We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was nice.”
Review of Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The hotel was nice.”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The room was a little small, including a very small bathroom. but it was very clean and air-conditioned. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was substantial, but not outstanding. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mack055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    215
    76
    41
    33
See reviews for
217
295
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
holland, Mi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at The Island House hotel on Mackinac Island. It is the oldest hotel on the island and it has such character and history it is a very interesting place to stay. The staff was pleasant and helpful - the room was beautiful and the food at the restaurant in the hotel was wonderful! The breakfast buffet was delicious! Would definately stay and eat there again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LARRYANDSALLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel 1 queen and one double queen. 2nd floor with a view of the harbour great!!!!! location was perfect. one in our group had trouble walking and we didnt want her to stay way out at the grand hotel or the other resort there. in fact we never walked out to the grand hotel just took the carriage. The Island hotel has lots of character and a very nice staff. Free breakfast too.. Our favorive part of our 3 day trip was fudge, peanut butter and ch. ice cream, the carriage ride and a walk in the woods by Arch Rock. Great place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
257 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Garret: the space just below the roof line, esp. a sloping roof; attic.
I do not believe there is a budget plan for Mackinac Island, but if you are willing to walk up one flight of stairs, can duck for a sloped roof now and then, well there is a reasonably priced deal to be had in a very nice hotel. Great location, fine restaurant, and almost secret bar in the back that is very quiet and a pleasant respite from the hustle of the street in front.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelloJoeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Buffalo, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We went the weekend of the Chicago to Mackinaw regatta. We had a great view of the harbor and were conviently close to town. The 1856 Bar had a several course dinner for $35, that was not listed on the on-line menu. The service was great and the free breakfast buffett was wonderful . The servers were great. There is a bike rental right on the grounds and a smores roast in the evening.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms, but the amenities were the same. We had a view of the back gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Wow, what a great location. One of the very best on the island overlooking the marina and lake. It was wonderful sitting on the porch in rocking chairs or on the lawn in the adirondack chairs. But, unfortunately the rooms really need updating. Also, the bed and pillows were not comfortable at all. I would stay again, if I could get the same great deal that I got on Travelzoo that included a lot of great extras, including a great dinner at the restaurant at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keyscondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
308 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The deal:

We got the $399 package for a 2 night stay, dinner for 2, breakfast for 2, round trip ferry for 2 and 1/2 pound Ryba's fudge and transfer of baggage. We paid extra $50 per kid. It didn't include tax/tips. It was totally worth it.

The island house was beautiful and looking at some past reviews, we were even thinking of canceling our reservation. We're so glad we didn't. This is one of the best places on the island we've stayed (haven't stayed at the Grand yet)

The PROS:

* Great package price to pay to stay in a classy historic hotel. One of the 4 in Michigan. Other mediocre hotels on the island charged $200/night during this timeframe(you get a better price here if you do the math). The $400 package comes with almost $200 in perks which makes the room only around $100 per night.
* Location, location, location. This is probably the second best on the island (after the Grand). I would stay here for the lovely porch and the views. Lovely Victorian decor and the island theme was so romantic. We stayed in #327 with a partial view of the straits and a nice backyard. Don't know what the other folks are talking about methane gas? Yes, the room was small with a Kmart hair dryer. But it was as clean as it gets...
* The buffet b'fast food selection was great. What else do you need? The service was awesome for the buffet as well. Most waiters were Jamaican (even in other places on the island). They were a little too friendly. The coffee was gourmet - Seattle's best. Like the previous review, the package included only 1 breakfast. We didn't complain coz the food was too much the previous night at the Grill and these buffets kill you. There was another buffet place in town for $6 b'fast buffet and a $8 pizza lunch/dinner buffet
* Great restaurants - we had dinner at the Grill Room instead of Mary's Bistro. Mary's Bistro was kinda dingy and noisy by the docks. The Grill Room was one of the most romantic dinners we had in a long time. The chef was great. Being vegetarians, the chef offered to make items outside the menu as well like a Thai stir fry etc. We stuck to the menu item - the Mediterranean pasta was awesome with artichokes etc. The butternut squash ravioli wasn't bad either. The dinner and dessert for the kids were included too. Even though a $10 tip was included in our package, we felt like tipping the waiter more just for his amazing service. He learnt our kids names and we even met him on his bicycle later that evening near the Grand hotel going home where he said Hi to the kids.
* The Bell hops did an awesome job to pick your bags to and from your room to the docks. Worth tipping.

The CONS:

* The lady 'manager' wearing the short skirt at the front desk seemed rude. We didn't have to deal with her, but we saw her bickering to a few folks about rates. That will leave a bad taste and some bad reviews. The non English speaking lady who checked us in seemed OK, but didn't do a good job in welcoming us etc. We dealt with a soft spoken guy with glasses who was really nice during check out.
* Our room was small, but clean. You have to cut some slack since the hotel is historic & over 150yrs old and other hotel rooms on the island are much smaller.
* The pool area was small and crowded, but at least this place has a pool which is open till 11pm.
* The chairs for the 'smores' seemed to be pretty much occupied all the time - not a biggie since there were other fun things to do on the island.
* Looks like most of the disgruntled reviews are because of bad views or on the 4th floor. Rooms are hard to get back and forth with going up stairs & down stairs.

<b>We will definitely go back to the Island House for it's old world charm, ambience and hospitality.</b>

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jokerji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Property: Island House Hotel
Address: 6966 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1852, guests at the historic Island House Hotel on Mackinac Island, Michigan have enjoyed the escape to a simpler time. Disembarking on the island is truly like stepping back in time. Motor traffic is prohibited on the island, making walking, biking, and horse-drawn carriages the preferred modes of transportation. This family owned historic landmark offers modern conveniences within a historic setting. Open from May through October, there are several packages available to help you plan your perfect island getaway. Mackinac Island has a long and storied history, beginning with the Native Americans who populated the Straits region, followed by French fur trading. Abundant natural resources made Mackinac Island an important post in the lucrative fur trade and a hub of fishing activity. In the 19th century, tourism became the island’s main industry and today, new generations discover the charms of this quaint resort community. The Island House Hotel has the distinction of being the only hotel located within the boundaries of the pristine Mackinac Island State Park. We look forward to welcoming you to the breathtaking beauty of Mackinac Island, one of Michigan's most photographed and talked about travel destinations. Located between Michigan's upper and lower peninsulas, the Island offers you unforgettable natural and historical treasures surrounded by the sparkling blue waters of the Great Lakes. With an eight-mile circumference, Mackinac Island offers an abundance of attractions for adventurers of all ages. Parasailing, historic tours, hiking trails, narrated carriage tours, horseback riding, drive yourself horse & buggies, shopping, dining and watching world famous Mackinac Island fudge being made. Hotel amenities include: indoor heated swimming pool, air conditioning, evening bonfire for roasting smores, concierge service, onsite bike rentals, as well as excellent in-house fine & family dining at 1852 Grill Room or Ice House BBQ. Today, with our beautifully renovated guest rooms and breathtaking views of the marina and Mackinac harbor, the Island House offers you a timeless escape from everything that's ordinary. From our veranda, discover for yourself why this extraordinary island has beckoned visitors world-wide for over three centuries. In addition to stunning waterfront views, guests choose the Island House Hotel for its convenient location. Far enough from the downtown hustle to enjoy the sounds of horseshoes on the pavement and gentle breezes off the water yet just a short walk to the Mackinac Island’s most popular attractions and shopping. Whether relaxing on the porch or enjoying drinks with friends in the garden, the Island House Hotel delivers the complete Island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing