We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful Time On Mackinac Island”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful Time On Mackinac Island”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I just spent two nights at the Cottage Inn on Mackinac Island. This B&B is a first class operation. Rich and Marge were gracious host and were prepared to give the first time visitor to the island all of the information needed to enjoy our stay. We followed their suggestions and had a great time.

We stayed in two different rooms on our visit (the largest and the smallest) both were absolutely clean and well appointed. Breakfast was good, but not exactly what we had expected. They do lay out island treats in the afternoon for a snack - very yummy!

On the day we departed my wife indavertanly left her medication in the refrigerator at the house, but not to worry - Rich ran it down to us at the ferry to make sure that we had it before we departed - you just can't beat that.

We would highly recommend this B&B on your visit to Mackinac.

Respectfully,
Gene and Terry
Indianapolis, Indiana

Room Tip: The Turret Room would be my recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    40
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
120
430
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed for a one night in one of the larger rooms. It was four adults (which made the cost very reasonable) and we still felt we had plenty of space.

The room was lovely and thoroughly clean. The breakfast was delicious. They had coffee and water available throughout the day; they set fudge treats out in the afternoon; and they also had wine coolers with ice in the late afternoon if you wanted to sit at the terrace sipping wine and chatting or reading a book. This really was a small piece of heaven.

The staff ranged from friendly to extremely friendly and there was always someone at hand (at night time there is an emergery number with a staff on premises too).

If we had been staying on Mackinac for longer I would have definitely wanted to stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were on Mackinac Island this summer from Aug. 12-16. It was our 5th time to Mackinac. We went 34 years ago for our honeymoon and stayed at the Hotel Iroquois. We went 4 years after that with friends, but were so unimpressed by the room we forget where we stayed! After being away for 28 years, I finally convinced my husband to go back 2 years ago. We stayed at the Main Street Inn & Suites. We enjoyed it there in 2010 and 2011, but we weren't sure when we would be able to go this summer until last month. By then, there were no vacancies at Main St. Inn for the days we needed to go. There were great reviews on here for the Cottage Inn B & B, so we thought we'd try it. They won us over when we walked through the door!
We stayed in the Somewhere in Time room the 1st night. The room was immaculately clean. The bed was very comfortable, and the standup shower was also clean & very roomy for 1. The Mackinac Suite was the only larger room still available for the remainder of our stay, so we decided to splurge. We didn't regret it for a moment. The view from the big bay window there is wonderful to watch the horse & buggy tours. We even got to see 2 horse trainers teaching a team of 2 horses to work together, which they wouldn't have wanted to do on busier, more noisy Main Street. It is wonderful hearing Reveille being played in the am and Taps in the pm from the closeby fort. My husband especially loves hearing the cannons, from up at the fort, during the demonstrations. Evenings after the last ferry departs for the mainland are always like taking a wonderful step back in time, and they are made even more romantic walking down Market St., away from the noise of Main St., after dinner.
An earlier review was correct in saying that, since accommodations can be pricy on the Island, it's great to get a hot breakfast and air conditioning included (A/C is rare in older accommodations than the Cottage Inn yet the Cottage Inn has the same Victorian charm). I drink decaf coffee; my husband drinks regular. We love the convenience of having good, hot coffee ready downstairs 24/7! Every morning there is a delicious hot egg dish that I tried; I'm watching my weight, so the convenience of the availability of hard boiled eggs also is great before our daily bike ride around the beautiful island. We've been to other B & B's that have a sit down breakfast. We prefer the convenience of the buffet each day from 8-10 am, so we can get out & enjoy the island.
Another review mentioned the Murdick's snacks at 3 pm each day...a wonderful treat to look forward to if we happened to be in the room.
There are full ice buckets, corkscrews & wine glasses available in the afternoons and evenings. It is so convenient & much less expensive to just walk around the corner to Doud's Market to get a bottle of Michigan wine & some cheese & crackers to share than to go to a restaurant (We are partial to the Chateau Grand Traverse Riesling.)
The weather was nice during our stay, so we didn't get to watch all of the "Somewhere in Time" DVD...the Island is so beautiful it was even a movie set for the film starring Christopher Reeve (Superman) & Jane Seymour (Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman). We also only watched part of the "Ice Bridge" DVD this time. That will give us something to look forward to next time! We watched "Building the Mighty Mac", my husband's request; I actually enjoyed that DVD ;) .
As you can tell, my husband and I LOVED the Cottage Inn, but what made our stay even more memorable was the hospitality of the innkeepers, Marge & Rich. They are so welcoming & helpful; they really did make us feel like we were visiting longtime friends. Rich has even written a brochure of free activities to do on the Island. (Even though this was our 5th time visiting Mackinac, we still have a Bucket List from his brochure of things to do next time.) And my husband noticed how even their maid was always dressed so nicely and had a big smile when she came to work and as she left.
We are planning on returning with friends next summer. We plan to make it a fun habit! You can't go wrong by choosing this B & B and its wonderful staff!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wautoma, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I, along with a couple of friends, stayed at the cottatge Inn the first week in August 2012. We found the building to be clean, quiet and comfortable. Rich and Marge are perfect host's. They helped us decide what to do on the island and where to go for dinner and we found there recommendations were right on. The breakfast was excellent and they have a great porch to sit on to take in the atmosphere of the island. Each room has it's own A/C and heat controls which is very nice. We will stay at the Cottage Inn next year on our trip to Mackinac.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Picked this inn based on location, value and Trip Advisor awards -- and was not disappointed. If you want good location in town, good value in an expensive market, and great, friendly service, this is the place to stay on Mackinac Island.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are the smallest but most convenient (no stairs) to breakfast, mid-afternoon hospi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Inn during the month of August 2012 and had a great first experience. This was our third year in a row on the Island for vacation but our first year at Cottage Inn. Rich and Marge do an excellent job from the welcoming to the room to breakfast to conversation. We traveled with another couple and this was their first visit to Mackinac. I'm glad our reservations were at the Cottage Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Having visited last Dec., we decided to return again for our 10th Anniversary! We love the island and our stay at The Cottage Inn simply enhanced the entire experience. Rich and Marge are the perfect host and hostess, attentive to every need and helpful to everyone at all times. They are a lovely couple. The breakfast was fantastic and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. We cannot wait to return! Thank you Rich and Marge for making our anniversary celebration so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puremichigan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
954 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island

Property: Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Address: 7267 Market St, P.O. Box 458, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5171
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island is a beautiful inn built with Victorian style and charm. The Cottage Inn was built in 2001 and we are proud to be the most modern B&B on Mackinac Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn Of Mackinac Island Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing