Inn was built in 2001 and we are proud to be the most modern B&B on Mackinac Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn Of Mackinac Island Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing