We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best front porch on the island!”
Review of Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and i are on a quest to stay at every hotel on the island, so this was our first visit to the Island House. Overlooking the Marina, the Island House has a lovely vantage for people watching! We spent most of our time sitting on that porch, wine glass in hand, watching the people go by. It's a short walk to town and close to everything you could want or need. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, breakfast was wonderful and both on site restaurants offered excellent food! We celebrated our 25th Anniversary while we were there and they even had our name with their congratulations on the welcome sign. All in all, one of the best stays we have had on the island!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with a water view! Oh, and be sure to listen for the playing of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sommerfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013. The hotel is in a good location, near downtown but aware from the hustle and bustle. The hotel is an historical hotel. The room we had was quaint, with pipes visible above our heads, old fashioned wall paper on the walls. The bed was very comfortable and piled high with blankets. We did use the dining room on both days that we stayed there, the package we bought had a free breakfast buffet included. Most of the items on the buffet were good and to our liking. We were always able to find help and assistance when we needed it. The walls are thin and you can hear people all night long walking down the hall outside your room. If you like historical hotels, this is probably worth staying at. If you don't like historical hotels then choose something a bit more updated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirsttimertoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Part of the Island House is the oldest hostelry on Mackinac Island, dating back to the 1850s. The present building combines two once-independent hotels. For many years, this was the bargain place to stay on the island, but in recent years it's been extensively renovated and prices have risen. The room was on the small side, inevitable given that the bones of old buildings will only stretch so far, but the bed was comfortable and the service fine. Dinner in the main dining room was very enjoyable. The Island House is still reasonable in the context of Mackinac Island prices, and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We got in on a travelzoo deal and stayed here for 2 nights. Great room , great restaurants and beautiful view. But some rooms do not have air so could be hot . With that if u need air ask for a room with air. right on the outskirts of all the action. view of the water out your window. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHHotel, Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time at the Island House, tmt87! Indeed, the views, restaurants, and location here at the Island House are extraordinary - and we're glad you chose to spend your trip to Mackinac Island with us.
However, every one of our guestrooms does have air conditioning - as we know that during certain parts of the year, this may be important for some guests. There's no need to put in a special request for this.
Again, we're delighted that you chose to visit us at the Island House Hotel, and very much hope to see you again soon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Island House Hotel is centrally located in the downtown area and is an easy walk from all of the shopping, the ferry, and the attractions. It is roughly located between the Fort and St. Ann's. The rooms were spotless, and the decor attractive. It is an older hotel, the oldest established hotel on the Island, which adds to its charm. The breakfast buffet was delicious and bountiful, with a wonderful view of the harbor. I did also have dinner at one of the restaurants in the hotel, the 1852 Grill Room, and found the food delicious. I can't say too much about the view, as my room overlooked the trash, but I found it interesting to watch the draft horses make deliveries to the hotel so I found the view amusing rather than annoying. Given the view from the Grill Room, however, I know that some of the views from the hotel are spectacular!

Room Tip: You might want to request a better view than the trash, but my room was very quiet and the A/C was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thought that four of us would go for a meal at the dining room. Worst mistake ever. Even knowing that we were from island, they gave us bad seating when there was only five tables taken. Ordered a bottle of wine, waitress just poured the wine full, no chance to taste it. One salmon came out perfect, the other one smelled really bad and was mushy. It was just frozen slabs of salmon. To bad restaurants don't serve fresh fish. The other two meals were not the best either, with the pork so tough, you chewed on it for a long time. Well you would think if they knew that they are from the area they will talk about it. The girls that were handling the dinning room were like kids instead of a manger. They did not even know what to say about it. Be very aware of what you eat there. Ask if its fresh or frozen. Good luck eating their.

Room Tip: Rooms are okay mostly tours, food bad and over priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is an okay hotel with a great location and good food. It is not particularly fancy but it is located near the Fort and downtown which adds to its appeal. The food was good though I am not a fan of buffets. A mennu for breakfast would have been my preference.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeMead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Address: 6966 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $260 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island House Hotels offers modern conveniences within a historic setting. This family owned property is Mackinac Island’s oldest hotel, a registered Historic Hotel of America and an official State of Michigan landmark. Guests return time & again for our stunning waterfront views, historic charm & the ideal location. Whether relaxing on the porch or enjoying drinks with friends in the garden, Island House Hotel delivers the complete Island experience. All guestrooms have air-conditioning, private bathrooms & cable television. Hotel amenities include: indoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool, dry sauna, evening bonfire, gift shop, concierge service, onsite bike rentals, as well as two restaurants, 1852 Grill Room & Ice House BBQ. Discover the charm of a Mackinac Island stay at the Island House Hotel - where fine service, warm hospitality and memorable vacations have been a Mackinac Island tradition...since 1852. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing