We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top hotel with a personal touch”
Review of Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
1 review
“A top hotel with a personal touch”
Reviewed August 15, 2009

For the past five years, I have chosen to stay at The Island House hotel in Mackinaw. While there are many great hotels on the island, only the Island House seems to capture all the amenities of a large hotel while still providing a quiet, personal atmosphere. The location is perfect: close enough for a quick walk to town while still away from all the hustle and bustle. The rooms are outstanding and the staff is very helpful. The indoor pool and suana is a nice way to relax at the end of the day. There is cable in the rooms for those days when the weather isn't cooperating. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikafisnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    238
    84
    47
    33
See reviews for
255
349
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Island House met our expectations as they always do. Their manager, Alana, took very good care of our group family reservation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This was our first trip to Mackinac Island. My wife had always wanted to visit, since she attended the University of Michigan. The hotel is interesting, given it's 150-year heritage. It has clearly been added on to as your are constantly walking up and down stairs even on one floor. The rocking chairs on the porch and on the front lawn are really nice, you can sit there for hours reading or just watching the people, horses, bikers and boats go by. The location is ideal, an easy walk to town but away from the noise. The rooms are old and fairly small but clean and comfortable. Maid service was fine. The included breakfast buffet was fine, not lavish but more than enough food and variety (though the same choices each morning). Service in the dining room was attentive and the front desk staff was helpful if not particularly warm. One note: I learned after making the reservation that the "lowest rate" I was quoted was not in fact the lowest rate, and when I called to inquire the hotel agreed to refund the difference upon checkout, which they did without a problem. But it's worth doublechecking because the rates are not cheap.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARKHROTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. Louis MO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Thought we were staying at vintage inn on Mackinac Island-Room was cramped and in need of updating with style. Plastic trash cans, very plain bathrooms, couch faded. Shades in room were PLASTIC and did not fit the window. Pool area dirty and unsupervised- appeared local teenagers were using at whim. Had to ask for towels. Never saw staff except at front desk. Island House has great view of harbor and quieter area. Provides smores in evening that you have to pay $3 for on top of a $300+ room. The breakfast was nothing fancy either . Over priced and overrated. Take the ferry over for a day and eat before you go!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teenfamilystl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

For $260 a night, what we got was a comfortable but squeaky bed in a tiny albeit well-appointed room with a cramped bathroom and with the only sink and mirror out in the main room next to the bed. No water view for this price; we got a view of trees in the back of the hotel. Smallest TV I've seen in years -- I think it was a 12" or 14" -- and no coffee pot; there was a hair dryer and a clock radio, and the toiletries were upscale. No closet and no bureau for clothes: next to the sink there was a pole with some hangars and a shelf above it, and a small amount of space under the TV. While we didn't hear noise from the other rooms, what we did hear, going until late at night and starting again early in the morning, was noise from the pipes; every toilet flush and refill of the bowl, every shower sounded like it was right in our ears. The front desk is not especially friendly or helpful. There is a very nice front porch with rocking chairs overlooking the water and there are braziers on the front lawn if you want to sit there during cold nights. The hotel mercifully is a couple of blocks down from the touristy part of the main street and so you are not immediately in danger of being run over by a horse and cart every time you step foot on the street in front of the hotel. The room did come with breakfast but it was nothing to write home about: fruit loops or raisin bran, white toast or english muffin, eggs tasting like they're from a box, greasy french toast and what looked like frozen mini waffles, apples, oranges, and dannon yogurt were the only choices for vegetarians. We had a pleasant enough time here but probably would not return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed two nights June 11 and 12th 2009 at Island House Hotel. We were not sure what to expect for this was our first trip to Mackinac Island so our expectations were not real high. What we found was a great hotel (small rooms but expected when built in early 1900) The service was great, restaurant was the best on the island. Make sure that you have dinner at the hotel. Would recomend this hotel for anyone. This is a hotel that compares to any B&B that we have stayed at. That should tell you how we feel about the place.

The Smiths
Michigan

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailingislife7
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2009

After a great time last June we decided to take advantage of a special rate we saw on the Island House’s Twitter page. It was a spur of the moment decision and we are so glad we decided to make the trip. The veranda is still our favorite place to sit and catch up on some reading and the breakfast buffet was as good as we remembered. It was a little chilly during our stay but relaxing in front of the fireplace at night has become a new favorite of ours. We received such a great rate on this trip we are planning a return trip in August and can’t wait.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailingislife7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Property: Island House Hotel
Address: 6966 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1852, guests at the historic Island House Hotel on Mackinac Island, Michigan have enjoyed the escape to a simpler time. Disembarking on the island is truly like stepping back in time. Motor traffic is prohibited on the island, making walking, biking, and horse-drawn carriages the preferred modes of transportation. This family owned historic landmark offers modern conveniences within a historic setting. Open from May through October, there are several packages available to help you plan your perfect island getaway. Mackinac Island has a long and storied history, beginning with the Native Americans who populated the Straits region, followed by French fur trading. Abundant natural resources made Mackinac Island an important post in the lucrative fur trade and a hub of fishing activity. In the 19th century, tourism became the island’s main industry and today, new generations discover the charms of this quaint resort community. The Island House Hotel has the distinction of being the only hotel located within the boundaries of the pristine Mackinac Island State Park. We look forward to welcoming you to the breathtaking beauty of Mackinac Island, one of Michigan's most photographed and talked about travel destinations. Located between Michigan's upper and lower peninsulas, the Island offers you unforgettable natural and historical treasures surrounded by the sparkling blue waters of the Great Lakes. With an eight-mile circumference, Mackinac Island offers an abundance of attractions for adventurers of all ages. Parasailing, historic tours, hiking trails, narrated carriage tours, horseback riding, drive yourself horse & buggies, shopping, dining and watching world famous Mackinac Island fudge being made. Hotel amenities include: indoor heated swimming pool, air conditioning, evening bonfire for roasting smores, concierge service, onsite bike rentals, as well as excellent in-house fine & family dining at 1852 Grill Room or Ice House BBQ. Today, with our beautifully renovated guest rooms and breathtaking views of the marina and Mackinac harbor, the Island House offers you a timeless escape from everything that's ordinary. From our veranda, discover for yourself why this extraordinary island has beckoned visitors world-wide for over three centuries. In addition to stunning waterfront views, guests choose the Island House Hotel for its convenient location. Far enough from the downtown hustle to enjoy the sounds of horseshoes on the pavement and gentle breezes off the water yet just a short walk to the Mackinac Island’s most popular attractions and shopping. Whether relaxing on the porch or enjoying drinks with friends in the garden, the Island House Hotel delivers the complete Island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing