We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay again”
Review of Harbour View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Will not stay again”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I have travelled to Mackinac Island the last 5 years for our anniversary. We have stayed at a new place almost every year because it's part of the fun. We stayed two nights at the carriage house B&B and were very unimpressed. The room was small and uninspired. We are used to small spaces on the island, but the rooms are usually charming. Our room was not air conditioned and we did not have an actual window except in the bathroom, just an "emergency exit" screen door. We typically stay at a place with breakfast because everything on the island is so expensive. The breakfast here was very minimal. They offered freezer bagels, some fruit, oatmeal in a small crock pot. The toaster barely worked. We stayed at the Inn at Mackinac last year and they had an amazing breakfast spread and was actually a less expensive and much better stay. This is not a Bed and Breakfast.. it's a small hotel with a small continental breakfast.
Further, we had difficulty coordinating our luggage down to the Arnold ferry line when leaving. We have always had the luggage sent over to the mainland midday and took a ferry spontaneously when we felt like leaving (the Arnold dock will keep it under a monitored tent until you get there). The front desk told us we must meet the porter at the dock in order to get our luggage sent over. So we called 45 min prior to the ferry we wanted to take and they said they would meet us 10-15 min prior to the ferry leaving. The porter did not arrive until the ferry was loading and it turns out did not even expect to meet us there. We were afraid to leave the island without our luggage. It was an unnecessary stressful end to our stay.
Overall, we love Mackinac Island and have found most places to stay offer little personal and quirky touches that make our stay special. The Harbour View was lacking in this aspect and we would not stay here again. I recommend Mainstreet or the Inn on Mackinac, which are (so far) our favorite places that go the extra mile to make your stay special and easy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redwinetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    241
    53
    24
    10
See reviews for
191
371
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from Mackinac Island. We chose this place based on the Trip Advisor reviews. The staff was friendly and attentive. Our room was cleaned by mid morning. The inn had a lot of guests but was quiet. The inn is set back from the main street and we loved sitting on the front porch. The inn is also about a 5 minute walk to town .The breakfast was more than adequate- eggs, raisin toast, english muffins, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, granola, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea and juices. There was a small TV in the room which we rarely turned on. There is too much to do and watching TV was not on our list!! The porter service was great with delivering our bags to the inn and the dock. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EOPGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnerville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in August in a garden suite with 4 adults and 1 child. The room was clean,large, air-conditioned. There was no view of the lake on the shared balcony but was a nice extension to have and we did use it. Complimentary breakfast was excellent with many choices and lovely patio. The staff was helpful and the porters who drove our luggage back and forth to the boat dock were awesome and right on time. Rented bikes from the hotel. They were less expensive than other renters and the bikes were in good condition. Wish they had a swimming pool and a fitness center. Hope we have the opportunity to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We usually stay at the Iroquois, so, yes we are spoiled...but we had a meeting on the Island and couldn't see spending a ton of money when we were only there for a short stay. The Harbor View Inn is convenient to the town center, quiet (as it is not right in the center of town) and has a lovely porch on the first and second levels which are very peaceful and spacious.

The room (garden room) is slightly frou-frou (lots of floral wallpaper and faux Victorian furniture), but overall comfortable and clean. Old style tv in the armoire with inoperable remote and the battery needed to be changed in the smoke detector (beeped annoyingly every few minutes all night long). Towels are fluffy and water is hot with good water pressure.

The staff are very friendly and our bag was delivered promptly from the ferry and returned the next morning. As we brought our own bikes, we appreciated the fine bike rack. USA Today every morning and a nice cold breakfast buffet.

We dined at the Iroquois and biked back to the Harbour View Inn.

We have also stayed at the Lake View and wouldn't go back there, but would recommend the Harbour View Inn. Good value! Nice staff. Good location.

Bear in mind, no bar, no restaurant. But, short walk or bike to the town and everything you need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private balcony or porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario. Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The location is perfect, overlooking the harbour on gorgeous Mackinac Island. We were in the "bed & breakfast" building beside the main hotel (and there were 2 other buildings around the back), and we felt a little isolated. There is no elevator and we were on the 4th floor - you don't want to be climbing those stairs more than necessary; however, your bags are handled between the ferry and your room. Top floor rooms are the only ones with A/C, although we didn't need it. The room was roomier than some other hotels on the island and had an honest view of the harbour. The veranda was most pleasant to sit on, watch the world go by, and read. You can rent excellent bikes just across the road. The town centre is a 5-minute walk. There was a basic continental breakfast supplied. The front desk staff were rather cool and lacked enthusiasm. However, we had a nice room in a gorgeous location at a pretty reasonable price for August, at $170/night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisOntario.Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

When we planned our trip we read all the reviews on this inn. We made our reservations through Expedia in advance. My brother & his wife decided to join us and made reservations direct with the Inn, 3 days before arrival. I went to Kyak and Expedia was best price for the room.
The room we reserved was a garden view room, what we didn't know was that a garden view room ment one in which you had to climb over a chair to get to a doormer window, 2 drawer night stand with a small old tv, a blanket with holes in it and no closet in a third floor walk up attic room. My brother paid $29.00 less for a large second floor room with large windows and a large flat panel tv, a closet and nicely furnished.
What a disappointment, not only with the Inn but with Expedia as well.
Julie & Dave from Michigan

Room Tip: Book direct, ask for specifics about the room you are reserving. IE: what floor, what view, large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euharlee, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very quiet, clean, great location and probably the best price on the island. I was worried about how we would get our bags from the ferry to the hotel, but they have someone meet you at the dock and bring them over there for you. Thank you for a wonderful weekend! We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Inn

Property: Harbour View Inn
Address: 6860 Main Street, PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk from the best attractions on Mackinac Island, yet away from the bustling traffic of downtown. Our relaxing hotel complex offers a variety of rooms in four different buildings and complimentary breakfast. All rooms are non-smoking. Out of respect for all our guests, we ask that you leave your pets at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Mackinac Island
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing