We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't believe it”
Review of Harbour View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour View Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

When we planned our trip we read all the reviews on this inn. We made our reservations through Expedia in advance. My brother & his wife decided to join us and made reservations direct with the Inn, 3 days before arrival. I went to Kyak and Expedia was best price for the room.
The room we reserved was a garden view room, what we didn't know was that a garden view room ment one in which you had to climb over a chair to get to a doormer window, 2 drawer night stand with a small old tv, a blanket with holes in it and no closet in a third floor walk up attic room. My brother paid $29.00 less for a large second floor room with large windows and a large flat panel tv, a closet and nicely furnished.
What a disappointment, not only with the Inn but with Expedia as well.
Julie & Dave from Michigan

Room Tip: Book direct, ask for specifics about the room you are reserving. IE: what floor, what view, large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 738 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very quiet, clean, great location and probably the best price on the island. I was worried about how we would get our bags from the ferry to the hotel, but they have someone meet you at the dock and bring them over there for you. Thank you for a wonderful weekend! We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I and our two children had a wonderful one night stay at the Harbor View Inn. The staff were very accommodating (upgrading our room for free because the one we wanted disappeared during the reservation process) and the price was excellent in comparison to other lodging on the island. We took a carriage ride and rented bikes on the main strip which was a short walk from the inn. The grounds were lovely and the room was clean and very comfortable. We had a suite with a balcony and refrigerator, great for storing snacks and beverages we picked up at the market on our walk back to the inn. Although we would have liked a pool, there were plenty of wonderful activities to keep us busy. We would love to visit again!

Room Tip: It may be worth the extra cost to reserve a suite - it had a balcony, a separate living room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DetroitTravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Bed & Breakfast and were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in their least expensive room (a single queen) on the top floor and were treated like we were in a much more expensive room. They changed our (admittedly weekday) reservation the day we were supposed to arrive because we were traveling from some distance and were not going to make the last ferry to the island. No charge to change the reservation and the person on the phone was so very friendly and accommodating.

The room was scrupulously clean and serene - pretty periwinkle walls with white trim and a spotless white bedspread. Not at all like other inexpensive hotels on the island, which seem to be all Victorian chintz nightmares. Bathroom was very small (no tub, semi-open shower) with sink and mirror in the main room, but very clean. In-room a/c, flatscreen TV with an excellent movie channel (for relaxing on hot evenings after all that walking), and because it was on the top floor, very quiet. Stairs were a bit much after all the walking and biking - definitely not suitable for someone with mobility issues - but for us young people it was just fine. Only sour note was extremely unreliable wireless internet, which was free. Routers are in the hallway and after adjusting some antennae, the signal got a bit better, but was still intermittent.

We did get a bit lost, due to the rather rushed and not-too-specific directions from the hotel porter (who brought our luggage for free - we just tipped the person who brought it up to our room) at Shepler's ferry landing, but after some directions from a boutique clerk, we found the place - farther off the beaten path than we expected, but we came to love that is was away from the crowds on a more residential end of town.

Complimentary breakfast was simple but better than most and included lovely extras like yogurt, hard boiled eggs, hot oatmeal, and fresh fruit. Dining room was a bit small, but it was not crowded while we were there.

Front porch sitting chairs and tables were a popular hangout for visitors with a great view of the main street - perfect for people-watching. And the hotel offers bikes for rental at a reduced rate to guests, although some of the bikes could use a tune-up, so choice was sometimes a bit of a gamble.

Only warning is if you make reservations online (very easy), be aware that you will be charged an entire nights' stay as a deposit. That wasn't clear when we registered and I was very upset to begin with, but the service was so wonderful I didn't mind in the end.

Porters brought our luggage to and from the ferry. We checked out at 11 am on our last day and wanted to spend a bit more time on the island before we left. We were told to just let the desk staff know what ferry we were going to take (what time), left our tagged luggage in the lobby, and there it was when we were ready to leave. No charge.

This was our first real vacation as a couple (besides visiting relatives) and we ended up getting engaged on this very romantic island. If we make it back to the island, we will definitely stay at Harbor View B&B again - maybe for the honeymoon?

Room Tip: B&B is an old Victorian house, complete with creaky floors, so top floor rooms are quieter. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Excelent stay, very comfortable bed...wish they had a small refrigerator though....price was a little more than I expected..The wireless internet was a little weak..had to go on the outside deck to get reception

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huntwildturkey8254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After reviewing every possible option for staying the weekend on the Island I finally picked the Harbour View inn B&B - Although the bed and breakfast idea scared me a bit (don't like sharing bathrooms) the phone rep assured me all their b&b rooms had their own bathrooms! Upon check in everything was so beautiful. Room was immaculate and customer service was great all around. Considering other possible options in comparable prices the Harbour View Inn exceeded my expectations and I can't wait until my next trip to the island!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was a getaway for friends. Four of us ladies shared a room in the carriage house with a sitting area, and it was very roomy with a nice porch. Great location! Loved it! We enjoyed everything about Mackinac Island. Two days is just the perfect amount of time....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eventplanner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Inn

Address: 6860 Main Street, PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk from the best attractions on Mackinac Island, yet away from the bustling traffic of downtown. Our relaxing hotel complex offers a variety of rooms in four different buildings and complimentary breakfast. All rooms are non-smoking. Out of respect for all our guests, we ask that you leave your pets at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Mackinac Island
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing