We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$394
$365
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront(Mackinac Island)(Great Value!)
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Iroquois(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,090)
Filter reviews
1,090 results
Traveler rating
574
318
107
50
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
574
318
107
50
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillfront lawnoldest hotelpool housedining roombreakfast buffetrocking chairshistorical hotelgreat view of the harborindoor poolclose to downtownprime ribthird floorbike rentalsold world charmrooms are smallthe wait staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
851 - 856 of 1,090 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was our second trip to Mackinac and our second time staying at Island House. The location is wonderful because it is close to town, but away from the noise when the town is crowded.

Initially, I was disappointed when we made our reservations to discover that the only rooms available were the suites located behind the main hotel. We stayed in Suite C and could not have been happier! The location was quiet; the rooms were clean, comfortable and beautiful. The wrap around deck gave us the perfect spot to relax with coffee in the morning or drinks before dinner.

The restaurant at the hotel was also outstanding. The breakfast buffet included in the room rate is expansive and very good. We dined at the hotel one evening and were not disappointed with the entrees or atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwammy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Island House and would recommend it to everyone that might be visiting the Island. The breakfast buffet that was included in our package was outstanding, the view from the veranda was breathtaking, and anything that we needed or asked for was taken care of with a smile. It was our first time staying on the Island (but not our first trip there) and even though it rained the first day and night, the sun came out the second day and we had a great time. Many thanks to the staff there!

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel facing the pool house and Ice House were small, but very adequate, since we weren't in the room much anyway. A tiny bit noisy with the guests coming and going during Ice House hours, but it never interfered with our visit. It's an older hotel, but very nice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Island House made our first visit to Mackinac Island perfect despite the rainy weather! The room was huge and overlooked the water and lovely landscaped front lawn. We enjoyed the s'mores the first night there. The restaurant (and staff!) is top-notch. The included- in- our- package breakfast buffet would have been worth paying for it was so good! We loved our dinner there at the Grill ...BEST one we had on the island. We would definitely make a return trip to island house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I were guests at the Island House August 25-29, 2012. We could not have planned a more pleasant experience. From the moment we checked in, we found the entire staff from the front desk to the servers in the restaurants and even the groundskeepers to be so pleasant and helpful. I had read reviews that were not very complimentary and was a little skeptical but we were treated very well and will definately return. There is not a better view of the lake than the one sitting on the porch or the lawn of the Island House. We highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmwilsonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews