We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mackinac Island Fourth of July” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Island House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mackinac Island Fourth of July”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Charming old hotel with large porch to sit outside on rocking chairs or large grassy area with fire chi mayo to warm you or roast marshmallows or just sit and have a cocktail, Beautiful view of the water and harbor boats. Rooms smaller because of age of hotel, clean. Breakfast buffet was included in their restaurant til 10 am (sharp!) nice view of the harbor. Bike rentals on site reasonably priced. Luggage brought from Ferry to our rooms. Romantic for us, but also enjoyed seeing lots of families having fun

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSN827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    210
    76
    41
    33
See reviews for
216
291
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The place is old but that's fine, we thought because of the price we would share a room with our long time friends but the beds were double beds and the rooms were tiny. The island kept us busy so we spent little time in the room, they do have fire pits out front on the lawn overlooking the bay and offer a smores package which our wives thought was romantic.

Room Tip: Ask the location and size of room our getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mansfield61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, IL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you're the kind of person that must stay at a 'grand' hotel, then please do so and leave the Island House Hotel for the rest of us. This historic hotel fits perfectly into the Mackinac Island spirit, taking you back in time but keeping up to date with conveniences and service.

Yes, the hotel is old and has a squeaky or uneven floor board here and there but that adds to the charm. The old gal is kept in wonderful shape. Even on the week-end we saw people painting and repairing. Nothing seemed old or worn, just old-fashioned.

Our room (405) was in the attic area and had sloped ceilings and a dormer window. T'was no big deal; we didn't travel to the island to sit in a hotel room. What we did get was to open the windows and both fall asleep and wake up to the gentle clip-clop of the buggies going by. Ahhh.

The Island House is perfectly situated just a bit out of town but not too far. You are easy walking distance to all of downtown, the fort and other attractions but out of the hub-bub of the ferries and fudge shops. Sitting on the lawn at night by the chimenea, overlooking the harbor and watching the moon come up was so wonderfully relaxing.

Nor can I say enough about the staff. I called ahead and was advised to take the Arnold Ferry because it was the closest to the hotel and that saved us a lot of confusion when we first arrived. The entire staff was just as helpful for everything we needed. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was very nice to be recognized when we came down to eat.

Oh, I can't end without saying how absolutely clean the entire hotel was. The dining room, the public areas, and the guest rooms, all spotless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I couldn't find the 1852 Grill Room in the restaurant area so I am leaving this review on the hotel review area.
Awful is an accurate review of the >$100 anniversary meal we had at this restaurant this month. We were told by the Mackinaw Island concierge that we would have a wonderful meal and it had the best herbed chicken on the island. In reality the chicken tasted like a foil pack of tv dinner gravy was poured over it. I couldn't finish it. My husband's fish dinner was greasy. The bruschetta was so hard you could break a tooth and the topping consisted of a few halfed cherry tomatoes with olive oil and a few spices. The only positive part of the meal was the asparagus otherwise I would have rated the place a one only because they had a nice wine list and pleasant view. The help was just so so, not very attentive and didn't care a lick that the meal sucked. I should have asked for the manager but didn't want to be a complainer on my anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I agree with the two recent reviews of this rundown hotel. We were SO disappointed, after so much planning for a friend's wedding. The hotel needs some very serious TLC....we originally were put in a room with wallpaper that was bubbled and peeling, the sink was right near the bed and no decent lights above it for makeup, washing, etc....the grout in the bathroom was old and stained, and there was actually a rubber bath mat in the bathtub!....wondered how often THAT got cleaned. the room was so tiny we could hardly walk in it...and the one window we had overlooked a metal stairwell that was used continually by people walking by.....at eye level. and the blinds were bent and old. I could go on and on but we were just sad and devastated, knowing the price we were paying. They absolutely need to renovate. We asked to be moved and we were....to likewise older room, slightly better....but even the plug outlets were so old they wouldn't hold the plugs of the hairdryer!!! yikes.....does this place need help.

Room Tip: stay away, far away, from the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanrn4851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my first trip to Mackinac Island. The hotel is located near the end of the main street, so convenient to ferries, shops, restaurants and bars, but removed enough to feel like your getting away from the hustle and bustle. It has a beautiful view from its front lawn, with several comfortable chairs and couches (wicker with cushions). You can BYOB or roast smores over the two wood fires the staff lights in the evening when the air turns cool. Dinner was excellent, as was the service. Breakfast was fine, too, but the service was dreadful both mornings. The room was dated, but adequate, and priced reasonably for Mackinac Island, which is pricey. Don't let them give you a room on the fourth floor unless you don't mind walking up from the third ... and having dormer windows and attic walls (slanted like the roof). On the other hand, the fourth floor is quiet and the rooms are large. An indoor pool and hot tub can be accessed from the second floor. The staff is friendly and professional. I would stay there again but might explore the many B&Bs, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoff, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This w as my first trip to Mackinac. We stayed 3 nights at Island Hotel. Very friendly staff, enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning as well as a very special birthday dinner in the hotel dining room. Each night we sat outside close to the fire enjoying some dessert and hot coffee. The room was a little outdated, but clean. This hotel has the best view of the water at sunset and close to the town activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnnH1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Property: Island House Hotel
Address: 6966 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1852, guests at the historic Island House Hotel on Mackinac Island, Michigan have enjoyed the escape to a simpler time. Disembarking on the island is truly like stepping back in time. Motor traffic is prohibited on the island, making walking, biking, and horse-drawn carriages the preferred modes of transportation. This family owned National Historic Landmark offers modern conveniences within a historic setting. Open from May through October, there are several packages available to help you plan your perfect island getaway. The island has a long and storied history, beginning with the Native Americans who populated the Straits region, followed by French fur trading. Abundant natural resources made Mackinac Island an important post in the lucrative fur trade and a hub of fishing activity. In the 19th century, tourism became the island’s main industry and today, new generations discover the charms of this quaint resort community. The Island House Hotel has the distinction of being the only hotel located within the boundaries of the pristine Mackinac Island State Park. We look forward to welcoming you to the breathtaking beauty of Mackinac Island, one of Michigan's most photographed and talked about travel destinations. Located between Michigan's upper and lower peninsulas, the Island offers you unforgettable natural and historical treasures surrounded by the sparkling blue waters of the Great Lakes. With an eight-mile circumference, Mackinac Island offers an abundance of attractions for adventurers of all ages. Parasailing, historic tours, hiking trails, narrated carriage tours, horseback riding, drive yourself horse & buggies, shopping, dining and watching world famous Mackinac Island fudge being made. Hotel amenities include: indoor heated swimming pool, air conditioning, evening bonfire for roasting smores, concierge service, onsite bike rentals, as well as excellent in-house fine & family dining at 1852 Grill Room or Ice House Bar & Grill. Today, with our beautifully renovated guest rooms and breathtaking views of the marina and Mackinac harbor, the Island House offers you a timeless escape from everything that's ordinary. From our veranda, discover for yourself why this extraordinary island has beckoned visitors world-wide for over three centuries. In addition to stunning waterfront views, guests choose the Island House Hotel for its convenient location. Far enough from the downtown hustle to enjoy the sounds of horseshoes on the pavement and gentle breezes off the water yet just a short walk to the Mackinac Island’s most popular attractions and shopping. Whether relaxing on the porch or enjoying drinks with friends in the garden, the Island House Hotel delivers the complete Island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Groupon and Travelocity so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing