We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tragically historic”
Review of Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tragically historic”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

2013 New York City rates for 1852 comfort. We booked a so-called deluxe king room with a view. "Deluxe" is certainly an overstatement to say the least. While we got a king size bed, the room was so tiny that we could barely move in it. The room was clean but the furniture is really kitsch and I guess that the bed sheets are probably from 1852.They were completely threadbare. The view was really beautiful but partly covered by a fixed useless ugly flowery curtain and ridiculous Halloween decoration on the facade of the hotel that made it look more like a Disneyland horror house than a historic hotel. The lobby and common areas are ridiculously small, there are only two sitting areas for a hotel with dozens of rooms. This is probably due to the fact that the ground floor has also been stuffed with rooms. They seem to want to take advantage of every inch in this building. It is true that it has a beautiful veranda and outdoor areas where one could have a drink in front of the lake but there was no one in sight who could serve you that drink. The only thing you could get was a bag of marshmallows available at the reception for $ 3. Believe me, to get marshmallows, I would stay in NY and go to Coney Island. The staff of the hotel is invisible. When you happen to meet them by chance, they are really nice and try to be helpful but they are very young and inexperienced. For their sake and the sake of the service, I suggest that the hotel provide them with some training. After all, for the rate we paid, we are entitled to get normal hotel services and not the minimalistic hostel-like service.
The breakfast buffet was decent but only served between 7:30 and 9:30. The waiters were very nice and helpful but completely overwhelmed as they were very few and the restaurant was stuffed with people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneDijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    215
    76
    41
    33
See reviews for
217
295
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here using a Groupon. When she had booked - we had a king size room. When we arrived - we were told we had a queen, or two doubles. After some back and forth with the staff we decided on the double room. We got our key = went upstairs, and saw our view... of the dumpster! When I went down to ask about a possible different view - I was behind another couple - who were also checking in using the same Groupon. What I over heard astounded me. They were told that they had been upgraded to some super deluxe room with a harbor view. Why did they get this upgraded - because they know one of the managers. Per the attendant behind the counter = "well it pays to know someone!" They took their key and went off happily. When I inquired about possibly changing our room to a different vie w- I was told no. AND when I commented about the couple before us - I was told "well it is al about who you know". We will NEVER stay here again! Even though it has potential.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joexray78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

STAY AWAY! Anyone with perfume/scented allergies this is NOT THE HOTEL FOR YOU! The hotel is scented so strongly everywhere I had a migraine within minutes of being there! We had to find a different one! The hotel would not reimburse our money, the manager was unwilling to help or showed any concern. The rooms are very small and the hallways very winding and up/down stairs to get to your floor. We first had to take an elevator then figure out what stairs we were to take to get to the fourth floor rooms! We were so confused as to where we were by the time we found our strongly scented room! I'm not one to write a review usually, however I didn't want anyone else to end up in the same position we were, left to find a hotel to sleep in for our stay! Thankfully it was October and not summer and there were rooms available at other hotels! We have stayed at many hotels on the island, this was by far the worst one, sad to say but true! We were so excited to stay here too, but when you leave sick and in tears it's a pretty good indication of what kind of hotel it is!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FrequentFlier608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent 2 nights here using travelzoo. Cost was $299 but there was $53 in taxes added. The two nights included $50 at their dining room, free very good breakfast,some fudge and a 4 hour bike rental. The rooms are small as is the bathroom. The beds ( though small) were surprisingly comfortable and the room was clean. It is located about a 5-8 minute walk from the ferry docks and the walk was pleasant. I would recommend this hotel anytime. The food at the 1813 grill room was very good but also pricy. That $50 in dining credit went fast and I still paid $61 including tip. Wife had Salmon and I had NY Strip. Bourbon and soda was $8 a drink. Makes me think of Ruth Chris except the prices were for a complete meal not ala carte. Glad I had the promotional $50.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Booked through Travelocity for a one night late Fall stay. Room was very small but adequate, clean and conveniently located on main floor. Decided to eat diner in dining room as we arrived late afternoon. Excellent choice if a bit pricey. Opted for the $45 Prix Fixe three course dinner which included one of the best pieces of prime rib we've ever encountered. Service was very good and view of bay added to the ambiance. Would recommend this property for a first time visit due to location and price. Buffet breakfast was usual fare and unimpressive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel completely met my expectations. My husband was a little let down. It is a well-maintained historic building, and in being so, rooms are small - but I imagine all hotels on the island are! We stayed in room 400, which several hotel staff told us was "the best room in the hotel." It is the room at the top of the tower on the left, with the small portal windows. It was very charming, but you have to crawl through a three foot door space to get into the tower room - my 6'4" husband was not loving it...! I imagine it would be a child's paradise since it was like your own little doll house. It was a deluxe view room, and considering you have to crawl to this small room to see anything, my husband was disappointed in the view. All that aside though, breakfast was wonderful both mornings. French toast, chocolate chips and blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, many pastries...it was all you could need. Dinner in the restaurant was also good and comparable or better to other places on the island. The hotel porters promptly picked-up and delivered our luggage from the ferry both coming and going. My only complaint is they don't have free coffee available in the lobby all day long. Seems like for the price you are paying, they could easily have this available...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ead_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

its a historic hotel so don't expect a large fancy room. We chose this place for the atmosphere of a historic place. The service was great, food was great. Everyone working always said Hi and Welcome. They have coffee in the lobby from 6am to 10 am. We did the Getaway package which included our room, free 1/2 lb fudge and our ferry tickets. You can do smores at night in the front, the living room downstairs people gathered in the evening, they have games you can play. It was a great experience if you like Art Deco type places. If your looking for something fancy and updated, this is not for you.
If I were to go back again, I'd stay here again. The bell desk had our luggage when we got there and took our luggage to the ferry. I also liked how it was away from the main street so it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Property: Island House Hotel
Address: 6966 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1852, guests at the historic Island House Hotel on Mackinac Island, Michigan have enjoyed the escape to a simpler time. Disembarking on the island is truly like stepping back in time. Motor traffic is prohibited on the island, making walking, biking, and horse-drawn carriages the preferred modes of transportation. This family owned historic landmark offers modern conveniences within a historic setting. Open from May through October, there are several packages available to help you plan your perfect island getaway. Mackinac Island has a long and storied history, beginning with the Native Americans who populated the Straits region, followed by French fur trading. Abundant natural resources made Mackinac Island an important post in the lucrative fur trade and a hub of fishing activity. In the 19th century, tourism became the island’s main industry and today, new generations discover the charms of this quaint resort community. The Island House Hotel has the distinction of being the only hotel located within the boundaries of the pristine Mackinac Island State Park. We look forward to welcoming you to the breathtaking beauty of Mackinac Island, one of Michigan's most photographed and talked about travel destinations. Located between Michigan's upper and lower peninsulas, the Island offers you unforgettable natural and historical treasures surrounded by the sparkling blue waters of the Great Lakes. With an eight-mile circumference, Mackinac Island offers an abundance of attractions for adventurers of all ages. Parasailing, historic tours, hiking trails, narrated carriage tours, horseback riding, drive yourself horse & buggies, shopping, dining and watching world famous Mackinac Island fudge being made. Hotel amenities include: indoor heated swimming pool, air conditioning, evening bonfire for roasting smores, concierge service, onsite bike rentals, as well as excellent in-house fine & family dining at 1852 Grill Room or Ice House BBQ. Today, with our beautifully renovated guest rooms and breathtaking views of the marina and Mackinac harbor, the Island House offers you a timeless escape from everything that's ordinary. From our veranda, discover for yourself why this extraordinary island has beckoned visitors world-wide for over three centuries. In addition to stunning waterfront views, guests choose the Island House Hotel for its convenient location. Far enough from the downtown hustle to enjoy the sounds of horseshoes on the pavement and gentle breezes off the water yet just a short walk to the Mackinac Island’s most popular attractions and shopping. Whether relaxing on the porch or enjoying drinks with friends in the garden, the Island House Hotel delivers the complete Island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing